We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, Outdated, Unkept”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Club Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old, Outdated, Unkept”
Reviewed 11 August 2008

This hotel is like a relic from the 1980's. It was probaly very chic at one time but now it is just outdated and old. The grounds are very unkept - looked as if they hadn't mowed is a couple of weeks. Grass looked dead is some places. This is a grand complex with so much potential but when we drove up it looked as if it had been abandoned. Smelled of cigarette smoke - as soon as you entered the hotel and throughout the hotel. The room itself was huge - lots of room. The furniture was nice, it seemed as if the room was remodeled recently. But again, it seemed very 1980's. There was a small television in the bathroom as well as a phone, the push button wall kind - hadn't seen that is a while. But then I opened a closet and there were fabulous terryclothe robs... I think if the property just updated the obvious things, new paint, nice grounds, it would be much more apealing.

  • Liked — The size of the rooms, the value.
  • Disliked — The property was very outdated and seemed abandoned.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    31
    25
    26
    48
See reviews for
32
44
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
st'louis
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

All was first class, We were upgraded to a suite witha marvelous view on the top floor. A complete spa with hot tub , sauna and massages if you want one. A large olympic indoor pool and olympic outdoor pool. Great facilities . Fine restaurant . Most relaxing four day holiday imaginable. We loved it.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank patgeo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia MO
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2008

I spent the weekend there and I found the hotel very disappointing to say the least. When we chacked in I asked what events they had that weekend. The clerk only mentioned the Missouri Bar was there. In fact, the hotel was hosting CAGE FIGHTING on saturday night. This meant that all of the "benefits" of the hotel CLOSED early to accomidate the fights. This also meant that the parking was full, which left no room for guest of the hotel.

I found the room to be very plain and ran down with the exception of nice dressers. We found hair in the bathtub. In addition, there was broken screen doors that lead out to the balcony. The ironing boards in the room were the type you used in college (tabletop) The website represents "hot tubs" but they were no co-ed and located in the lockerrooms for each gender. The spa was great, but the massage room is right next to the elevator mechanical room.

Overall, for a exclusive resort it did not pass the test. At best, it could be compared to a two-star hotel with a four-star price. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone hoping to have a romantic weekend at the lake.

  • Liked — The local scene
  • Disliked — Almost everything
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Ozark hotels

Fulton, MO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Lets just say when we arrived at The Lodge of The Four Seasons it was uninhabitable, outdated and dirty. So we got a refund and checked into the Country Club. Beautiful and quiet it was exactly the place to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversay. We had a beautiful stay and a wonderful breakfast the next morning. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet getaway.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Not on the water
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmnumber3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2007

While most people probably visit the lake area for leisure, I was there to attend a conference. Everyone in my group was under the impression that we had rooms booked at the Lodge of Four Seasons; however, when we arrived we found that was not the case. Apparently due to some mix up with the point of contact in our office, those reservations were not finalized and there were not enough rooms left at the Lodge to accommodate all of us. The Lodge was helpful enough to recommend Country Club Hotel & Spa and check to make sure they had rooms available. We packed up and drove to the new location, and I was immediately impressed by the grounds upon entry. The hotel itself was fantastic, although somewhat quiet. I guess either not many people know about it, or they don't choose to stay there because it isn't on the water. The hallways were extremely wide and well decorated, and the rooms are huge. Some people may find them dated because of the style in which they are decorated, but I found the rooms to be some of the most modern and updated of any place at the Lake. They included a huge, comfortable bed, private balconies, sofas and chairs in a sitting area, a bar area with mini fridge, and even a TV in the bathroom. The only negative this hotel has going for it is location. If you want to be where you'll have a view of the Lake and quick access to the water, then this isn't the place. However, if you're looking for a quiet stay in spacious and luxurious surroundings, then Country Club cannot be beat.

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2006

Let me start off by saying I am a travel agent and I know what to expect from hotels. I stayed at the The Country Club Hotel about two months ago and I felt since I was in the travel business I should let people where not to spend their money. When you go to the Lake you would like to have a view of the water, these rooms have no view except of some woods. There are no amenities to offer except some pools (the indoor pool was closed) and some tennis courts. They have a restaurant that plays dixieland music, but this restaurant feels like eating in a nursing home (the clientele was much older). This is probably since dixieland has a very small audience. The inside of the room was okay, but it needed some work. It was not very busy when I was there probably because they do not offer a lot for $150 per night. Their tennis courts are in bad shape and they do have indoor tennis courts, but you can't seem to use them because they were holding a wedding on them. I can't image that holding such events are good for these courts. It is said that when you go to a resort, the few amenities they have are out of use. We went to another resort to partake in their amenities and we will probably stay there next time. Stay away!!!

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skies4less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2006

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights from August 31. We were supposed to stay 5 nights but we were bored and not impressed. The grounds are dated. The large pool is right by the parking lot. We went to sit out by the pool to read and were told we needed to move because they were setting up for a luncheon there. They told us that we could use one of the other pools on the property. They DIDNT tell us they were a quarte mile away! Later in the day we decided to go back to the main pool and relax. We were all set up and then 35 middle school kids showed up for a birthday party! Footballs were flying across the pool, kids were screaming, and running and jumping around. So we gave up and went inside.

ROOM ITSELF: We stayed in a King Suite. It had a GREAT king bed, large sofa, chair, PLUS breakfast bar and minifridge. THe bathroom even had a TV in it! The furniture was outdated but clean.

HOTEL: We walked around the hotel and found it to be in fair condition. IT was a bit worn.

GROUNDS: THe hotel is NOT on the lake. IT has very little character. No real views or beauty.

Overall, I would say if you just want to stay here to SLEEP at night. IT was fine. BUt overall I wouldn't come back.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbahorik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Ozark
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 13 in Lake Ozark
126 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
6.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Quail's Nest Inn & Suites
Quail's Nest Inn & Suites
#13 of 15 in Osage Beach
69 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 13 in Lake Ozark
1,053 reviews
3.4 mi away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 13 in Lake Ozark
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Club Hotel & Spa

Property: Country Club Hotel & Spa
Address: 301 Carol Rd, PO Box 1599, Lake Ozark, MO 65049-9110
Region: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Lake Ozark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Club Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It will reopen in late 2017. Large rooms, onsite Spa and Restaurant, indoor & outdoor pools, and gorgeous scenic views. Just minutes from several state parks, beaches and local attractions. We are the ideal venue for your Lake of the Ozarks business meeting, wedding, banquet or special event. Our skilled staff of professional event planners will make it an event to remember! We can host small groups or groups as large as 1,000! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Club Hotel Lake Ozark
Country Club Hotel And Spa
Country Hotel Lake Ozark
Country Club Hotel & Spa Lake Ozark, MO - Lake Of The Ozarks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing