We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Luxury Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colosseum Luxury Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Century City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our family had a family outing to Cape Town, for a short break, We stayed at the Colosseum Luxury Hotel for one night. Overall I was quite impressed, the prices were low and luxury is what you got.

The rooms were in suite form, with a small "lounge area" leading in to the bedroom. Our room had 2 televisions, a mini kitchen, a shower, and 2 landlines. They offer 24h room service that was quite convenient. The menu on the other hand was very limited and thus they had not much to offer. On arrival we checked in and a very friendly porter, Benjamin, accompanied us to our rooms.
Our parents room smelled like someone just had a very nice smoke inside of the room. Housekeeping assured us that this was a non-smoking room and then ventilated the room.

Our room's view overlooked a parking area, that was not very nice. The air-conditioning in the room was also a bit of a failure

The turnover service was just something that they did to get it over and done with,no sign of effort was put in to it and you would expect that from a 4-star hotel.

The next morning we had breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel. The buffet was really disappointing, with the food full of oil. The bacon (if I can call it that) was terrible and so the sausage.

When we checked out, my dad wanted to pay the bills for the room service. We were then informed that the printers are broken. So they can't print an invoice. After which my dad said he will not be paying if he can't get an invoice. They were unable to help and the front desk manager stood there not knowing what was going on.

So overall we had a quite good experience at this hotel, despite the negative. It is worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterPentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart T, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Peter Pentz

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, regarding your stay with us at the Colosseum Luxury Hotel. We truly value your support and feedback and we trust you had a safe journey back home.
Our industry leaders say “a GUEST will see more in an hour, than the host in a year”…
We continue to train, address and rectify our shortcomings that you have highlighted, as I can assure you that this is not the normal standard of service that we pride ourselves in.
We hope to see you back with us again soon, so we can show you true hospitality at its best.
Wishing you a wonderful weekend.
Regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel. We were welcomed with a room upgrade and had a awesome experience with a room overlooking Tafelberg and some lovely sea views. We were within walking distance from the Canal Walk shopping centre. Room service and breakfast was very good. The staff was friendly and very professional. Overall a very good experience. Not recommended for a holiday destination if you've got small kids but perfect for day or two!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Susan,

I hope you are well.

Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel and write your review - all feedback is discussed in our weekly meetings and our staff and chefs will be commended on their service and food.

We are extremely lucky to have such fantastic views of the coast as well as of Table Mountain.

I hope you enjoyed some retail therapy at Canal Walk (it is always a winner if the weather is not behaving).

Next time you are in town, be sure to try our Seafood Platter Special - it's delicious.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Colosseum Luxury Hotel.

Keep well and travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed at the hotel over Easter and picked it for its location and rating. Check in was good, room modern, large and clean and staff excellent. Also the secure parking and wifi were a Bonus. The only downside was that the room design is strange. Everything looks good but the use of space is not great. The rooms themselves are large but storage is poor. We used the lounge area as a clothing storage and dressing room. And having the bath in the bedroom is weird. All in all though it was a good stay and the staff were great.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Terry,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Our secure parking as well and WIFI is something that we feel all our guests should enjoy at no extra cost.

We are thrilled that you had a great experience with us albeit not having quite enough cupboard space.

Please note that our staff will be congratulated for their excellent service as our guests satisfaction is our number one priority - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Keep well, and travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I arrived late at night to a warm and efficient welcome from the reception staff. I stayed in an executive suite which was huge, and equipped to a high standard. The room would accommodate two adults and two children easily as there is a separate lounge area. The only thing I didn't like was that the bathroom is designed to be integral to the bedroom which felt a little strange, the bath and basin were in a corner of the room although the shower and toilet were separate. This is a minor complaint. The breakfast was great, good selection on the buffet and good service. I didn't have any other meals here. The hotel is well located for shopping as it is right next to Canal Walk (enormous shopping centre with plenty of restaurants) and is only a 15 minute drive into the centre of Cape Town (provided you travel outside of peak hours). Guests also have access to the nearby Virgin Active Health Club which is a world class gym with outstanding facilities. Overall I would rate it as an excellent four star hotel.
Proof that the hotel would go the extra mile was when I forgot to cancel a subsequent stay due to a death in the family and my money was refunded without hesitation.

Room Tip: Would recommend an Executive Suite for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupkateski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart T, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Batmum2

We would like to thank-you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your recent experience at our Hotel. Thank you for your compliment on our Hotel team and our product, we are truly lucky to have such stars working alongside us. We hope to see you back with us again soon.
Kindest regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Most enjoyable experience.It was my wife and 11 year old son from the 17th to the 21st of April 2014. We received a very warm welcome and the service from then on was excellent, the staff were always prepared to go that extra mile to help us.
Breakfast and dinner were also perfect, the room was spacious and very clean. We are already planning our next trip back to Cape Town and without any doubt we will be using the colosseum again. Highly, highly recommended from Rufus Dzingwa from East London (South Africa)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rufus A. D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi Rufus,

We are ecstatic that you had a memorable stay, and we will be sure to commend our staff on their excellent service.

Apart from the Colosseum Luxury Hotel meeting and exceeding your requirements, the weather was also fantastic!

The team will always go the extra mile for you and all our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Remember to tell your son that you will get your very own goldfish to keep you company during your stay after your 6th visit with us.

Keep well and travel safe,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our 2nd stay at this hotel. Very reasonably priced for what it offers. Location good if you have your own transport. Short walk to canal walk shopping centre and there's a coffee shop and woolworths food store just outside the hotel. Rooms are a good size - suite with a lovely small kitchenette and living/ sitting room with couch and it's own television. Breakfast was basic and although not a huge selection was more than adequate. Staff were polite and helpful. All in all a modern, comfortable and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbiedbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a concise review for the Colosseum Luxury Hotel.

It is fantastic to hear that our guests return to our hotel so often - you are almost midway to receive your own goldfish loyalty gift. (it will be waiting for you upon your sixth return [should yo wish to have it], and will be in your room every time you visit thereafter :) )

Our location is very well suited for those that wish to enjoy some retail therapy at Canal Walk shopping centre as well as it being a quick 10 minute drive to the CBD and V&A.

Our staff will be rewarded for their polite and helpful behaviour - it is super to hear that we made your stay more pleasant.

Have a fantastic day, and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 6nights stay at this hotel. A bit away from town but very close to Canal Walk mall, Ratanga Junction park and for our surprise.. A bus stop is just at the door step.
The breakfast was good and facilities r up to what we wanted.
Would love to stay there again.

Thank Shereen E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stuart T, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Shereen,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your six day stay with us and happy that the weather was on our side. We hope to see you back with us in the not too distant future.
Have a great week further.
Kindest Regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Century City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
Century City Hotel
#3 of 4 in Century City
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colosseum Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colosseum Luxury Hotel

Address: Corner of Century Way and Century Boulevard, Century City 7441, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Colosseum)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Century City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Century City
Price Range: £87 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colosseum Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colosseum Luxury Hotel, Cape Town's finest urban luxury hotel, occupies a prime position in Century City, just ten minutes from the city center, the world famous V&A Waterfront and 15km from the airport.Accommodation comprising of 68 spacious suites, with a choice of Deluxe, Executive Suites and Presidential Penthouses. All suites are fully air-conditioned, with two flat screen satellite LCD TVs, lounge and kitchenette with high quality appliances. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet connectivity is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Colosseum Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing