We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A paradise in Mozambique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Massinga Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A paradise in Mozambique”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We loved this hotel! The staff is fantastic, just lovely people!!! Shame that I cant remember all names but every person we meet there, was incredible!!! We will come back for sure! A big kiss for the little Bonji, the lovely dog ever!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for enjoying Massinga Beach, please share with your friends in Maputo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    24
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
100
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

An absolute gem! The spacious and beautiful palm thatch and wooden bungalows on stilts with breathtaking views from the crest of a dune overlooking a pristine stretch of palm- fringed coast make this lodge a little piece of Eden. The beach bar and staff who couldn't be more willing are a recipe for decadent indulgence. Negatives include the fact that the beach is far (down!) from the actual lodge, although hitching a ride on the beach mobile is easy enough; the larger family units are the back row seats & although spaced so their view isn't really impaired, the path running between the two rows of units does compromise privacy a little; the main lodge's bar, deck and lounge area is a little uninspired and also inadequate, especially if the weather isn't ideal. Although there isn't much in the way of reefs for snorkeling, the beach and surf couldn't be bettered anywhere. Only real concern for future guests are the horrifying plans to build a large development of self catering units for private 'ownership' right behind the lodge, replete with golf driving range! Can only hope greed gets thwarted. Would undoubtedly return provided this crass ambition fails.

Room Tip: Avoid room 17 and 18 - located next to the kitchen and garage respectively!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenLiebenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your positive comments and valuable feedback about the perception of what the new houses will do to Massinga Beach. We are grateful for the opportunity to clarify our intentions.

The Massinga Beach estate is 100 hectares thus providing plenty of space for a full service Lodge as well as self-catering houses accommodating families and groups of friends, who will all come to enjoy the beautiful remote setting.

Guests who opt for self-catering will by design not be wanting the full service Lodge experience. Rules and a supporting infrastructure will be put in place to manage a quality but quite different experience for both types of guests.

We recognize that Massinga Beach Lodge is defined by its peaceful ad tranquil location and there is no plan to mass with this winning recipe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We Stayed at Massinga Beach as part of our Honey moon, all I can say is what an awesome place, staff were great food was great, Des and Kim made us feel right at home, we had lunch at the beach Bar every day and it was fantastic, the rooms were perfect with a great view and were very clean,Thank you to each and every staff member of Massinga Beach who helped make our honeymoon truly Fantastic, Trevor and Gill

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaffaTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you foe your feedback and celebrating with us! with our very best best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Where to start...We decided on Massinga Beach because of remoteness and we wanted a private and peaceful honeymoon. The pictures we saw of Massinga Beach just made it that much easier. We were greeted at the airport by a friendly man named Dan, from there on we knew we were on holiday, our bags and anything they could were carried for us so that we can enjoy the view as we made our way to a little boat we used to cross the bay. All the way to Massinga Beach, Dan was explaining certain sites on the way educating us. And well, what a welcome we received when we arrived. We were greeted by the most friendly management ever together with Ozzy (what a friendly guy) with delicious cocktails. Des and Kim, you guys are a true asset to Massinga Beach. All of the staff members treated us like we were the most important people there. And they speak to you with the utmost respect. We never felt unattended and each and every staff member made us feel special, always going out of their way to help us with anything we wanted or needed. The food.... I do not have words to describe how delicious the food was. Each and every meal we had was absolutely amazingly delicious and presented perfectly! Well done to the Chef's for the experience. Our room was just perfect. Loved everything about it, from the bed all the way through to our private plunge pool. What a spectacular view we had! We absolutely loved the beach bar! What a stunning setting. We went snorkeling at fingers and anyone who visits Massinga should definitely do this. We saw so many things. Loved the coconuts we had just about every day! It was very sad for us to leave Massinga Beach, we had such a wonderful time and I would strongly recommend Massinga Beach to anyone. I feel like I could keep on writing and writing, there is just so much about Massinga Beach that makes it worth it. Thank you to each and every staff member of Massinga Beach who helped make our honeymoon truly unforgettable and so special. Michael and Chantal

Room Tip: Definitely Ocean Front Delux rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChantalCufflin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We are thrilled that you so enjoyed our unique Massinga Beach hospitality and value being part of these special memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I booked our `dream 5* vacation' through Mozambique GSA agency in Northcliff Our first mistake of many ; we were promised the moon and stars but promises are cheap ! Massinga is not as cheap as the empty promises , rack rate of R5,000 / night for lousy food , poor service , dirty rooms and no toilet paper for three days of our stay ?? There is NOTHING to do there - don't go ! When we complained the booking agents ran for cover ; we now call our holiday `Survivor Massinga Beach ' and laugh about it but BEWARE . Ian & Valerie Hunter

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valianhunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Ian & Valerie
We regret your dissatisfaction most sincerely. However, as you are aware your feedback was followed up personally by our Group Operations Manager in January. We have in fact implemented some of your positive suggestions.

We very much want to resolve any problems that you may still have and if anything has subsequently caused you to resurface your complaint, we ask that you advise us direct and give us the opportunity to address the issue in question.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I chose Massinga beach for our honeymoon. We wanted somewhere quiet, private and peaceful. We got all this whilst still receiving 5* service and accommodation. The staff and food where both amazing. They really spoilt us and made our honeymoon extremely special. The rooms were stunning and so comfortable. We enjoyed the seclusion, walking down the beach seeing no one else. We would not hesitate to recommend it if all you want is to relax! You really escape the world.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveljuice16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased your best honeymoon memories include Massinga Beach and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Nice houses and nice staff. But some things were poor. The pool at the beach was not clear. I like dogs but not in a swimming pool. The food was OK, not very special. The vieuw from the houses is great. We had a great 4 days, relaxing on the beach end at the house, overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: We liked the seaside houses with the private plunch pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarleneBlantyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBMarketing, Marketing at Massinga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We sincerely regret any negative experiences and appreciate the opportunity to respond.

Whilst the swimming pool gets constant attention to ensure that it looks inviting, it is really susceptible to changes in the weather and rain at this time of the year.

Bonji, the Jack Russell, is a much loved member of the Massinga Beach team who even has his own Facebook page where you will see that guests have taught him to swim.

We are delighted you loved our rooms and the views and hope those memories will tempt you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massinga
866.4 mi away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
156 reviews
13.9 mi away
Travessia Beach Lodge
Travessia Beach Lodge
#1 of 3 in Morrumbene
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#3 of 3 in Ibo
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Just in Time Prime Holiday Resort
0.0 mi away
Varanda
Varanda
#5 of 8 in Vilanculos
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massinga Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massinga Beach Lodge

Property: Massinga Beach Lodge
Address: Beach Rd, Massinga, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Massinga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Massinga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Massinga Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North of Inhambane, the new Massinga Beach sits high, far from the madding crowd, overlooking kilometres of isolated, pristine beach; an exquisite and romantic place to relax. Facilities include restaurant, beach bar, swimming pool, games room, massage therapy and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Massinga Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massinga Beach Hotel Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing