We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best attraction so far in Kansas City area”

Liberty Jail Historic Site
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Liberty
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best attraction so far in Kansas City area”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Liberty is a pretty little town and visiting this historic jail was nice. I learned more and felt more than anywhere else I've been on the Kansas City visit. The elderly couple tour guide had lots to say...you could tell they were sincere in the importance of the jail and sacrifice shown there. I'm always amazed at what people will go thru to serve The Lord. Worth the drive out of the city.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank friendoftoodleloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    11
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Level Contributor
310 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“A must see historic site!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was our family's favorite stop in Liberty, MO. There are tour guides ready to tell you all about this jail and the significance it has to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints & its members. You can walk around and read about the jail or take a tour. It's an inspiring tour and shows how the human spirit is refined in the face of adversity.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bluelagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
401 reviews
238 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Joseph Smith Jail”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was very well done and you learned what jail conditions were like at the time, as well as the beliefs of Joseph Smith/LDS. Even though it is a LDS site with Mormon tourguides, they aren't pushy about their beliefs. This is a very sacred place to them, such as Salt Lake City.... If LDS/Mormon/religious puts you off, then wouldn't recommend it. It is a historic site for many reasons and the guides weren't pushy about the religion, stuck to history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RitaBrandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
346 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Unknown history”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

On a recent trip to Liberty MO, we decided to make the Liberty Historic Jail part of our day. What a lesson in Missouri history we did not know. The jail museum is part of the LDS. The facility is very nice. It is clean and bright. The staff was very pleasant. The tour started with a sister missionary giving a presentation about the jail. She talked about why it was important to them. We learned about the Prophet Joseph Smith and how/why the Latter Day Saints came to Missouri. We also learned of their hardships encountered with other Missourians. The jail itself, although reconstructed, is very authentic. We learned how Joseph Smith while being held in jail made it a positive experience. We saw and read some of his writings while on the tour. I was exposed to other sites in the area that I want to research and visit. I could tell more but that will take away from your tour and visit. Just really glad we made it part of our day.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
“Well worth the visit.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The sister missionaries did an excellent job at re-creating the prophet Joseph's time here in the prison-temple. The reconstructed jail looks taken out of time. Absolutely wonderful and spiritually inspiring.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jarrett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liberty Jail Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Liberty Jail Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing