We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colosseum Luxury Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Century City
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

From the time I made the reservation to the time I received the 'thank you for choosing us' email after I had left, I experienced nothing but the utmost professionalism, friendliness and efficiency. The suit was fabulous and the view of Table Mountain through the expansive glass windows was magnificent. I ordered room service and there was a good selection of tasty food and beverages to choose from that arrived in record time. With Century City a mere stroll away, there was every convenience one could wish for in close proximity. Will certainly be back to explore the restaurant and the on site spa treatments. I can certainly recommend that you give this hotel a try.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelColosseum, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear Glenda J

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor.

We truly value your support and your feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Colosseum in the near future.

Stuart Twine
General Manager
Protea Hotel Colosseum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    126
    38
    6
    5
See reviews for
75
82
18
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

If you are looking for a hotel with a good price and excellent service with an access to a shopping center then this is it. The waterfront is only 10min drive. parking is free. The things i only didn't like is the breakfast as it is very limited and everyday was the same.

Room Tip: Executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hussam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namakkal, India
Level Contributor
137 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The room was just great will lovely Glass windows where you can see the grandeur of the mall. Just stayed for a day and loved the hotel. They were so nice to pack me breakfast for an early morning flight back to Joburg. I will definitely stay in this hotel when I visit Cape Town next. Dont miss!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nataraj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Very clean, modern feel to this hotel. Interior done in a lounge/club style. Friendly staff and good location. Stayed in a family-room. Spacious and sleek. View was towards the mall, but the rooms facing Table Mountain have a great view. Breakfast was good in a lovely designed restaurant. Would recommend this hotel to business travellers, a young group of friends or modern couples. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carelbotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Difficult to add anything - from the time I drive into the parking garage - where I am met by a friendly porter, who carries my luggage for me, to the sherry/juice offered, friendly smiling faces - spotless room.
I suggest you request a non smoking room - if that's what you want - with a view of Table mountain.
There is nothing like relaxing in the awesome oval bath - overlooking the mountain - just recharges your energy - but is also mosty relaxing.
Breakfasts are excellent, fresh and with a great variety of healthy foods avaiable.

I have got quite acquainted with 'my goldfish' - who I believe misses me when I'm not there. (My personal letter tells me so) I really like this personal touch, when I'm so far from home, on my own.
Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want - e.g. room with a view of Table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shezzie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I stay in many hotels around the world, including around South Africa. You would not find a nore welcoming experience than staying here. All the staff from the front desk through restaurant to chamber maids, were the most helpful, friendly team I have come across. I had a suite on the 5th floor which gave me views that were absolutely awesome. You want for absolutely nothing in this room, a home from home, just a far superior bed and bedding! I am yet to ask where they get their pillows from - I've just got to have at least one for home. To all the staff, this includes the breakfast grill lady :-) Thank You - I was so travel weary by the time I got to your hotel, I'd had enough - but you all made the difference - I am truly pleased I booked with your hotel. I wish I'd had enough time for a massage too.

Room Tip: 4th & 5th Floor - The Best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimRehbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

The Protea Colosseum is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. For many reasons - the hotel is clean, neat, modern, spacious etc. The rooms are so nicely done up gorgeous decor. The service is excellent too. Front desk staff super friendly.

Such a great hotel, I am super impressed with it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tertiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Century City
0.1 mi away
Cape Town Marriott Hotel Crystal Towers
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
1.4 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Island Club Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Century City Hotel
Century City Hotel
#3 of 4 in Century City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colosseum Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colosseum Luxury Hotel

Property: Colosseum Luxury Hotel
Address: Corner of Century Way and Century Boulevard, Century City 7441, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Colosseum)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Century City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Century City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colosseum Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colosseum Luxury Hotel, Cape Town's finest urban luxury hotel, occupies a prime position in Century City, just ten minutes from the city center, the world famous V&A Waterfront and 15km from the airport.Accommodation comprising of 68 spacious suites, with a choice of Deluxe, Executive Suites and Presidential Penthouses. All suites are fully air-conditioned, with two flat screen satellite LCD TVs, lounge and kitchenette with high quality appliances. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet connectivity is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colosseum Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing