We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Massinga”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Massinga Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Massinga”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We wondered where to go for the December 2011 break as we had been to most places in southern Africa!! The condition was the place had to have a beach and shopping (PS: my wife and two girls). However Durban and Cape town were ruled out as we have been there several times.

Mozambique it is then we decided, after a few google searches we decided on Massinga beach lodge. At first I was a bit apprehensive as we didn't know what to expect. A few trip advisor reviews calmed us.

The first sign of good things was with the seamless booking and continuos updates of the weather, what to expect in Mozambique etc. Unlike most guests we drove to Massinga. Left Joburg on the 22nd December through Swaziland and spent the nite in Maputo.

The drive from Maputo to Massinga is an experience itself (needs a different review). It took us 8 hours to cover the +/- 600 km.

On arrival in the early evening the welcome by Ian and his team was warm and we were called by our names, it felt like we were meeting friends that we hadn't seen for a long time.
The rooms were spacious, chic modern with spectacular views of the ocean. The clincher for my kids (aged 8 and 17) were the indoor pools.

One gets to enjoy the solitude of walking in the beach early morning enjoying the cool breeze and the great sea views to the right and the lodge to the left. Unchecked one can walk for 4 km unaware of how much distance they have covered.

The food was great and varied, In the four nights I was there I do not recall eating anything twice. The seafood was fresh, great prawns and lobsters.

The only area that I wish they could change is to include drinks in the total package the same way that most other resorts in Mauritius do. Personally for me that is more convenient especially when travelling with kids.

Massinga has made me break my rule that there is so much to see in the world that one does not need to go back to the same place twice!!!

....and teh girls forgot about shopping, they were so captivated

I will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for your review. There have been many new and exciting developments at Massinga Beach since your visit so we hope you keep your promise and come back this December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    24
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
104
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Escaping to the coastal resort of Imhabane was an experience we will treasure for a long time. A week of heaven was what it was. Great accommodation with rooms facing onto the ocean and peaceful surroundings. The hosts and management were fabulous and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The different settings at meal time were a plus so nice to be down on the beach having lunch, wonderful sunsets on the main deck.
The whole experience was more than we had anticipated , unspoilt beaches which we entertained with long walks and collecting the most exquisite shells, not to forget the setting which was so stunning with the different rock formations on the beach right on front of us.
will definitely go back .....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank figdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for spending a whole week with us and your great review. Watch your emails for special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witbank, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2013

WOW, after an enjoyable flight and the typical hustle and bustle transfer through Inhambane and Maxixe we reached Paradised. Situated between crystle clear ocean, miles of unpopulated white sandy beaches and coconut trees as far as you can see is this most picturesque resort I have ever seen. We received a warm welcome from the staff with a refreshing drink and cool handtowels. After checking in we were taken to our suite. WOW again. A huge bed overlooking the ocean, porch with deck furniture and private splash pool and a bathroom with an amasing sea view. As it was our honeymoon we had the additional treat of flowers on the bed, champaigne, chocolates etc. The food was remarkable. Full buffet breakfast, lunch at the beachbar or room, four course dinners all vith the beautiful ocean as backdrop. my wife had a relaxing massage in the comfort of our own deck. Thanks for the staff for making this our best holiday ever, and thanks to God for the excellent wheather. The only bad thing about the resort is having to go back home.

Room Tip: All suites layout is the same ,4&5 is next to thr walkway to the beach but there is golf carts t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferdi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Now that is a WOW review - thank you! We thoroughly enjoy making each honeymoon couple feel really exceptional. We also offer special touches for anniversaries and birthdays so we hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

After a little impromptu flight to Inhambane, we stayed at Massinga Beach Resort. From the transfer along the beach to the dhow transfer back - the experience was amazing. The resort itself is stunning with exquisite rock formations along the beach. The rooms are top class with excellent finishes and the staff willing to please. I can appreciate the effort and attention to detail that the resort offers - in the middle of Mozambique. Highly recommended for a relaxing, romantic trip away or a weekend away with friends. GO!!

Room Tip: Take only a costume and sunscreen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
We agree - a great way to spend a quick break with fun in the sun and that's why we have Pay/Stay and Honeymoon specials are on offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

You cannot beat the location of this resort. Sea and sand as far as the eye can see from the balcony of your luxurious room. We loved the room and all the little extra’s such as the huge bed, rain shower and splash pool. The beach is beautiful especially the coral rock formations and that you can walk for miles without seeing anyone. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. The food is great and not to mention the huge lobster for dinner- really yummy!!! This is the place where you can recharge and enjoy the peace and tranquillity. We will definitely be back for a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnkeF662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thanks for your great feedback - check the lobster on our Facebook page! More treats are in stall for your next visit - hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2013

What a honeymoon! What can be better than luxurious rooms, excellent service and decadent cuisines...not even to mention the view from our own private splash pool. Massinga beach lodge was a unforgettable and romantic Honeymoon destination, won't change the experience for anything! We were so blessed with hosts, chefs and room service that made the week feel like heaven. The best of all was that every person working at Massinga beach lodge made any request, their first priority in a very sincere way and not just because they had too help. I will recommend this destination for any couple; newly weds or old married couples that need their spark back, Massinga beach lodge was Paradise! Thanks so much! Nateli and Willie, xxx

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nateli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
You praise is much appreciated. We are pleased to have shared this special time with you both. Fond regards from the team at Massinga Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2013

My trip to Massinga was nothing less than incredible! The staff we're friendly and always willing to go out of their way to meet our demands. The food was delicious and the place itself was breathtaking. Definitely a spot to visit if you're looking for time away from the hustle and bustle of the city!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thank you for your positive review - we did have some problems in December and it is good to note they were isolated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massinga
13.9 mi away
Travessia Beach Lodge
Travessia Beach Lodge
#1 of 3 in Morrumbene
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
0.0 mi away
Just in Time Prime Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ibo
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunes de Dovela eco-lodge
Dunes de Dovela eco-lodge
#2 of 109 in Inhambane Province
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vilanculos Beach Lodge
Vilanculos Beach Lodge
#7 of 25 in Vilanculos
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massinga Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massinga Beach Lodge

Property: Massinga Beach Lodge
Address: Beach Rd, Massinga, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Massinga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Massinga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Massinga Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North of Inhambane, the new Massinga Beach sits high, far from the madding crowd, overlooking kilometres of isolated, pristine beach; an exquisite and romantic place to relax. Facilities include restaurant, beach bar, swimming pool, games room, massage therapy and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Massinga Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massinga Beach Hotel Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing