We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service, bugs in rooms, manager Bob is unprofessional”
Review of Blue Top Inn

Blue Top Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lamar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Top Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lamar
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Horrible service, bugs in rooms, manager Bob is unprofessional”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had to stay here due to the other hotel booking up, the beds were comfortable and their towels were nice and clean.
Bob the manager didn't want to give you more than a few towels for the pool because he didn't have many (they didn't want you using the room towels) they were regular towels too, not like what you'd use for a beach or regular pool like you'd get at Walmart.
There was a lot of rain the day before and several of their rooms flooded so we were given a nicer room that had no issues.
We had rented 7 rooms for 3 nights because it was our reunion time of the year and the other hotel was full (now we are all aware why).
A family of 4 shared a room and were hassled for taking in a cot for the two kids to sleep in a one bed room with two adult parents. Then another family member went to use the plunger and a tile was stuck to it then beneath that were cockroaches that ran everywhere.
Also we had to take our very well behaved dog with us on this trip and were told there was a fee, that's fine, yet when we got there and due to their issues with the flooding because of how their parking lot is "not Mother Natures fault for rain in a days time, Bob told us since we had to change rooms to a nicer room it would be a $100 fee if our dog stepped foot into our room, good thing we had another room we paid for so my dog who doesn't make any messes and very well potty trained could sleep with another family member.
Their service totally sucks, because if no one is there at the front desk you need to go across the street, their front desk part was only available "if" the manager Bob was there (which he was in a back room most of the time) the lady that works there (blondish hair, few missing teeth and glasses) is out cleaning rooms with another older thin lady....but if you don't see them it's not easy getting service. Bob really needs to buck up and be a manager & make sure his customers are taken care of.
We were given Denny's complimentary breakfast cards but they expire by 10am the next morning (so make sure you get there and order your food beforehand)!!
Overall.....no we go not recommend....no we will not go back....no we will not refer anyone to that place!!!!
Worst experience ever!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notdifficult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    3
    1
    8
See reviews for
7
4
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great motel. Checked in at gas station across the street and fellow there was friendly and helpful Stayed in the Baseball Room. Baseball memorabilia on the walls, and an elephant made from towels, wearing sunglasses to greet us. Price was excellent ($65) for two queen beds. Everything clean and beds comfortable. Free Wi-Fi. Can't wait for free breakfast at Denny's in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank revshalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed the night just to get off of the road. Upon arrival, I checked in over at the Lamarti's gas station across the street (Some nights they run the reservations after 4 pm) and was very impressed with how the staff even there treats you. Taylor was very well mannered and helped me to get checked in efficiently and effortlessly. He then was not only working the front desk, but was also cleaning the rooms the day of departure. He was just as friendly as the night before and helped me check out just as easy as I checked in.
I stayed in one of the luxury rooms, which happen to be themed to local historians and attractions. I stayed in the Harry S. Truman room. The room was very clean and the hotel grounds were also clean and well kept. The room was very well equipped with 5 star towels and sheets. There was free Wi-fi, cable TV, a fridge, and a microwave. The bed was extremely comfortable. I will definitely be staying there again

I was kind of disappointed that the Blue Top Cafe is no longer in business. They closed down January 2011, but you do get a complimentary breakfast across the street at the Dennys. Was well worth the stay and the price of the room. Rates are $50 for an economy, $45.24 with a CDL, military, or AARP, and $75 for a luxury. I would've spent the same thing down the road at the Super 8 for an economy room. The pool wasn't up at the time of stay, but is a nice amenity. If you choose to stay somewhere else, well, you've made a definite mistake.

Room Tip: Luxury is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler3517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

At the Blue Top Inn you will find a flat screen TV fridge microwave and a comfortable bed. My room was clean and if you have a CDL you get a cheaper rate. The purchase of a room gets a free breakfast at Denny's across the street. There is also a truck stop and Walmart off the same exit. I will be back and I do recommend this hotel to friends and family. Hope this helps.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is my second stay at the Blue Top. I stayed in a regular room this trip. My room was clean and the area outside of my room was clean. The bed was comfortable. The A/C was quiet and worked very well. The room had a fridge, microwave and coffee. The bath had a counter and the larger bars of soap. Outside there were chairs and ashtrays for the smokers. I like being able to park at my door. The room comes with a complimentary breakfast. All for under $50. Military ID is good here. They have wi-fi. The folks at the office were very pleasant. Take the time to look the town over. Go see the square. Go to Harry's birthplace. Yes, I know, Wyatt Earp was here also. But when you take off with money from the town, they don't put up any plaques.

Room Tip: If you are on a motorcycle and want out of sun parking, take one of the smoking rooms. Also, althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at the Blue Top Inn on June 25th. We needed a place to stay while visiting our daughter, who lives in Lamar. We thought it would be a nice clean place to stay. Boy were we mistaken! There was mold in the shower. A bug smashed on the wall. Dirt on the rail to hold your clothes and it gets worse. The most disgusting part was turning down the first double bed to find pubic hair embedded in the sheets. I was ready to cry and pack up and move. We would have check out but the other hotel in town was booked up. We slept in the second double bed and it looked ok . Did not sleep very well. We tried to go complain at the office the next morning. It wasn't open yet. We would have complained the night before, but no one is on duty after 8pm. So needless to say, we recommend you not stay here. Thanks, Sheila

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
307 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

O happy day! Stayed here years ago and WOW the remodeling has made a dramatic difference. New life has been breathed into what used to be a dark & dreary "seen better days" motel. The rooms have been freshly repainted. Flat screen TV with built-in DVD player, free wifi with great signal strength, mini fridge & micro. We always seek out motels where you can park right in front of the room, which makes it sooooo easy to load & unload luggage vs trying to maneuver an unwieldy cart down a long carpeted hallway, or worse, up & down stairways. There was a vanity area separate from the bathroom/shower which ensured plenty of counter space. They provided a generous supply of fluffy towels, including a couple shaped into cute animals :-) The bed was comfortable with crisp white sheets and actual fitted bottom sheets rather than a tucked in flat sheet that comes undone in the middle of the night. Guests receive coupon for free 2-egg breakfast w/bacon, sausage or ham & coffee or small juice at Denny's across the street :-) Admittedly, there were a couple places on the ceiling that need some attention & the shower needs to be re-tiled/caulked, the tub re-surfaced & fixtures replaced. The workmanship was a little rough on the tile around the toilet, but the floor was clean, as was the sink, which drained very well. The owners have definitely invested in major improvements, and it shows. Parking lot was well lit and felt safe. Priced right, this was a real bargain. Love giving our hard earned money to owners who really care - would DEFINITELY stay here again !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamar
24.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Nevada
22.5 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Pittsburg
190 reviews
23.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Carthage
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Lamar
Super 8 Lamar
#1 of 2 in Lamar
503 reviews
24.0 mi away
Super 8 Carthage
Super 8 Carthage
#3 of 6 in Carthage
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Top Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Top Inn

Property: Blue Top Inn
Address: 65 SE 1st Ln, Lamar, MO 64759-9226
Region: United States > Missouri > Lamar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lamar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Blue Top Hotel Lamar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing