We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful getaway with awesome view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Massinga Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Beautiful rooms. Spectacular uninterrupted view of the ocean and beaches if you have deluxe seafront doom. Private splash pool with great patio. Bedroom and bathroom are fantastic...imagine lying in the bath with a sea view. Rooms are all private. Difficult to access the beach, but if you are fit for a climb, a good workout. A golf cart is provided for less active. Food was very good, and staff pay good attention to all detail. No electricity for periods during the day...which is understandable. Highly recommend as a quiet, private, breakaway!

Room Tip: Take the plunge for a front sea facing room with private splash pool. Worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LEMJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

We appreciate your feedback.

It seems that you did walk along the golf cart route down to the beach from the leisure centre since this is a gentle sloping meander; the stairs are definitely for those who want to get the heart rate up a little.

Officials have advised that power lines will be extended towards Massinga Beach by December this year. Connectivity will take pristine and remote beach lodge into a different era.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

What can I say about this place that will do it justice?
We were there for the second part of our honeymoon. We spent four amazing nights here.
From our arrival at the lodge, being greeted with cold towels and cocktails by the owner, to the personal touches in the room, to the menu that was totally to die for and the view! wow! what a view!

I cant say enough about this place. the service was sublime. the staff are so friendly, I mean that within a day of us arriving every staff member knew our names and used them.

We spent hours at the beach bar, the beach itself was pristine and we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zach L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for choosing Massinga Beach for your honeymoon. We value being part of this special time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

What a stunning secluded setting for a romantic breakaway. We thoroughly enjoyed our first anniversary here at Massinga Beach Lodge! The staff were absolutely incredible. They really made an effort to serve us well and we felt welcome and cared for throughout our stay. This was the first establishment that actually brought in special wheat free food since my wife is wheat intolerant. Considering the location and access to supplies, this was no mean feat.

The first night they gave us the most stunning honeymoon turndown and a private dinner in our room the last evening. We felt spoilt. No, we WERE spoiled. We especially liked the accomodation (wow what views),the beach bar and the high tea in the afternoon. The food was excellent, especially considering where this lodge is based. The transfers were fun, especially the dhow transfer and just driving through Mozambique almost brings you in touch with the local and culture. As such, we were espeially pleased that our flight was delayed since it presented an opportunity to explore Inhambane.

The lodge even contacted us (since we were already en route to the airport) to advise of the delay. Thankfully we were still on time for our flight to Cape Town.

It would have been nice if there were a direct flight to Inhambane from Jhb, but we understand that it is what it is and since the view over the reefs and lagoons can't be justified by any photo, it's a detour you'd wish to have anyway.

As for the accommodation, it is suprisingly luxurious and spacious. The chalets are not too close to one another so privacy is ensured. The panoramic views are glorious. Since the nearest lodges to you are 20km north and 40km south, the beach is really almost owned by you. The atmosphere is relaxed, yet professional. The staff are friendly. The food is excellent. The setting is magnificent. It's the ideal place to kick your shoes off for a week and forget there's a world beyond the millions of palm trees surrounding you.

Oh and how can I forget!? The whales, the whales! Soooo many whales. It's an almost permanent fixture in the mornings and afternoons. What an amazing sight, especially if they breach just beyond the surf. Absolutely amazing :)

Room Tip: Most rooms are sea front, but be sure you get one of those. Some are a little way to walk, but not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brq-Wfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Great to hear from you. We try to meet most dietary requirements, although ( as you mention) it can be challenging due to our remote location.

It was our honour to celebrate your anniversary with you - thank you for choosing Massinga Beach.

Thanks also for specifically mentioned the airport transfer and Inhambane. The trip to our lodge is a wonderful opportunity to see at least experience some of this interesting’s unique culture and inland scenery.

Please send us photos of your whale watching experience for our FB page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Decided to be brave with a vacation in Mozambique! What a pleasant surprise! Peace and quiet; sandy beaches that stretch forever; caring (but not overbearing) staff; great food.
Went for runs on the beach, cycled for kilometres on the beach, swam, palyed pool and table tennis and just lazed around the pool.
Locals are friendly but dont intrude on one's space.
Thank you Des and Kim and Suzanne - you are great!
And Bongi, the Jack Russell, for keeping me company while I cycled... Brave dog!

Room Tip: Number 17 is right next to the main lodge area - could maybe be a bit noisy. The rest are all fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edi027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed the beach cycling - quite a new addition to our leisure offering and so well suited to making the most of our exquisite, private beaches.

It was a pleasure having you to stay and its shows that Massinga Beach even suits active guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

This remote luxurious lodge has lovely rooms, stunning beaches, friendly helpful staff. Relaxing but still things to do to stay entertained like snorkelling swimming kayaking. We recommend u start your day early as the weather cools down or it can rain. Rather go to sleep early than wake late.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Massinga Beach and we note that we did not score full marks. Please stay in touch through our Facebook page. We are constantly adding services to enhance the guest experience and add value. We hope you will be tempted back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We wondered where to go for the December 2011 break as we had been to most places in southern Africa!! The condition was the place had to have a beach and shopping (PS: my wife and two girls). However Durban and Cape town were ruled out as we have been there several times.

Mozambique it is then we decided, after a few google searches we decided on Massinga beach lodge. At first I was a bit apprehensive as we didn't know what to expect. A few trip advisor reviews calmed us.

The first sign of good things was with the seamless booking and continuos updates of the weather, what to expect in Mozambique etc. Unlike most guests we drove to Massinga. Left Joburg on the 22nd December through Swaziland and spent the nite in Maputo.

The drive from Maputo to Massinga is an experience itself (needs a different review). It took us 8 hours to cover the +/- 600 km.

On arrival in the early evening the welcome by Ian and his team was warm and we were called by our names, it felt like we were meeting friends that we hadn't seen for a long time.
The rooms were spacious, chic modern with spectacular views of the ocean. The clincher for my kids (aged 8 and 17) were the indoor pools.

One gets to enjoy the solitude of walking in the beach early morning enjoying the cool breeze and the great sea views to the right and the lodge to the left. Unchecked one can walk for 4 km unaware of how much distance they have covered.

The food was great and varied, In the four nights I was there I do not recall eating anything twice. The seafood was fresh, great prawns and lobsters.

The only area that I wish they could change is to include drinks in the total package the same way that most other resorts in Mauritius do. Personally for me that is more convenient especially when travelling with kids.

Massinga has made me break my rule that there is so much to see in the world that one does not need to go back to the same place twice!!!

....and teh girls forgot about shopping, they were so captivated

I will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Watipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for your review. There have been many new and exciting developments at Massinga Beach since your visit so we hope you keep your promise and come back this December!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Escaping to the coastal resort of Imhabane was an experience we will treasure for a long time. A week of heaven was what it was. Great accommodation with rooms facing onto the ocean and peaceful surroundings. The hosts and management were fabulous and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The different settings at meal time were a plus so nice to be down on the beach having lunch, wonderful sunsets on the main deck.
The whole experience was more than we had anticipated , unspoilt beaches which we entertained with long walks and collecting the most exquisite shells, not to forget the setting which was so stunning with the different rock formations on the beach right on front of us.
will definitely go back .....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank figdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for spending a whole week with us and your great review. Watch your emails for special offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massinga
13.9 mi away
Travessia Beach Lodge
Travessia Beach Lodge
#1 of 3 in Morrumbene
50 reviews
8.1 mi away
Morrungulo Beach Lodge
Morrungulo Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Massinga
13 reviews
0 mi away
Varanda
Varanda
#7 of 10 in Vilanculos
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massinga Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massinga Beach Lodge

Address: Beach Rd, Massinga, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Massinga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Massinga
Price Range: £220 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Massinga Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North of Inhambane, the new Massinga Beach sits high, far from the madding crowd, overlooking kilometres of isolated, pristine beach; an exquisite and romantic place to relax. Facilities include restaurant, beach bar, swimming pool, games room, massage therapy and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Massinga Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massinga Beach Hotel Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing