We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jem - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Jem
Cuisines: Italian, American
Restaurant details
Excelsior Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

This place has wonderful food, but the staff seems unorganized a bit and the food took a long time to make it to the table for six of us.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank keegans_mom61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Gem is now The Cork and Brew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

6 of US had a great dinner last night at the Cork and Brew. The pasta dishes were a big hit. My Kobe burger was very nice. The Salmon was very fresh and a nice portion. The bar and back patio area look like a place we could hang out if we were locals.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BHadorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

If you're looking for a "jem" of a place - this is it!! Great food, great drinks, great atmosphere, and great service! Rinse, lather, repeat!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scoobymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“atmosphere is awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Went on a friday night. There was live blues music, which was really good. Everyone was super friendly, the atmosphere was lovely. We ended up having several martinis for each of us. Tried nearly all of them. They were all very very good. The bikinitini was my favorite. They go for about 9 bucks a pop FYI. For appetizers we had the crab cakes (pretty decent, although I prefer them a bit crisper on the outside with more condiment) and the flatbread which came with a pesto, hummus, and a roasted red pepper marinara. (that was pretty decent too) for dinner we ordered two kinds of pizza. they were both very tasty, but my favorite was the hey-zeus. caramelized onions, clamata olives, and lots of delicious feta cheese. So tasty. For desert we had the lemon creme cake (was ok) and the carrot cake (good cake, but was still a bit frozen when we got it, kind of sloppy) our waitress was super nice and did very well even though they were pretty busy. Next time I will definitely venture out and try their pasta. Honestly I think the best things about this place is that 1) it is not a chain and 2) the atmosphere is so great. It is the perfect place to go for a few cocktails with friends, out even to unwind after work (they have a couple of really comfy couches). Also, I have heard that they have lunch specials. If I worked close, I would probably frequent the Jem.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOVED IT !!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Ok, here goes....we loved this place. Very quaint and dimly lit atmosphere, perfect to relax and chat with your spouse.Located on the historic square in Liberty. The drinks were great, my Jim and Coke was perfect, my wife's wine also.

The appetizer of stuffed mushrroms disappeared instantly and we wished we had more. The salad was unique and fresh. The dinner we had was one of their flat bread margherita pizza's, and was absolutely tasty!!

We were greeted by the owner and the general manager...very nice and personable.

Lots of finer foods on menu to try, so we are heading back, very soon!! LOVED IT

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jlam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jem also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing