We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Anniversary made special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colosseum Luxury Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Century City
Certificate of Excellence
Kraaifintein, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Our Anniversary made special”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Great welcome, friendly and helpful staff. One awesome stay. Hubby and I decided that we will be back the same time each year. It's peaceful, relaxing in the evenings and very central....Grant West is 10mins away and so is the V & A Waterfront. You have an awesome view of Table Mountain during the day and in the evening. The dinning area has a lovely setting...great food too. I recommend this hotel to any tourist who really wants to experience the beauty of our lovely Mother City, Cape Town.

Room Tip: Any room that has a view of Table Mountain is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColosseumLuxuryHotel, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Wendy.
Congratulations on your anniversary, we are delighted that you chose us to celebrate it with.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your Colosseum Hotel experience and for attaching your photographs. I can agree with you that we have the best location in Cape Town and we appreciate your comments on our product, services and our team.
Hope to see you back in the not too distant future.
Kindest Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    128
    40
    6
    5
See reviews for
78
83
19
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartbeespoort
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Every 3 months, we travel the whole of S.A, staying at all the main destinations whilst doing business.
Staying only at 4 star hotels and guest houses - The Colosseum was the most memorable 5 night stay and will be "our hotel of choice whist visiting the Cape"
Firstly the hotel was the cleanest ever, everything in the luxury suite worked, the service was impeccable. The "breakfasts included deal;"best spread ever!
Clearly the lounge is vacumed/steamed cleaned daily as the seating arrangement was never the same and found one of the plush chairs to be slightly damp!
Moved onto the only 4 star Hotel in Mossel Bay, will never return.
P.E after 5 years at staying at the 4 star beach Suite hotel, we are looking for a replacement, standards have dropped.
Durban - always stay at Zimbali!

Of our 2 week trip, lout of 4 Hotels, The Colosseum was the best value for money with the
highest levels of service - please keep it up!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor in an executive suite - first visit and will be back SOON!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColosseumLuxuryHotel, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Iris
Thank you for posting your comments, we truly appreciate it. We are extremely humbled by your kind words and we are delighted that your enjoyed your 5 day stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when planning your next trip to Cape Town.
Your feedback and support is much appreciated.
Kindest regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed in one of the business suites in early September 2013 for one night. The room was great! more than what I expected. The room had a view of Table Mountain and the Atlantic ocean. The breakfast was very good. It had many items to choose from.
Overall, it was a good experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColosseumLuxuryHotel, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Dan V

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we really appreciate it. We are truly humbled by your comments and I am glad that that we could exceed your expectations. We hope to see you back with us in the not too distant future and hopefully you will be able to spend some more time with us in the Mother City.

Kindest regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The room exceeded my expectations, and the service was excellent. The room is the best one I've had the pleasure of staying at thus far (and I've stayed at the Waldorf Astoria NYC before).
Beyond the quality of the executive suite, a major feature was the high speed internet. It wasn't the fastest that I have used at a hotel, but it was excellent and at least 10 times faster than the Waldorf Astoria NY hotel's internet (I still find it shocking how bandwidth speed is neglected by most hotels around the world).

All in all, the Colosseum is the best hotel in town for me, and I will definitely be recommending it to those in my network.

Room Tip: Considering the quality of the room & service, I was pleased with the value for money. Would'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmarishane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColosseumLuxuryHotel, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Lmarishane

Our industry leaders say “a GUEST will see more in an hour, than the host in a year”…
Wow, we are extremely humbled by your feedback!
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience when staying with us at the Colosseum Luxury Hotel.
Your feedback is the one true yardstick by which we can measure our facilities and services.
Thank you for your compliment on our hotel taem and our product, we are truly lucky to have such stars working alongside us.
One thing we can guarantee on your next reservation is a smile on check-in :-)
Please feel free to book directly with me for your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I was in Cape Town on business, having travel from the U.S. to South Aftica for the first time. A business associate had recommended the Colosseum, and now I know why. The rooms have all the big three, comfortable bed, great shower and free Wifi. But even more, they are lovely with modern yet comfortable furnishing.
The best thing about the hotel is the amazing staff. Everyone was exceptional. When I asked to be moved to a Non-Smoking room, they had someone at my door in 10 minutes and had me comfortably rearranged in the matter of minutes. The staff at Cin Cin made the evenings relaxing and the food was terrific. I used the car service in the mornings to get to the office. The driver was knowledgable and professional. There was never a delay.
The hotel is located in Century City, a great shopping local, close to resteraunts and of course, the addicting Canal Walk shopping center. I recommend this for anyone looking for a hassle free, comfortable stay.

Room Tip: If you want a view of TableTop, you should make sure to ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb0rahCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColosseumLuxuryHotel, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Deborah

Our industry leaders say “a GUEST will see more in an hour, than the host in a year”…
Wow, we are extremely humbled by your feedback!
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.
Your feedback is the one true yardstick by which we can measure our facilities and services.
Thank you for your compliment on our hotel team and our product, we are truly lucky to have such stars working alongside us.
One thing we can guarantee on your next reservation is a smile on check-in :-)

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Was amazed how the hotel staff treats guests from drivers, the reception to the room, warm welcome, not fake smiles but rather committment to please guests.

Clean, welcoming and confortable rooms and quick in room service you would think the kitchen or bar is next door. Small but quite enough restaurant with caring staff.

I can't wait to go back, i feel like i left a family in Cape Town.

Room Tip: One overlooking table mountain, at night its really beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivierjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColosseumLuxuryHotel, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Olivierjo

Wow, we are extremely humbled by your feedback!
We would like to thank you for taking the time tell us about your experience and service that you received, while staying with us at the Colosseum Luxury Hotel.
Your feedback is the one true yardstick by which we can measure our facilities and services.
Thank you for your compliment on our hotel team and our product, we are truly lucky to have such stars working alongside us.

Hope to see you back soon.

Kindest regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

the hotel wasn't as grand as i expected it...but i think thats just my personal taste....what i was thoroughly impressed was with their service...on booking i asked for something romantic on arrival and i was welcomed with banners and rose petals and drinks,it was really wonderfull!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yousuf2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColosseumLuxuryHotel, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Yousuf

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience while staying at the Colosseum Luxury Hotel. We are delighted that we were able to make your stay a memorable one and we appreciate your comments on our service and our team.
We truly value your support and hope to see you back again soon.

Kindest regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Century City
0.1 mi away
Cape Town Marriott Hotel Crystal Towers
1.3 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Island Club Hotel & Apartments
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
8.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colosseum Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colosseum Luxury Hotel

Property: Colosseum Luxury Hotel
Address: Corner of Century Way and Century Boulevard, Century City 7441, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Colosseum)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Century City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Century City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colosseum Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colosseum Luxury Hotel, Cape Town's finest urban luxury hotel, occupies a prime position in Century City, just ten minutes from the city center, the world famous V&A Waterfront and 15km from the airport.Accommodation comprising of 68 spacious suites, with a choice of Deluxe, Executive Suites and Presidential Penthouses. All suites are fully air-conditioned, with two flat screen satellite LCD TVs, lounge and kitchenette with high quality appliances. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet connectivity is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Colosseum Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing