We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice as Always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Kansas City South
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Bennington, Nebraska
Level Contributor
359 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Nice as Always”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We love the consistent good value of the Courtyards, and this one is pretty much the same. Location is very convenient to the freeway, yet far enough away to be quiet. The inner court was very nice and would be great on a warmer day. The lobby area and the fireplace were very comfortable and inviting. All of the staff seemed to take just a little bit more effort than at some Courtyards. The staff in the bistro area went out of their way to help our 3 year old grandson enjoy his breakfast. Our room was on the 3rd floor, so it was quiet. The room was very clean. The pullout couch was nice. The king bed, for us, was okay but it had probably seen its better days as there were "low places" in it. All in all, Courtyards never disappoint.

Room Tip: top floor.. always
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichFromOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to providing your feedback on your recent stay in our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel with your grandson. We loo forward to seeing you on your next trip to Kansas City.

Sincerely,
Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    65
    22
    12
    8
See reviews for
55
27
2
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed here on a short business trip. The rooms were clean, comfortable and a good size. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a "bistro" area that has a very limited selection of food and a nice bar. I'd stay there again when traveling for business.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CH620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay in our hotel. I am glad you enjoed your stay and we look forward to your return to our hotel on your next trip to Kansas City.

Sincerely,
Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

2 King Suites, 1 Night Stay for 7 Adults

We were in town for only one night and just needed to lay our heads down for the night and then we were out the very next day.

THE SERVICE: Everyone was helpful and friendly. We checked in pretty late but the staff was very helpful and informative. We were tired and they got us checked in and ready to go pretty quickly.

THE ROOMS: Looked Clean, smelled clean, cozy and just the right size. Nice big window with a little outdoor porch area. There was a sleeper sofa, a pull out desk and an nice flat screen TV with good visual quality. No strange stains on the carpet. Great lighting options in the room -- it would be too bright if we turned on all the lights. There was also a connecting door between the rooms so it was nice to expand our space for our family.

THE BED: The King bed was probably one of the most comfortable I've slept in at a hotel. It was a shame that we only had one night to enjoy it. The sofa beds were very springy if you just sit in it but once laying down, it was okay. We slept straight through the night. Pillows were perfect and stayed fluffy.

THE BATHROOM: Some strange stains on the walls, but overall clean. Shower head had good pressure. The water was SOFT....again it was not hard water! So my skin felt fantastic afterwards. The shampoo they offered was a Paul Mitchell brand and it worked great together with the soft water. The only bad thing was not having a ventilation system in the bathroom so it got too stuffy after a hot shower.

Location: It was slightly off the beaten path. There were no fast food restaurants close by. The hotel has a restaurant and a snack bar in the lobby - they even serve Starbucks drinks. However, since we got in late, the restaurant was closed and we had to drive out further to get some late dinner.

Overall, very nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay in our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and got a good nights sleep while in our hotel. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Kansas City.

Sincrely,
Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
325 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here over the weekend while in town bridal gown shopping and needed a place that was at a great price and was close to many different locations in Kansas City. I loved how spacious the room was (had a 2 queen bed), very clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only downfall is the "business center" the computers seemed to have outdated software (word etc). For a business hotel I was really hoping to have better systems to use but for me was minor since I wasn't there specifically for work/business. I would recommend this hotel for anyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajchandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay in our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay while shopping for your bridal gown in Kansas City. Hopr to see you on your next trip.

Sincerely,
Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sun prairie, wi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

It's our second trip to Kansas city as a family and the Courtyard hits a home run. It's not a "kids" hotel, so there's no "kids activities" besides swimming. The pool was a great temp and clean, hot tub was hot, but not scalding, so the kiddos could sit there with us too. Breakfast is the usual Courtyard fare, good, but a bit on the pricey side; bonus for having kiddo-sized portions though! They did have a pack & play for the baby to sleep in and provided sheets and blankets for it.

Minus some points for not having all rooms equipped with refrigerators; looks like they were once there, but they pulled them out? I think a fridge is essential for family travel as you can hit the grocery store and buy some yogurt, pb & j, bread, etc and keep those kids fed without blowing the bank. Second bummer for kids here is that the only kid-friendly channel was Nickelodeon; add Disney and the kiddos would appreciate the variety.

For being a business hotel, not a family one, they do a great job. Staff is friendly and eager to help.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael.caron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on your next family outting to Kansas City.

Sincerely,
Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This property is fantastic with wonderful staff. The food at the Bistro is very good, and great food is nearby. Ask the front desk staff for the list of close by restaurants that they have printed out for guests if you feel the need to go out.

Room Tip: I have stayed on all floors on all sides and the rooms are all comparable. Consistently good everywh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexHorovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about the hotel being your home away from home. We enjoy seeing your in our hotel every week and appreciate you choosing the Courtyard Kansas City South when you are in Kansas City.

Sincerely,
Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffeyville, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Nice and clean room.We used the shuttle service 2 times during weekend and they were very accomodating with times and service. There was a soccer team(young girls) at the hotel, LOUD and we were unable to spend time in pool due to the splashing and jumping in the pool. No complimentary breakfast, did have pricy bistro in hotel. Had microwave and mini-fridge in room. Beds were comfortable, pull out bed - not so! It was weekend get away to relax- had planned to hang out in pool at hotel Saturday night and we were not able to do so. Not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly K, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City South, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay in our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Kelly Kuns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
4.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kansas City South
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kansas City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City South

Property: Courtyard Kansas City South
Address: 500 E 105th St, Kansas City, MO 64131-4308
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City South 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Kansas City South Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott
Kansas City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing