We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camden on the Lake Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Certificate of Excellence
Monroe City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice rooms”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms are wonderful. Very spacious, at least the king suite is. If you want to get to sleep prior to 2 am, ask for a room on the parking lot side, although this defeats the purpose of going to a lake for a view. The live entertainment on the weekends is really loud. And it was 2 am before the cigarette boats left.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 1pt4brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter W, General Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Camden on the Lake Resort. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your spacious king suite and all of the amenities our resort has to offer.

The 4th of July weekend is one of the busiest weekends we have all summer long and we had two great concerts with Bret Michaels on Friday night and Cheap Trick on Saturday night. We have live entertainment every weekend on our outdoor stage between Memorial Day and Labor Day. Our outdoor concerts generally draw a good crowd from the resort as well as the local community. We are dedicated to providing a safe and comfortable environment at the resort and schedule a team of security employees to get things quieted down as quickly as possible when the concerts end at 1:00 AM.

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Camden on the Lake Resort. We hope you have an opportunity to return and stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dexter Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    97
    34
    30
    31
See reviews for
71
195
5
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The customer service is so lacking it is almost humorous as if someone is playing a joke on you. We checked in early which was very nice, we had a great room with a small kitchenette/wet bar. Frig that you could use for your own things not stocked with high cost drinks, nice glass ware and bar ware, granite countertop. We had a small king room - there are rooms with a separate sitting area and bed room but those were $500+ per night our king room did not have separate sitting room and was $300+ per night. We went to the resort to see a concert, they have a nice venue on the property for live music. We arrived early and checked in with no problem except that the front desk had no idea where our tickets/armbands were for the show that evening, they asked us to check back after 4pm. We dropped things in the room and headed to restaurant for late lunch. I had an appointment for facial in the spa in 50 mins, figured we had enough time for a quick lunch. Got to restaurant and waited to be seated, server came to seat us and we asked about eating at the bar to save time, we noticed two women seated there and were obviously having lunch they had place setting in front of them. The server said she just arrived and had no tables she would seat us and wait on us. She sat us and another large party, we were just two. We sat, got menus and never saw that server again. We were near the bar, watched the two ladies sitting there get their lunch, still no server at our table...finally after 15 mins, we got someone who said she would be right back with us, I finally went to bar and got drinks. We decided we should probably eat after our appointment after the spa. The spa was sure to tell me to arrive early. The server finally came over, apologized, I told her we probably did not have time to eat because I had a spa appt. She agreed that I should not be late for the spa appt. We finished our drinks and left for spa. I arrived at spa and was directed to change and wait in the relaxation room for my esthetician to come get me. I waited over 25 mins, finally someone arrives, it was one of the women seated at the bar who was eating lunch. So I waited for her to finish lunch while I did not get to eat. During my facial the esthetician chatted with me, I tried to answer minimally as I don't want to chat, I want to have quiet time and relax..the whole point of an Aveda facial. The spa is an Aveda spa which is why I scheduled a facial there. I am very familiar with Aveda facials, I get them every other month. The esthetician was very nice but probably not on top of her game. She did some of the facial steps out of order and chatted most of the time. She was apologetic for the loud music coming from the venue - but I understand that the band had to do a sound check, it was not a problem. After my spa service, we headed back to the restaurant for lunch. We were seated outside on the patio and it was very nice, our server was good and our food was good, only complaint was that we got our salad after we received our entrees. Our server took it off our bill which was very nice. After lunch we went to the pool. Very nice pool with a bar you can swim up to or be seated at, we sat out of the water at the bar to order drinks, there were three bartenders and we were systematically ignored for more than 15 mins, I finally just stopped one of the bartenders and ordered. She brought our drinks and placed them on the bar...which was so sticky and dirty that our napkins were stuck to it. There were a lot of flies, I understand they are on a lake but a little cleaning with a disinfectant would go a long way on the bar. I work in a hospital and we have bug zappers that are very inconspicuous, this resort could use those inside and out. The pool area is nice, but dirty. There were several empty beer cans and plastic cups around the area on the ground and on tables. The music at the pool was pretty obnoxious also. The bands playing this weekend were Cheap Trick and Brett Michaels, you figure most people are there for the show. The music was very trendy hip hop music aimed at a much younger clientele then what was there. I would suggest maybe some mainstream rock or classic rock, would have been more appropriate. After the pool we headed to our room, again the room was very nice. We finally realized that our show tickets/wristbands would be at the ticket booth and we could pick them up there. The show was great and the rest of our stay was fine. We did have a long wait in the morning for coffee at the coffee bar in the lobby. There was only one person working and she was running back and forth and stopped several times to wipe the sweat from her face..it was a bit unsightly. We would not stay here again unless the room rate was much lower that $300+ per night... They have some work to do there..

Room Tip: Lake front would have been nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter W, General Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at the Camden on the Lake Resort. We appreciate all comments and take them very seriously whether they are positive or negative.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay and in particular the lack of service you received while you were here. I followed up with our spa staff and found that your appointment was actually scheduled for 30 minutes after the time you had suggested and the technician for you facial was actually early for your appointment.

We know we are not perfect and there is always room for improvement. We have a very dedicated group of employees that look forward to providing exceptional service to all of our visiting guests. We look forward to constructive comments as they allow us to identify areas that we need to address and improve the consistency of our service. We are sorry we failed to meet your expectations.

Sincerely,

Dexter Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holts Summit, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Returned again this year for our 27th anniversary. Welcomed to another beautiful Grand Suite on the 6th floor with a great view- Thank you- Jennifer at the front desk. You are treated well from all the staff as this is a first class resort.Enjoyed the band "Cherry Pistols" who were performing the night we were there. Knew several band members that were musicians when my son was a band member.Loved sitting out on our balcony to relax and enjoy the sights. Thank you again for another special anniversary!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter W, General Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your 27th wedding anniversary. Thank you for choosing to celebrate it with us at the Camden on the Lake Resort.

Jenifer is our front office manager and has done a great job of developing her staff to perform in a friendly and efficient manor. We appreciate the work that Jenifer and all of our employees do in providing service to all of our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at the Camden on the Lake Resort. we appreciate your loyalty to us and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Dexter Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Service was top notch all the people were friendly, courteous, and professional. Food needs improved on. Great nightly shows beautiful view on lake. The marina had good security. Shopping was nice a little something for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cagrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter W, General Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Camden on the Lake Resort. We appreciate your patronage and are happy you enjoyed our spacious Condo style suites and the spectacular view of the lake from your suites walk out balcony.

We have a few very simple rules here, one is for the staff to have fun while at work and another is for the staff to treat each other with courtesy and respect. I am happy to hear that you found the employees to be friendly and efficient at their jobs.

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience at the Camden on the Lake Resort, we hope you have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dexter Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Visited Camden on the Lake in March, and just realized I failed to leave a review. It was definitely off season and not too many folks at the property. My room was spacious, clean and met every desire, including a full kitchen.
Ate at the local restaurant which is on the east side of the complex and the food was awesome! Way better than bar food and the chef had some real skills! Sadly, it seems a lot of lodging near water is neglected, as they know people will show up, just for a look at the lake or ocean. Camden on the Lake reverses that trend by providing a fairly priced, over the top hotel, that has great views and access to great food! Bravo!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the suite. Well worth every penny!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter W, General Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind endorsement of our resort. We appreciate you taking the time to write and share your experience at the Camden on the Lake.

In addition to our spacious condo style suites, which you so graciously described, we are fortunate to have a talented and dedicated group of employees who look forward to serving our guests. Unlike many of the water front properties, Camden on the Lake is open year round and is host to many groups that enjoy coming to the lake in the off season for meetings and conferences.

Thank you again for taking the time to share you experience. We hope you have an opportunity to return to the Camden on the Lake again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dexter Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you are staying at the lake and are wanting it all, this is the place! First off, the amenities make you feel like royalty. From the complete kitchenette, the amazing entertainment system, fire place, lovely bathroom with dual shower heads, jacuzzi tub, the worlds thickest bath robes, a tv in the bathroom and a 3rd tv in the bedroom. The curtains open with a flick of the switch. Ceiling fans in bedroom and living area, fold-out couch, a bed that just draws you in...........We love it! Walk out onto your private balcony with chairs and table, overlooking the cove where you can watch all the party action or simply the sun-rise or sun-set. You can have fun next door at Toads or go across the cove to Shady Gators. The pool downstairs with the swim up bar is also amazing. We will go back again, and again, and again.

Room Tip: Pay for the lake view - well worth it especially if there is a concert going on - you may not have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasChai2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter W, General Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the Camden on the Lake Resort. You have done a great job of describing our condo style suites and the amenities we provide with the suites. In addition to those amenities we are very fortunate to have a great group of employees dedicated to providing exceptional service o all of our visiting guests.

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at the Camden on the Lake Resort. We have a live performance by Foreigner coming up on August 30th a part of our Labor Day celebration. We hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dexter Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked this stay as a much needed overnight getaway with my daughter with the idea of spending time relaxing, reading, and lounging by the pool and walked away very disappointed especially after the reviews on tripadvisor. We had to move rooms twice. The first room was dirty with crackers on the floor, toothpaste in the sink, and something that looked like kool-aid on the comforter when we pulled it back. The second room we were moved to was next to a room with very loud music and laughing that could be heard through the walls and went on for a very long time before we requested being moved again, this time asking to be moved to a location away from others. The clerk then moved us to the second floor where we were placed directly across from the housekeeping / maintenance room. Unfortunately we did not realize this until we were woke up bright and early by the loud activity among the staff. We even placed a do not disturb sign on our door the night before.

This is definitely a party hotel not a family-friendly hotel. The bar across the marina had music playing loud enough that sitting out on the balcony to relax was not an option. The pool area had heavy rock and roll pumped in through the speakers and the pool water was very cloudy. The lounge chairs were covered with cobwebs when we went down in the morning. The cleanliness of this hotel leaves something to be greatly desired. Elevator mirrors are filthy, while glass doors and walls at entrance to the pool had sticky stuff on them. The walls needed painting and carpet needed cleaning. The only redeeming quality was that the suites are large. Overall this was a very disappointing stay and we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvdisney6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter W, General Manager at Camden on the Lake Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and inform us of your recent stay at the Camden on the Lake Resort. We take all comments vey seriously, both positive and negative and use your comments as a training tool to help improve service to our future guests.

Please accept my sincere apology for the lack of cleanliness you experienced during your stay. We pride ourselves on maintaining a very high level of cleanliness for all of our guests and we obviously fell below not only your, but our expectations as well. During the summer months we do have a reputation for being a place to party. We have live entertainment on our outdoor stage every Wednesday through Saturday night along with live entertainment on our indoor stage in the H. Toads Bar and Grill. I am sorry that our entertainment schedule prevented you from having a restful weekend. our entertainment program runs from Memorial Day through Labor Day, so the spring and fall months are a quieter time to visit.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments.

Sincerely,

Dexter Whitney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Ozark
14.5 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
7.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 12 in Lake Ozark
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Osage Village Inn
Osage Village Inn
#10 of 15 in Osage Beach
70 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 12 in Lake Ozark
1,064 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden on the Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden on the Lake Resort

Property: Camden on the Lake Resort
Address: 2359 Bittersweet Rd, Lake Ozark, MO 65049-7008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Lake Ozark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camden on the Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camden on the Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club at Toad Cove is the newest and most luxurious full-service Hotel to open at the Lake of the Ozarks in nearly a decade. The Resort is located adjacent to the famous H. Toad’s Entertainment Complex at the seven-mile marker of Lake of the Ozarks and covers over a quarter of a mile of shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Camden on the Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, And Yacht Club
Camden On The Lake Resort, Spa, & Yacht Club Hotel Lake Ozark
Hotel And Yacht Toadcove
Camden On The Lake Resort Lake Ozark, MO - Lake Of The Ozarks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing