We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One In a Million”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Massinga Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Escaping to the coastal resort of Imhabane was an experience we will treasure for a long time. A week of heaven was what it was. Great accommodation with rooms facing onto the ocean and peaceful surroundings. The hosts and management were fabulous and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The different settings at meal time were a plus so nice to be down on the beach having lunch, wonderful sunsets on the main deck.
The whole experience was more than we had anticipated , unspoilt beaches which we entertained with long walks and collecting the most exquisite shells, not to forget the setting which was so stunning with the different rock formations on the beach right on front of us.
will definitely go back .....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank figdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for spending a whole week with us and your great review. Watch your emails for special offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

WOW, after an enjoyable flight and the typical hustle and bustle transfer through Inhambane and Maxixe we reached Paradised. Situated between crystle clear ocean, miles of unpopulated white sandy beaches and coconut trees as far as you can see is this most picturesque resort I have ever seen. We received a warm welcome from the staff with a refreshing drink and cool handtowels. After checking in we were taken to our suite. WOW again. A huge bed overlooking the ocean, porch with deck furniture and private splash pool and a bathroom with an amasing sea view. As it was our honeymoon we had the additional treat of flowers on the bed, champaigne, chocolates etc. The food was remarkable. Full buffet breakfast, lunch at the beachbar or room, four course dinners all vith the beautiful ocean as backdrop. my wife had a relaxing massage in the comfort of our own deck. Thanks for the staff for making this our best holiday ever, and thanks to God for the excellent wheather. The only bad thing about the resort is having to go back home.

Room Tip: All suites layout is the same ,4&5 is next to thr walkway to the beach but there is golf carts t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferdi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Now that is a WOW review - thank you! We thoroughly enjoy making each honeymoon couple feel really exceptional. We also offer special touches for anniversaries and birthdays so we hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

After a little impromptu flight to Inhambane, we stayed at Massinga Beach Resort. From the transfer along the beach to the dhow transfer back - the experience was amazing. The resort itself is stunning with exquisite rock formations along the beach. The rooms are top class with excellent finishes and the staff willing to please. I can appreciate the effort and attention to detail that the resort offers - in the middle of Mozambique. Highly recommended for a relaxing, romantic trip away or a weekend away with friends. GO!!

Room Tip: Take only a costume and sunscreen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

We agree - a great way to spend a quick break with fun in the sun and that's why we have Pay/Stay and Honeymoon specials are on offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

You cannot beat the location of this resort. Sea and sand as far as the eye can see from the balcony of your luxurious room. We loved the room and all the little extra’s such as the huge bed, rain shower and splash pool. The beach is beautiful especially the coral rock formations and that you can walk for miles without seeing anyone. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. The food is great and not to mention the huge lobster for dinner- really yummy!!! This is the place where you can recharge and enjoy the peace and tranquillity. We will definitely be back for a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnkeF662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thanks for your great feedback - check the lobster on our Facebook page! More treats are in stall for your next visit - hurry back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

What a honeymoon! What can be better than luxurious rooms, excellent service and decadent cuisines...not even to mention the view from our own private splash pool. Massinga beach lodge was a unforgettable and romantic Honeymoon destination, won't change the experience for anything! We were so blessed with hosts, chefs and room service that made the week feel like heaven. The best of all was that every person working at Massinga beach lodge made any request, their first priority in a very sincere way and not just because they had too help. I will recommend this destination for any couple; newly weds or old married couples that need their spark back, Massinga beach lodge was Paradise! Thanks so much! Nateli and Willie, xxx

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nateli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

You praise is much appreciated. We are pleased to have shared this special time with you both. Fond regards from the team at Massinga Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

My trip to Massinga was nothing less than incredible! The staff we're friendly and always willing to go out of their way to meet our demands. The food was delicious and the place itself was breathtaking. Definitely a spot to visit if you're looking for time away from the hustle and bustle of the city!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Thank you for your positive review - we did have some problems in December and it is good to note they were isolated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I loved our stay at Massinga.
I admit that the taxi ride from the airport is rather long and bumpy (at one stage I thought maybe the shocks had gone) however when we reached the dune sand I was happy for the 4x4 ability and skillful driving. The supplies arrived the same day as us so the first meal was a little lean however every meal after that was outstanding.
We had a chalet up on the hill (family suite) which doesn't offer you much privacy (especially if you sleep with the doors open) so if you have a choice try to get the rooms below that have more privacy and splash pools they are slightly older smaller but have just as much charm. We had to bathrooms and loved the en-suit's big shower area.
The resort currently operates on generator power so expect some restriction in terms of air conditioning and lighting if you want to read at night or want to make coffee outside of the generator hours. The good news, for those of you that enjoy these luxuries, is that they are already talking about getting electricity to the resort.

The chalets themselves are lovely, the staff got out of their way to please but for me the best part of the resort is the magnificant beach and beach bar area. I tried out the freestyle kayak, waves were a little rough that day so I didn't get too far but it was great fun. The beach also has these coral stones which make for great photographs. You feel like you have the beach to yourself and locals are friendly in this area.

If you like pristine tranquility then this is certaintly a place to try, we loved it.
I'm not so sure it's the best conference facility however think it would be a great wedding location.

From the resort you can arrange to go diving or snorkeling. The snorkeling is done at 5 fingers which is 5 coral fingers however the water churms a little when the sea is pumping so try to go when the sea is calmer.

Thanks to the staff , we had a great time.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower level - they offer more privacy and have splash pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Thank you for your very constructive and detailed review. Very useful and applicable.

The two room types are quite distinct in that the Ocean Front Deluxe Rooms are designed with Romantics in mind and the Ocean View Junior Suites further back are well suited and affordable Family units.

As far as the conferencing goes - yes, we do not offer standard facilities, least of all due to the power and poor mobile coverage - but this spot is ideal for weddings and incentive breaks away from distractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Massinga Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massinga Beach Lodge

Address: Beach Rd, Massinga, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Massinga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Massinga
Price Range: £297 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Massinga Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North of Inhambane, the new Massinga Beach sits high, far from the madding crowd, overlooking kilometres of isolated, pristine beach; an exquisite and romantic place to relax. Facilities include restaurant, beach bar, swimming pool, games room, massage therapy and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Massinga Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massinga Beach Hotel Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing