We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated hotel with limited amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirkwood
Portland, United States
2 reviews
“Isolated hotel with limited amenities”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

As a frequent business traveler I have stayed at a variety of Hamptons in several cities. I typically find the experiences to be pleasant. Unfortunately, my recent experience at THIS Hampton was not satisfying. The hotel is isolated. There is nothing within walking distance unless you wish to cross a highway. There is no shuttle service. Cabs are very hard to come by. If you need to stay in Kirkwood, I'd suggest renting a car or staying closer to the downtown area. We found the staff to be indifferent. The lobby, hallways, and rooms felt dark and slightly shabby, albeit clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    101
    65
    33
    34
See reviews for
154
59
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I visit the Kirkwood area twice a year, and always stay here because it is always clean, quiet and friendly - a great value. The morning breakfast is hot and varies with a good variety of offerings. There is a computer in the lobby to print boarding passed with. It would be nice if they had a coin op washer and dryer that that is the only thing lacking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank handj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
440 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had a good stay here this month while visiting relatives in the suburbs of St. Louis. The rooms were typical Hampton Inn rooms though the overall impression is that the furnishings are a bit older. My only complaint (and it's minor) was I can't stand the paper cups that are provided in the rooms. I would much prefer a real glass or a plastic cup. So bring your own plastic drinking glass! Also, they should leave 2 blankets in each room instead of just one.......we don't like those heavy comforters and replace it with a blanket. But we were happy that the cleaning crew used the blanket for me the rest of our stay.

The location is on a busy highway which made it very difficult to get out of the Hampton Inn and cross the street (in the car or by person).....especially at rush hour around 5:30 pm.

And personally we love the constant noise of the heating system.......it helps mask snoring!

I'd feel better with a slipcover on the easy chair in the room. It just felt too itchy to sit in it for long.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stulimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

if you need a hotel for a stay on business. This one works great. Great staff. The room and service and location was acceptable. The team was very helpful. I needed a place to stay in the St Louis area

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Stream, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel was very nice and clean. Its rather small but conveniently located off highways. The staff was friendly and polite, The only downside was no fridge or microwave in the room but we were able to use appliances in the breakfast area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Prairie, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

If we travel to St. Louis again we would select another Hampton Inn. This one needs updating, however the staff was very courteous and helpful and the morning breakfast is quite adequate. The location is easy to get to and is near many other restaurants for evening dining.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Billie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Nice service, Great breakfast. Comfortable relaxing stay. We've come to expect this and this time was great as usual. We have stayed at Hampton Inn for the past 12 years and they have been very consistent in their overall quality. We always take comfort in knowing there will be no surprises.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwood
0.4 mi away
Best Western Kirkwood Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66
0.3 mi away
Days Inn ST. Louis Lindbergh Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
3.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Fenton
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn St. Louis Fenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills

Property: Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills
Address: 1580 S Kirkwood Rd, Kirkwood, Saint Louis, MO 63127-1013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Kirkwood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirkwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills hotel is just minutes from popular St. Louis attractions in the beautiful Sunset Hills. The hotel provides free high speed internet and complimentary hot breakfast, served fresh daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills Hotel Kirkwood
Hampton Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills Kirkwood, Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing