We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hampton Inn!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirkwood
Stilwell, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hampton Inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This Hampton Inn was exceptionally clean. The bed coverings and linens were freshly laundered! The bathroom was impeccable and the Neutrogena toiletries were a nice surprise! The vending machines were well-stocked, ice machine worked (!) the flat-screen tv worked fine (!). I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    99
    60
    29
    33
See reviews for
146
55
21
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dodge City, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hilton is going to lose a lot of business because of this one bad seed. No notification on the website of hotel being under construction. Directions to the temporary check in location was spotty at best. The Guest Services Rep was no where to be found when I arrived and I had to wait for someone to finally show up to check me in. Rooms are not typical Hilton/Hampton quality. Elevators were in poor condition. The evening GSR and Night Auditor were both not wearing standard Hampton uniforms, nor did they have a name tag on to identify themselves. I too stayed the night of the power outage (June 21, 2014) and being a Night Auditor for a different Hampton Inn & Suites location, I was appalled at how the guests were treated during the 12 HOUR power outage. Both stairwells were in complete darkness - a total safety violation. Fire alarms were going off ONLY on the 3rd floor, only in the hall, not in the guest rooms. Have you ever tried to make it down a pitch black stairwell, 3 flights, with numerous other people, and small children who were crying/screaming because they were scared to death? It's a true miracle no one was injured trying to evacuate the building. Oh, and one of those stairwells ended in the hotel lobby, which is under construction, so there was no way out of the building that way. You had to take the door leading to the outside of the lobby, which that area was roped off and you had to crawl under the ropes. Every time a guest asked a question or presented a problem to the evening GSR, his only response was, "I'll have to call my manager." The so called "manager" should be embarrassed (and relieved of his status) at how his GSR handled the situation and for his/her failure to appear and make sure his/her guests were taken care of. Losing power was no one's fault, but the lack of knowledge/procedures/Hamptonality by the GSR is disgraceful and the manager's lack of support to his/her guests is inexcusable. The manager not only failed his/her guests, he/she failed the GSR in not making sure proper training for emergency situations was conducted for the employees.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our stay was uneventful. Staff was ok, stayed there based on location and proximity to people we were visiting. Nothing fancy, just a basic, affordable, clean place to sleep and that is all we needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Suzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
191 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just about everything is wrong with this place; Hilton should be embarrassed. The entrance to the parking area is a very narrow one-lane driveway with large rocks painted bright yellow placed on each side - sort of a go away, you are not welcome sign. Renovation is in progress with no notice on the Hilton website - a poor practice. Service is poor - no one seems to care about anything. Breakfast is poor. The place is dirty; the area by the elevators is filthy and appears to have not been cleaned carefully for months. The hotel has an unpleasant chemical smell which I assume is due to renovation. Access is difficult due to an expressway ramp exit with fast moving cars that runs right in front of the hotel. In general, the location is poor. There are a lot of signs of poor maintenance.

Room Tip: Find a room at a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soonerair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All over
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

They were under construction when we arrived. That was annoying, but not all that bad. Then, a storm took down a nearby power line and cut all power to the hotel. That could happen to anyone. I was prepared to wait that out.

But... About half of the emergency lights in the hallways did not work. The stairwells were in total darkness.

Then, the fire alarm went off. It did not sound in our rooms. It did not sound on the 2nd floor. The strobes that are supposed to alert hearing impaired people of the fire did not work anywhere that I saw. It took over 20 minutes for a fire truck to arrive.

The desk clerk tried to deal with guest issues during this time, but had to deal with the fire department. I never did see anyone who looked like a manager or owner.

We did not stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horselover23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at Hampton Inn before and have always been impressed. Our biggest mistake was not doing research about this particular one and going off the brand name. The hotel was undergoing construction and the area surrounding the check - in room smelt like sewer. Our room was nothing special no amenities such as microwave or mini fridge like other Hampton Inn's we stayed. This was part of the reason we wanted to stay at the Hampton Inn since we have a 1 year old on whole milk and to keep fresh fruit snacks for our older kids. When inquiring about a mini fridge the front desk was less than helpful. The first call we were told having one was not specific to the brand but that they would check on it. Then we visited the office in person to find out previous staff made no mention of it in the notebook and that they would call in 10 min. About an hour later we called again and said they were working on it and would call back in 5. Needless to say, we never heard anything. Additionally, we had brought some toys for the kids to play while we chilled out in the room and they covered in grime after 30 minutes of playing on the floor. The bathroom contains mold and mildew on the floor and in parts of the shower. The dirty room combined with the lack of customer service are enough to prevent us from staying here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hotel was under construction - remodeling I assume - we were not notified in advance, entrance drive was blocked with yellow tape, my wife had to get out of the car, duck under the car and walk to the door to read the typed sign directing guests to a side entrance (did not indicate which side) ... we located the entrance and the man in the room (#103) who was impersonating a check in person was rude or disturbed by our presence. Regardless, we checked in ... room was clean, no refrigerator, no shampoo in the bath room. Apparently during the remodeling all the regular staff must have been laid off or on vacation ... however, the maid that cleaned our room did a good job.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Milton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwood
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66
0.3 mi away
Days Inn ST. Louis Lindbergh Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
7.4 mi away
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites St. Louis Fenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills

Property: Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills
Address: 1580 S Kirkwood Rd, Kirkwood, Saint Louis, MO 63127-1013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Kirkwood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirkwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills hotel is just minutes from popular St. Louis attractions in the beautiful Sunset Hills. The hotel provides free high speed internet and complimentary hot breakfast, served fresh daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills Hotel Kirkwood
Hampton Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills Kirkwood, Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing