We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colosseum Luxury Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Century City
Certificate of Excellence
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Colosseum hotel was my next stop from Fancourt and my friend and I were immediately in love with the place. We walked to Canal walk shopping center and didn't have to worry about transportation. The only issue I had was with my debit card which was sorted out for me. The staff were also friendly and breakfast was always on point. We had originally booked to stay for 3 nights to continue to Joburg but who would want to leave such an amazing place? We cancelled the trip to joburg and extended our stay. We had an amazing view of Table Mountain from our room which was on the 4th Floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antwiwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi Antiwaa

We are elated that you fell in love with the Colosseum Luxury Hotel - It is definitely an affair to remember. (Being compared to one of the worlds most renown and prestigious resorts is a compliment in itself - thank you).

We are incredibly lucky with our positioning (2 mins walk from Canal Walk, 10 minute drive to Blouberg Beach, 12 minutes to Cape Town CBD). I assume you enjoyed some excellent retail therapy at Canal Walk.

Our views from our rooms are great, whether you have views of Table Mountain or of the majestic Durbanville Hills.

It is a true testament to our staff and management that you decided to extend your stay at our "amazing place"- we loved having you.

On a side note - We are glad our staff could assist with your faulty debit card.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Cape Town.

Keep well, and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    127
    39
    6
    5
See reviews for
77
82
18
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I checked yesterday at this Hotel and was shocked by its luxury, the rooms are among the best Hotel rooms I have been to Africa, given a thousand visits I will still come here, a very nice place either for business or pleasure plus the Restaurant Voucher I got really came in handy. Words cannot explain the finese of this Hotel, you need to visit to experience

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Calvin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi Calvin,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a spectacular review.

The hotel will always have it's finese, but what we feel sets us apart is the environment we try create. We feel one of the main differentiating factors is that our staff always go the extra mile to make our guests stay an experience to remember.

We try offer something unique to our guests, whether it be restaurant vouchers, discounted Thai Massages, or a simple complimentary cup of hot chocolate at the reception during the colder winter months.

Calvin it will always be a pleasure to welcome you back, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Keep well, and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is ideally located for any business person wanting to do business in the Canal Walk precinct. It is not ideal for tourists keen on being close to all of Cape Town's attractions including the V&A Waterfront. It is however a friendly hotel with caring reception staff. The room we had was rather strange with the toilet and shower cubicle separate however the bathtub is located in the bedroom and can be seen from the lounge area and worse of all is that the wash-hand basin is kind of hanging in a awkward position in in the bedroom area as well, which has no space for soap or hanging one's hand towel. Strange indeed. Sadly the air-conditioner in the room only functioned on hot so made for a very uncomfortable stay. Breakfast although served fresh and with many typically breakfast choices was sparse in that the bowls were almost empty in all instances giving one the impression that the hotel was trying to save on their food bill. Secure parking is offered as is free wi-fi internet in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a City facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelProCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Indeed, we have a large percentage of corporate guests - ideal for doing business in and around Century City, as well as us being a quick 10 minutes drive to the Cape Town CBD and V&A. Being located so close to Canal Walk shopping centre is just a bonus and one can have a full dose of retail therapy during their stay.

Our leisure guests also enjoy being so close to Blouburg Beach and for the quick drives up the West Coast.

Some of our guests do take a while to get used to some of our rooms modern design.

We aim to keep our buffet breakfast as well stocked as possible,and we apologise that this was not the case for your breakfast experience.

In relation to the aircon:
Could you please let us know what your room number was so we can investigate the faulty air conditioner?

Please send us you contact details to karen@singergroup.co.za.

We look forward to hearing from you, and we will be sure to commend our staff for enhancing your stay.

Keep well, and travel safe,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Good hotel, very friendly staff, great rooms, good service, good location all in all a very pleasant place to stay its only a pity that i was only there for 2 nights. one thing that needs improving is the WIFI speed, which feels like dial up!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntwerpPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Paul,

Thank you so much for the superb review - we will notify all the necessary departments and congratulate them for giving you a memorable and positive experience.

Our internet lines have been in the process of upgrading so you may have been subject to slower than usual speeds during your stay - this shouldn't be a problem when you next return.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and having you stay with us for more than two days.

Keep well and travel safe,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is located very close to Canal Walk Shopping Centre. It is a luxury hotel just off the national road and this makes it location perfect. Cape Town is 15 minutes away from the hotel. Rooms have all the mod cons with a lounge. Hotel offers a variety of room types. The hotel had a problem with their hot water supply whilst we were there. Effort was made by the management to rectify the problem. Staff at this hotel are extremely helpful and this makes the stay most enjoyable. This hotel is worth the visit. Canal Walk is a short walk from the hotel and offers shopping and a variety of restaurants. This hotel offers a lovely spa. My overall rating would be a 41/2.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfnut5472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are very fortunate to be in a location with amazing views as well as having access to one of South Africa's most renown shopping centres.

Milnerton Golf Course is also a 5 minute drive from our hotel - I hope you had time to fit in a round of golf, and enjoyed a soothing massage from our resident Thai masseuse.

We are glad our staff tried to make the your stay as enjoyable as possible and thank you for the your excellent rating.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I would highly recommend The Colosseum Luxury Hotel in Century City for anyone who is looking for a beautiful hotel with 5-star service and an altogether fantastic experience. It was my moms birthday earlier this year and I arranged a night at the hotel for her and I. We have stayed in hotels around the world and but nothing compares to the atmosphere of a top-class South African hotel.

The amazing housekeeping staff had customized the hotel room for her birthday and included an on-the-house dessert platter for her on arrival. The friendliness of the staff and the luxury of the suite brought my mom to tears. The continental breakfast superseded our expectations. Everything added to an all round wonderful experience!

Thank you to The Collosseum for making my mom's birthday the best by far!

Room Tip: Ask for a Deluxe Suite - these rooms give you an amazing view of Table Mountain :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Good morning from a chilly Cape Town,

Thank you for your extremely positive recommendation, and giving such a delightful review.

We offer 5-Star service with 4-Star rates, and are glad that we could create a good memory for you and your mom.

We try and stay a cut above and offer personalized service where ever we can.

Our guest reviews put smiles on our faces and we will notify our staff of their involvement with making your stay a memorable one.

Thank you for allowing us to help contribute to making your mom's birthday "the best by far".

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Keep well, and travel safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We took a weekend break at the Colosseum Hotel and was pleasantly surprised: the hotel room was very spacious and included a lounge area and kitchenette facilities including a fridge and microwave. Amazing views of Table Mountain and late summer sunsets in Cape Town. Excellent quality finishes and fittings, with the exception of the TV which has very poor reception and display; and the strange lampshade above the kitchen counter which was clearly designed by someone who has never spent time in a kitchen! The positioning of the bathroom sink in the bedroom area was not thought through either. I did not like the dark lighting in the passage area.

The breakfast was great - in typical South African style there is no compromise on quality or variety of food and drinks. The dinner we ordered through the room service menu was excellent! Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel has a beautiful reception and lounge area.

The hotel is perfectly located, easy walking distance to Canal Walk, the gym, a church, a host of restaurants and coffee shops. Access to the N1 is a few minutes away.
I won't mind another weekend get-away at this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mountain or sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi Chrissie,

We always try exceed expectations when it comes to quality of service from the staff as well as offer uselfull amenities and chic room finishes.

As soon as you enter the lobby our friendly staff hope to release the stress of the "outside world".

I will however notify our maintenance team and see what could have caused the TV reception issue - thank you for bringing this up.

Our chef and staff thrive of positive feedback from our guests and we are extremely happy that you thoroughly enjoyed the selection of food and drinks - pop in during the week to try our Seafood Special for Two for R99 on Wednesdays.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another getaway.

Keep well, and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Century City
0.1 mi away
Cape Town Marriott Hotel Crystal Towers
1.3 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Island Club Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colosseum Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colosseum Luxury Hotel

Property: Colosseum Luxury Hotel
Address: Corner of Century Way and Century Boulevard, Century City 7441, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Colosseum)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Century City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Century City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colosseum Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colosseum Luxury Hotel, Cape Town's finest urban luxury hotel, occupies a prime position in Century City, just ten minutes from the city center, the world famous V&A Waterfront and 15km from the airport.Accommodation comprising of 68 spacious suites, with a choice of Deluxe, Executive Suites and Presidential Penthouses. All suites are fully air-conditioned, with two flat screen satellite LCD TVs, lounge and kitchenette with high quality appliances. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet connectivity is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Colosseum Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing