We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Reservation Policy!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirkwood
Certificate of Excellence
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible Reservation Policy!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Over the last 10 years I have spent hundreds of nights in hotels, this hotel has the worst reservation policy I have ever heard of. We reserved our room at the Best Western Kirkwood Inn and received a confirmation with a check in time beginning at 3:00 PM. My wife, one year old child, and I arrived at the hotel at 9:30 PM and were told we would have to wait one and a half hours before our room was ready. A one and a half hour wait is the last thing you want to hear after several hours of driving and traveling with a sleepy baby.

We were told by the front desk attendant and the manager that the issue was due to the hotel having a contract with a large rail road company to house their workers. The railroad workers check in throughout the day and check out when they choose. On the night of our stay several railroad workers were late checking out. While this policy must be great for employees of the railroad it is terrible for your average traveler. Several other travelers were informed of the same delay due to the same reason while we were waiting in the lobby.

On the plus side the room was nice for the rate we paid. The room was clean and we were glad to see the remote in the room was sanitized (not that we had time to watch TV by the time we finally were able to get into the room). The front desk staff was polite about the policy and the delay. We only ended up waiting just over an hour for our room to be ready rather than the full hour and a half.

In summary I would never consider staying at this hotel again unless I was an employee of a large railroad company.

Room Tip: Only stay at this hotel if you work for a railroad company or if you enjoy lengthy delays before bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WesLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. I am very sorry that you experienced a delay in your check in due to late check out of an existing group. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay with you personally and ask that you reach out to me either by telephone at (314) 821-3950, or email cindy@pmihotels.com. I hope to hear from you in the near future.
With the sincere apologies from both myself and our entire team...
Cynthia Brasseur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    153
    42
    23
    11
See reviews for
161
102
30
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kevil, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Food was good. Staff was friendly. Room was nice. Everything worked. Good location. There was only 1 BIG problem. Upon our Friday night, 9pm arrival, we were informed we couldn't Check-in for another hour. Others in our party arrived 30 minutes after us, they had to wait another hour. Apparently they have a group with check out whenever they want privileges. I expect to wait if I arrive @ 2pm, but not at 10pm. I gave the hotel a good review in spite because the staff have nothing to do with terrible decisions made by upper management. I just want to warn others, if you plan on arriving late & tired, go somewhere else because this hotel thinks you want to wait in the lobby with them. If you don't mind waiting, this is a great place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCV-BoydBurgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I stay here for work on a weekly basis and I love it. Great staff and good location to anything you might need. Only issue is HBO is sometimes down, but that's no biggie. If you can stay off or above the floors with the railroaders that also stay there that is for the best. Sometimes they can be a tad loud

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelGuru13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

A short drive to downtown St. Louis if you prefer not to be in the city. Kirkwood is an affluent suburb. The hotel is not far from a great French restaurant less than a mile away. But if you prefer Chili's or Texas Roadhouse, then it's just a few steps away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jerry572013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwood, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

For both days I stayed, the internet was down. This set me back two days worth of work. When I was going to bed, I rolled down the covers and saw hair (not my own) under the covers. Not a great stay, really.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Excellent location close to St. Louis but without the traffic hassles. Easy access from Interstate. Clean rooms with super comfortable beds. Room had a big screen TV, fridge and great wifi. Well lit parking lot near shopping and restaurants. On-site restaurant and elevators to service all floors. Hot breakfast with several offerings and located in a separate, sit-down area. Hotel staff were friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor and above are quieter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderingwindsorite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the Missouri Valley Conf Basketball tournament with a friend of mine and was impressed from the moment we got here. Several resturants and stores within walking distance. Both Front desk personal that we're on duty during our stay we very helpful with every question that I needed(Andrea and Gaby). Will most likely stay here again on future visits. Really only complaint that I had biscuits were dry but breakfast in general was good. Also very happy that there was a resturant attached to the Hotel but not belonging to Best Western, got 10% off our meal. Overall this was a very enjoyable stay and look forward to coming again

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwood
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills
0.7 mi away
Days Inn ST. Louis Lindbergh Boulevard
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Louis Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Louis Inn
#1 of 1 in Tesson Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
9.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. L...
#1 of 17 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn
Address: 1200 South Kirkwood Road, Kirkwood, Saint Louis, MO 63122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Kirkwood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirkwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkwood Hotel Kirkwood
Best Western Saint Louis
Saint Louis Best Western
BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing