We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn - Sunset Hills, St. Louis MO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirkwood
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Arrived and found that the lobby was being remodeled. A guest room had been turned into a makeshift lobby. Unfortuantely, my room was directly across the hall, so it was noisey. I felt as if I were trying to sleep in the lobby. The room's window gave me a view of the construction and port-a-potty. The construction hadn't been advertised.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

I would not have stayed here if i was aware that the property was under renovation but the Hilton website failed to disclose this information. Reception is in a absolutely messy ground floor bedroom. When I arrived in the evening the room was locked and I had to wait around for somebody to show up - which they did after about 10 minutes.

My room was fine. Everything worked as expected. However wireless Internet was unavailable (fixed next morning after many complaints) and a fire alarm outside my door which went off intermittently for about 30 minutes.

Breakfast buffet is in a temporary area in the basement on blue plastic covered round banquet tables. No sign of any staff when I ate there. Usual Hampton Inn breakfast but poorer quality than usual.

My advice - avoid this location until the renovations are completed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alkonost45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This Hampton Inn was exceptionally clean. The bed coverings and linens were freshly laundered! The bathroom was impeccable and the Neutrogena toiletries were a nice surprise! The vending machines were well-stocked, ice machine worked (!) the flat-screen tv worked fine (!). I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hilton is going to lose a lot of business because of this one bad seed. No notification on the website of hotel being under construction. Directions to the temporary check in location was spotty at best. The Guest Services Rep was no where to be found when I arrived and I had to wait for someone to finally show up to check me in. Rooms are not typical Hilton/Hampton quality. Elevators were in poor condition. The evening GSR and Night Auditor were both not wearing standard Hampton uniforms, nor did they have a name tag on to identify themselves. I too stayed the night of the power outage (June 21, 2014) and being a Night Auditor for a different Hampton Inn & Suites location, I was appalled at how the guests were treated during the 12 HOUR power outage. Both stairwells were in complete darkness - a total safety violation. Fire alarms were going off ONLY on the 3rd floor, only in the hall, not in the guest rooms. Have you ever tried to make it down a pitch black stairwell, 3 flights, with numerous other people, and small children who were crying/screaming because they were scared to death? It's a true miracle no one was injured trying to evacuate the building. Oh, and one of those stairwells ended in the hotel lobby, which is under construction, so there was no way out of the building that way. You had to take the door leading to the outside of the lobby, which that area was roped off and you had to crawl under the ropes. Every time a guest asked a question or presented a problem to the evening GSR, his only response was, "I'll have to call my manager." The so called "manager" should be embarrassed (and relieved of his status) at how his GSR handled the situation and for his/her failure to appear and make sure his/her guests were taken care of. Losing power was no one's fault, but the lack of knowledge/procedures/Hamptonality by the GSR is disgraceful and the manager's lack of support to his/her guests is inexcusable. The manager not only failed his/her guests, he/she failed the GSR in not making sure proper training for emergency situations was conducted for the employees.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our stay was uneventful. Staff was ok, stayed there based on location and proximity to people we were visiting. Nothing fancy, just a basic, affordable, clean place to sleep and that is all we needed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Suzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just about everything is wrong with this place; Hilton should be embarrassed. The entrance to the parking area is a very narrow one-lane driveway with large rocks painted bright yellow placed on each side - sort of a go away, you are not welcome sign. Renovation is in progress with no notice on the Hilton website - a poor practice. Service is poor - no one seems to care about anything. Breakfast is poor. The place is dirty; the area by the elevators is filthy and appears to have not been cleaned carefully for months. The hotel has an unpleasant chemical smell which I assume is due to renovation. Access is difficult due to an expressway ramp exit with fast moving cars that runs right in front of the hotel. In general, the location is poor. There are a lot of signs of poor maintenance.

Room Tip: Find a room at a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soonerair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

They were under construction when we arrived. That was annoying, but not all that bad. Then, a storm took down a nearby power line and cut all power to the hotel. That could happen to anyone. I was prepared to wait that out.

But... About half of the emergency lights in the hallways did not work. The stairwells were in total darkness.

Then, the fire alarm went off. It did not sound in our rooms. It did not sound on the 2nd floor. The strobes that are supposed to alert hearing impaired people of the fire did not work anywhere that I saw. It took over 20 minutes for a fire truck to arrive.

The desk clerk tried to deal with guest issues during this time, but had to deal with the fire department. I never did see anyone who looked like a manager or owner.

We did not stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horselover23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwood
0.4 mi away
Best Western Kirkwood Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66
0.2 mi away
Days Inn ST. Louis Lindbergh Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
9.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. L...
#2 of 18 in Maryland Heights
869 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western St. Louis Inn
Best Western St. Louis Inn
#1 of 1 in Tesson Ferry
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills

Address: 1580 S Kirkwood Rd, Kirkwood, Saint Louis, MO 63127-1013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Kirkwood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirkwood
Price Range: £74 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills hotel is just minutes from popular St. Louis attractions in the beautiful Sunset Hills. The hotel provides free high speed internet and complimentary hot breakfast, served fresh daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills Hotel Kirkwood
Hampton Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills Kirkwood, Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing