We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colosseum Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century City Hotel(Century City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
SUN1 Milnerton(Milnerton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel(Goodwood)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bliss Boutique Hotel(Bloubergstrand)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
232
152
44
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
152
44
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslounge areacape towncanal walkshower and toiletexcellent servicesmall kitchenettewoolworths food storeexecutive suitenon smoking roombusiness staythe hotel is cleansister hotelnight stayview of table mountainroom servicesame buildingratanga junction
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We found overall the hotel certainly fell in "luxury" category. The staff were friendly and most accommodating. We loved the room - a little lounge area, spacious rooms, interesting interior design and a little balcony. Situated next to the Canal Walk mall, and in the Century City complex, it was great to have easy walking access to all amenities. A large Virgin Active gym is accross the road. The a la carte restuarant was good, but the seafood special, although reasonably priced, was a little average. We were unaware of all facilities on offer (e.g. in house spa)

We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigboySomersetEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Good morning,

Thank you so much for the writing such a positive response.

We try our utmost to live up to our name as being a "luxury" hotel - we are elated that you found the rooms as well as our staff exceed your expectations.

Our rooms do have a modern "urban chic" design which utilizes the space very well.
I hope you took some time out to enjoy some retail therapy at Canal Walk.

We discuss all feedback in our managers meetings bi-weekly and will inform the chef regarding your seafood query.

Upon your next return we will make sure you have all our specials at your disposal (we are confident you would have thoroughly enjoyed our Thai Massage).

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Colosseum Luxury Hotel.

Keep well and travel safe,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We arrived at the hotel and were welcome by the very helpful team. Our entire stay was amazing and i welcomed the in-house spa. We loved the centrality of the hotel, as its a about 200m from the biggest mall in Africa and a short drive away from all the tourist attractions. The only downside - which was quite critical for me was the instability of the network in our penthouse. We virtually had no wifi throughout our stay and even when the receptionist brought a booster it still did not work. However we did enjoy our stay and we'd do visit again but just remember to make provision for your own internet!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi Anele,

I will make sure to inform the team of their great service - our guests are our number one priority, and we love hearing that our hospitality was "amazing".

Keep an eye on our facebook page as we will be offering spa treatment specials for guests to take advantage of.

I trust the shopping experience at Canal Walk was to your liking - one can get lost for hours perusing the shops.

I will look into the WIFI connectivity issue for you as this rarely happens. We will make sure you do not experience it again.

Thanks for writing your review Anele - we look forward to welcoming you back.

Keep well and travel safe,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I booked a penthouse 2 bedroom suite on our most recent family visit to the Mother City. The hotel is clean and modern and our suite had a small kitchen, fridge and microwave.

The rooms were spacious although I found the unusual planning of the main en suite odd, with separate toilet and shower encased by frosted glass and an isolated wash basin. Very modern but impractical.

The balcony offers stunning views of Table Mountain. The location is literally across Ratanga Junction and conveniently located within walking distance of Canal Walk shopping mall with a variety of restaurants on offer.

The Woolies foods downstairs and Vida e Cafe are a definite plus, and the Virgin active gym is across the road.

Breakfast was good although the service slow, be sure to order your coffee way in advance.
We made use of the adjacent Island club indoor pool, but were not informed of mandatory swimming caps so take these with if you plan to have a few laps.

If you need to be near the V and A or city centre, this may not be an ideal location although these are easy enough to get to within 10 minutes drive as the N1 is close by.

An enjoyable stay and value for money.

Room Tip: Penthouse suites for families, on the 5th floor with mountain views
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zaheergani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Colosseum Luxury Hotel - We are elated that you enjoyed your stay.

I couldn't agree with you more that we have truly spectacular views of Table Mountain and Table Bay. (On the opposite side of the hotel you will be greeted by views of the impressive Durbanville Hills, so one is never shy of some great scenery).

Our Penthouse Suites are equipped with all the amenities one needs, and we find that some of our guests may take a preliminary visit to get used to the modern bathroom layout.

Our location is great indeed (20 metres from a Woolworths and Vida, 10 mins from the V&A). Or you can pop over the Canal Walk for some retail therapy, & go with the kids to Rantanga Junction Theme Park.

I'll bring up the swimming cap notification in our next staff meeting - thanks for informing me.

Next time you visit Cape Town, you should also try going for a kayak on the canal (After your 6th stay with us you get your own goldfish which you can name and will provide you with further company in your room if you choose to have it.)

Once again, thank you for the review, we look forward to welcoming you back,

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our family had a family outing to Cape Town, for a short break, We stayed at the Colosseum Luxury Hotel for one night. Overall I was quite impressed, the prices were low and luxury is what you got.

The rooms were in suite form, with a small "lounge area" leading in to the bedroom. Our room had 2 televisions, a mini kitchen, a shower, and 2 landlines. They offer 24h room service that was quite convenient. The menu on the other hand was very limited and thus they had not much to offer. On arrival we checked in and a very friendly porter, Benjamin, accompanied us to our rooms.
Our parents room smelled like someone just had a very nice smoke inside of the room. Housekeeping assured us that this was a non-smoking room and then ventilated the room.

Our room's view overlooked a parking area, that was not very nice. The air-conditioning in the room was also a bit of a failure

The turnover service was just something that they did to get it over and done with,no sign of effort was put in to it and you would expect that from a 4-star hotel.

The next morning we had breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel. The buffet was really disappointing, with the food full of oil. The bacon (if I can call it that) was terrible and so the sausage.

When we checked out, my dad wanted to pay the bills for the room service. We were then informed that the printers are broken. So they can't print an invoice. After which my dad said he will not be paying if he can't get an invoice. They were unable to help and the front desk manager stood there not knowing what was going on.

So overall we had a quite good experience at this hotel, despite the negative. It is worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterPentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart T, General Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Peter Pentz

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, regarding your stay with us at the Colosseum Luxury Hotel. We truly value your support and feedback and we trust you had a safe journey back home.
Our industry leaders say “a GUEST will see more in an hour, than the host in a year”…
We continue to train, address and rectify our shortcomings that you have highlighted, as I can assure you that this is not the normal standard of service that we pride ourselves in.
We hope to see you back with us again soon, so we can show you true hospitality at its best.
Wishing you a wonderful weekend.
Regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel. We were welcomed with a room upgrade and had a awesome experience with a room overlooking Tafelberg and some lovely sea views. We were within walking distance from the Canal Walk shopping centre. Room service and breakfast was very good. The staff was friendly and very professional. Overall a very good experience. Not recommended for a holiday destination if you've got small kids but perfect for day or two!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Susan,

I hope you are well.

Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel and write your review - all feedback is discussed in our weekly meetings and our staff and chefs will be commended on their service and food.

We are extremely lucky to have such fantastic views of the coast as well as of Table Mountain.

I hope you enjoyed some retail therapy at Canal Walk (it is always a winner if the weather is not behaving).

Next time you are in town, be sure to try our Seafood Platter Special - it's delicious.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Colosseum Luxury Hotel.

Keep well and travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews