We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeview plus charm!”
Review of The Duck - CLOSED

The Duck
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Great fine dining on the waterfront...The only fine dining restaurant on the water at the Lake of the Ozarks. Come by car or boat. See our website for our current menus.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lakeview plus charm!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Call for a reservation at this restaurant. Seating is limited. Guests arrive via car and boat. It is an upscale establishment which we found worth the price. We paid about $150 for a bottle of wine, an appetizer, and two entrees. This amount included a gratuity. Staff made this dinner enjoyable. Extra steps were taken to insure that we had a prime location for viewing the sunset. Unfortunately, it was a cloudy day/night and there was no sunset. We will, however, return on a more favorable evening. My entree was chicken with a reisling based sauce and my husband had the tilapia. We were both delighted. My only slight disappointment was the four jumbo shrimp served as an appetizer. I did not enjoy the fact that the shrimp shell was still on, beneath the coating. We've visited almost every Lake area restaurant and this one is one of the best. People who have trouble with steps should call to find out if there is handicapped parking (and there may be). Lots of steps from the parking lot and from the dock.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindap347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Overall Restaurant at the Lake.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Donna and Mark are always at the restaurant to ensure a great dining experience. Chef Phil is now the head chef. Every item on the menu is always very creative, delicious and beautifully presented. To top it off, it is the best fine dining restaurant with the best view on the Lake.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tootsie242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise Beach, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We go to the duck for special celebrations it is a bit more expensive than the regular restaurants but the food is great and the view overlooking the lake is really nice, staff very attentive

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valerie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun to get to by water, great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We keep our boat at about the 1/2 mile marker and it makes for a great trip up the lake with guests to the Duck for dinner. Catch the sunset and then cruise back to the marina. Now, that's life on the lake.

The food and service is probably in the top 5 on the lake. Some would say they are the best. Baxters and JB Hooks is right up there with them, but if you enjoy fine dining I suggest to keep the Duck on your list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TVSAM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeWineGuy, Owner at The Duck, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thanks for you vote of confidence. Along with other fine restaurants at the lake, we always try to provide a quality dining experience to visitors to our area as well as residents and second home owners. There is still some great boating and dining left; the fall colors are starting to emerge and the water is calm. If you’ve already put the boat away, we are still easy to get to by car.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great sunsets, large wine list, friendly staff.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We come by boat, usually on Friday evenings to catch the sunset. Outside tables are very desirable, so you should make a reservation if you want one on the weekend. The docks are well protected by the breakwater, (which wasn't the case many years ago). Food has always been great. We especially enjoy the smoked trout appetizer and the rack of lamb. Easy to recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChefJeffTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeWineGuy, Owner at The Duck, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Yes, it is hard to find a better sunset at the lake than from The Duck. Thanks for mentioning the breakwaters. We put those in in 2010. It was a large investment, but we knew it was the right thing to do in order to protect our dock and our guest’s boats. Now our visitors enjoy the calm waters in “Duck Harbor” while dining al fresco on our covered deck or in one of our indoor dining spaces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duck also viewed

Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing