We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In serious need of updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Club Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Litchfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“In serious need of updating”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

A friend booked this hotel for a girls weekend. Now that I have looked at the pictures posted by travelers from 2007 it concerns me that the bedding is the same that was in our room. While they had done some painting in the hallway, there is much still to be done. We stayed in a junior suite which has a small refrigerator and "kitchen" sink but no microwave. Strange. Room was large enough but lay out was odd. TV was located in the center of the room so couldn't really be seen well from bed or couch. We didn't go to either pool, but they appeared clean and I was impressed with the size of the indoor pool especially. My friends had an issue with the air conditioner in their room so were quickly moved to another room where the AC had recently been updated. We got fresh fruit and strawberries with the room when we arrived and the room service cart was still there the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryClubManager, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
I appreciate that you took time to comment on your visit to the Country Club Hotel. As you noted we are currently working on an improvement program that has started with fresh paint in the hallways and we will be moving into the hotel rooms through the winter as our occupancy will allow. We are currently researching options to reposition the televisions however we are limited by the wiring and cable connections that were installed when the hotel was built. I am particularly concerned by the room service cart that was left in the hallway over night. I appreciate you pointing this out as this is not our standard operating procedure. All carts are to be removed from the hallways on a regular basis.
Thank you again
Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    31
    25
    26
    48
See reviews for
32
44
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I did not book this hotel, my husband did but I might have not chosen it. After reading the other reviews I can see that they are working to make improvements. It seems like a hotel that has a lot of potential but just doesn't have the resources to spruce up. The room was fine but TV was not a flat screen and did not have good color. No internet or wireless that I could tell (guess I am used to business hotels). Maybe because it was so hot, the outdoor landscaping looked like it needed to be replaced--not fresh. Fence around the pool in serious need of repair but that appeared to be in process when we were there. Staff was great, needed some help with a couple things and they responded quickly. I did not see that you could get breakfast here, even though it was in the room service menu, did not seem that the restaurant (very small) offered it so we had to get breakfast each morning off property. For the price it was satisfactory I hope the property has an opportunity to get upgraded.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKDM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryClubManager, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at the Country Club Hotel. We value all our guest comments and use them as a tool to improve our operation. While it will take some time, we are in the process of doing upgrades to the hotel rooms as it relates to televisions (32’ flat screens), fresh coat of paint, bed linen package and improvements to the common areas. Regarding your concern with the wireless internet, I was a bit surprised as in early 2011 we did a complete internet system upgrade in the entire hotel with a state of the art “open mesh” system that consisted of increasing from 6 to 20 internet routers in the hotel. Also, from the period of May 1 through Labor Day weekend, our lobby restaurant (Rafferty’s) is open every day except Monday at 7:00 a.m. for breakfast and serves lunch until 2:00 p.m. and then opens again at 4:00 p.m. for happy hour, appetizers and dinner. As you indicated, we do also offer room service for all 3 meals. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Thank you again
Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

When we arrived, the hotel had just experience a power outage. They did not have our reservation in their system due to the power outage, but they were able to place us in a unit.
This is an older hotel that could use some upgrades. The hotel had a dirty feel to it.
The King Size Bed was really hard and uncomfortable to sleep on.
The AC unit stopped working around 2am, so between the hot room and the hard bed we did not get a very comfortable nights rest.
When we checked out and reported the AC unit stopped working in the middle of the night, the clerk did not appologize, but became very defensive and said, "Well we have maintenance on call 24/7.
Room Service took over an hour before we received out food.
We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmb2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountryClubManager, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
I would like to thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at the Country Club Hotel. First of all I would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations of service. While there are occasions when circumstances are totally out of our control such as the power outage, there is never an excuse for poor service. When it comes to “business as usual” the Country Club Hotel is usually recognized for providing very good service and cleanliness. I am particularly disturbed by the fact that you did not experience either of those on your recent visit. It is through travelers such as yourselves and with your reviews that we are able to identify areas where we need to improve.
Please feel free to contact me.
Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Ozark hotels

Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We came across this hotel on Groupon and decided to go there over July 4th. We have visited the Ozarks a few times so we were familiar with our surroundings and this hotel is hidden away from the lake but the drive in was pristine. The hotel as many of you have commented on is very out dated but clean. Check in was a little challenge the receptionist was busy. We brought our 4lb dog which is a $12 charge (cheaper than boarding her). Because we brought her with us we went from the 4th floor to the 1st floor so the dog can have better access to the outside. There's is a slight odor especially in the elevators. The room was spacious but run down. There was missing tiles near the floor, the outlet plate was broke, the ceiling in the bathroom had water damage and outside there were cigarette butts everywhere. These type of issues are not expensive to fix. Yes, the decor was out dated but the room was clean. The pull out sofa bed was so uncomfortable so you may want to opt for a cot. We took advantage of the massage which was good and the gym is so-so. There were lots of retirees there using the gym with thier personal trainers though. We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on the food. The outdoor pool is average but I agree with other comments on here updates are over due, staff are friendly and again the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
I appreciate your comments on your visit at the Country Club Hotel. If we hear from our guests we can then know what we are doing well and where we need to improve. We acknowledge that some upgrades are needed and some are already in motion. Since you were on the 1st floor I don’t know if you noticed the new paint on the other floors of the hotel. The 1st floor is being finished at this time. Once this process is completed we are moving into the individual hotel rooms with a comprehensive list of details that are being addressed such as the items you noted and provided photos of.
We at the Country Club do pride ourselves in always making an effort to provide outstanding customer service and as you noted, even though there is room for improvement, the facility is clean.
Thank you again for your comments.
Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerseyville IL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I purchased a groupon package to this hotel. I could tell from previous reviews it wasn't that great, but also not awful. It's kind of hard to put into words how this place feels. It just needs to be updated and refreshed and brightened. There is nothing really 'wrong' with it, it just feels old and worn. From the gold bathroom fixtures, to the dingy shag carpet, to the victorian-style paintings and bedspread from the 80s. It was at one point meant to look for elegant and formal and it has just been used way past its prime.

Our jr suite was very spacious and would be perfect for a family of 4-6. Lots of open room with a mini kitchen (sink, small fridge, coffee maker and counter) and a bathroom with two sinks. Plenty of closet space and cabinets to put clothes in or suitcases on. AC worked well.

The couch was not at all comfortable and had some stains on it. The bed was - for some reason - so hot to sleep on, even without any covers. Pillows were uncomfortable. I did not sleep well the first night at all. The cleanliness of the rooms was ok. It was clearly clean and fresh, vaccuumed, but we found some hairs on the floor and toilet in the bathroom and crumbs on the counter in the kitchen area. One of the towels was so worn that when I attempted to dry my back, it just ripped.

The hotel grounds and exterior are quite beautiful and well maintained. The buildings look like Italian villas with tile roofs. They do a great job with landscaping. But you start wondering when you see the outdoor pool in the shape of a big circle with a children's wading pool separate, but in the shape of a racquet handle. The indoor pool seemed nice and had easy entry places, but the duct tape holding together one of the 2nd story windows on one side of the pool that has a wall of glass just made feel that this place is strung together with duct and hanging on for its life by a string.

There was a weight room and all the right words to suggest a nice hotel (sauna, whirlpool, indoor and outdoor pools, tennis courts) but everything is so aged, crammed into tiny spaces and claustrophobic and just really worn. It's hard to enjoy. And nothing smells fresh or clean. It doesn't smell dirty - just not fresh.

Our package included a restaurant credit. Do yourself a favor and don't choose to eat here. The value and price of the food is no where near the price they charge and the food is mediocre at best. Frozen biscuits and margarine, gravy from a mix. The skillets had SO much cheese on them I had to scrape it off to even eat it. The hashbrowns were good and prepared well. The steak on the skillet did not taste good and had lots of gristle. We only ate here a 2nd morning because it was free.

Included in our package was a couple's massage at the spa. The two women who gave us the massage were very kind and friendly. But the dark and dingy room with the low ceiling that we had the massages in smelled smokey and dank. Not at all comfortable. And the oils/lotions used for the massage did not have any smell, so there was nothing to freshen up this tired little room. It was not zen at all. The fake plants and really dark carpet and paint just felt claustrophobic.

If you can afford to stay somewhere else, you should. This is on par with the typical economy chain hotels (Super 8, Comfort Inns), but it is pretending to be something it no longer is.

Room Tip: The junior suites and very large and great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tink715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
I really appreciate you taking your valuable time to comment on your recent stay at the Country Club Hotel. We are always interested in knowing how our guests feel about our facility as we use your comments as a gauge of our operation. The current ownership and management staff of the Country Club is in the process formulating a comprehensive plan for making improvements. There has been some gradual improvements made over the past couple of years and more are yet to come. When the hotel was added in 1998 the Mediterranean décor was meant to reflect an elegance that did not exist in the Lake of the Ozarks area. While we do not anticipate changing that theme we are aware some upgrades are in order.

With the hotel sitting in the middle of a condominium developed as a tennis resort originally with a total of 12 tennis courts 3 of which are clay courts which are the only clay courts in central Missouri. The outdoor pool was built in a configuration that fit the theme of the rest of the property. The indoor pool as you indicated does have a glass wall that does need some attention as one of the windows was broken by vandals and considering the size it takes a while for replacement.
I apologize you did not find your meal in the restaurant up to your expectations. We have designed a menu that we have tried have to make affordable to our broad range of clientele. All menu items are geared toward what previous guests have indicated they would enjoy. We work with a limited number of purveyors in an effort to maintain a good quality at an affordable price.

Again, I do appreciate you letting us know of your experience and am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marthasville, Missouri
Level Contributor
220 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

It is in a great location. The bldg and room we stayed in was in need of maintainance ( Rm #2021 ). The carpets are stained, the pool area has the railing leaning over and being braced to stay up. The staff is very friendly and always asking how you stay is?. We still had an awsome time and would stay there again

Room Tip: You will have to walk to get to and from your room. The parking area is a ways away
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VernonR187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Country Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at the Country Club Hotel. We acknowledge there are repairs in order for the facility. It is currently work in progress both inside the building as well as outside. The railing around the pool you referred to is actually being rebuilt and that is why it was being braced up, the posts had not yet been set in cement.
I don’t know if you happened to notice but we are in the process of a major paint job inside the facility.
I apologize that we were not able to have the entire project complete before your stay but at times even with the best intent a schedule for a project of this scope does not always fall in line with the original plan.
We are very happy you did enjoy your stay and hope you will return again.
Thank you again
Ron Schlicht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Ozark
15.5 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
12.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Lake of the Ozarks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
#5 of 15 in Osage Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
6.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
1.1 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Club Hotel & Spa

Property: Country Club Hotel & Spa
Address: 301 Carol Rd, PO Box 1599, Lake Ozark, MO 65049-9110
Region: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Lake Ozark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Club Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large rooms, onsite Spa and Restaurant, indoor & outdoor pools, and gorgeous scenic views. Just minutes from several state parks, beaches and local attractions. We are the ideal venue for your Lake of the Ozarks business meeting, wedding, banquet or special event. Our skilled staff of professional event planners will make it an event to remember! We can host small groups or groups as large as 1,000! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Club Hotel Lake Ozark
Country Club Hotel And Spa
Country Hotel Lake Ozark
Country Club Hotel & Spa Lake Ozark, MO - Lake Of The Ozarks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing