We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The magic of the Ozarks!”
Review of Mansfield Woods

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mansfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mansfield Woods
California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The magic of the Ozarks!”
Reviewed 8 July 2010

This was a terrific place to stay. My husband and I spent one night here (because I was on a Laura Ingalls Wilder historic home tour) at the Mansfield Woods. There are 5 cabins all overlooking a pond filled with fish, and croaking with friendly frogs. The place was small, but spotless, and the beds were comfortable (we got two twin beds). There is no oven or stove, but there is a microwave, sink and cabinets and an outdoor barbecue. We were going to explore the region and ended up relaxing on our balcony, barbecuing a nice meal, and listening to the frogs and (best of all to us Californians) watching the fireflies. It was magical.

It is tricky to find, and I hope that the owners put a sign up on the road so it is easier, and make it more likely to have drop-ins. The owners are friendly, and anxious to make your stay a pleasant one. They are ready to suggest activities and places to visit if you need the help. We would gladly do this again, and can see this as a likely place for a large group-- renting out all the cabins and just taking the place over.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueBirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Immaculate and well equiped cabin in the woods. We were amazed at the huge number of attractions within a short distance from these beautiful green hills. Our hosts Kate and Barb were nothing short of wonderful. We're coming back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrggmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We choose to stay here because of the proximity to Laura Wilders home. The place sits in an wooded area that is back from the main road. There are five cabins (if my memory serves correct) with one of the cabins being worked on. Our cabin contained a double bed, fold out bed for the kids, fridge, microwave, AC and a BBQ grill (I would have brought some steaks if I had known). The raised deck outside was perfect for sitting enjoying a beer, or coffee, or tea, or just sitting and enjoying the quiet.

There is a small pond on the property that we fished and the kids enjoyed catching eager bluegills. I enjoyed it myself as well. The peace and quiet of the place was a nice change from all the driving we did.

Kate, the property owner, was a great person and stopped to chat with us for awhile. She was helpful and knowledgeable about the area and gave us tips on what there was. I have no problems with staying here again in the future.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Escopeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We selected the Mansfield Woods because of their proximity to the Laura Ingalls Wilder House. They are basically across the road, though it is more convenient to drive.

We had a bit of trouble finding the cabins (the office doesn't have a sign that says "office" as it is also the owners residence). But once we found the office and one of the owners, Kate, who was cleaning one of the cabins, check-in went smoothly. The cabins sit on the site of an old Renaissance Faire and that in itself is sort of interesting as there are old props around the property.

The cabins themselves are sort of one room consisting of a double bed and a fold-out couch (suitable for children), air conditioning, refrigerator and microwave as well as some basic dishes and amenities like linens and dish soap. There is also a barbecue at each cabin with charcoal and they will lend you fishing poles and sell you worms at their cost to fish in their private pond. You can hike into the woods but we didn't feel we had the proper clothes and shoes this trip. We plan to bring long pants and boots and do some exploring in the woods next trip. For our city kids it was akin to camping. The cabins are not quite rustic but not quite lodge. There is no TV and no phone, though our cell phone (Verizon) worked.

The cabin was spotless and very quiet. Water pressure was a little weak in the shower but that is never an issue for me. There was no fee for our dog to stay with us.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dragonmom I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

My daughter and I recently returned from a trip to Mansfield to see Laura Ingalls Wilders house. The only problem with our trip is that it was too short!
There are few overnight accommodations in Mansfield and we were cautiously optimistic to find some rental cabins just down the road from Lauras home. The cabins, Mansfield Woods, turned out to be wonderful, and a peaceful, relaxing place to stay after a long day on the road. Clean, inviting, comfortable, perfect size for 2 adults or a family of 2 adults and 2 children. The hosts were welcoming, helpful and knowledgable about the area. If in the area, do not hesitate to stay here. They do have a website, Mansfieldwoods.net

Helpful?
4 Thank bettierubble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mansfield
10.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Seymour
12.3 mi away
Super 8 Ava
Super 8 Ava
#1 of 1 in Ava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
24.9 mi away
Dickey House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Foxtrot Inn
The Foxtrot Inn
#2 of 3 in Ava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mansfield Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansfield Woods

Property: Mansfield Woods
Address: 2991 Highway "A", Mansfield, MO
Region: United States > Missouri > Mansfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mansfield
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing