We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short holiday stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Club Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Century City
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Short holiday stay”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I selected a deluxe (canal-facing) room for 3-nights. I got a large, clean, well appointed room with the tiniest tv! I wasn't there to watch tv so it wasn't a drawback. There's a large balcony also. Standard hotel breakfast, served in most probably the most interesting room I've eaten in. The hotel staff I dealt with were friendly and efficient. The room is located in Block B which is combined with private apartments therefore there are plenty of security doors. This was rather inconvenient when one's hands are full of shopping bags after a trip to the mall across the bridge.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 17 in block B. Sunny balcony, great views of the canal activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpk111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    52
    23
    16
    5
See reviews for
36
34
4
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This hotel seems to be more of a holiday apartment. It had all the self catering conveniences including a microwave, fridge, kitchen sink etc ... I requested a non smoking room and was put in a stinky smoking room. I was too tired to change despite the generally helpful check in person. The bed was HUGE and so was the room. This meant that the tv which is tiny and mounted to the wall opposite the bed is really too small and too far away to be of any value. The parking is confusing seeing as this hotel is surrounded by apartment blocks.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loup33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Hotel and location gr8. Always good to be in the cape overall. But rooms are shaped weird and for a 4star hotel they had old TV boxes. I travelled with my daughter who slept on the floor with a mattress only, which was not cool. But otherwise good stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nisa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The hotel is small and more like an inn than a hotel. The rooms are spacious, with light laminate floors, modern decor and very new inside. Clean and modern white bathrooms. Quite good value for money but it's near Century City and Canal Walk, so it's a bit more isolated -- it is not near the V & A Waterfront so bear in mind the location -- you need a car and transport. The floors are also loud and I was on the ground floor. I needed to close my windows as I could see cars on the street, and also at night all the guests would come in and I would hear every one talking and walking and the sound of their shoes clomping through the hallway. There was nothing in the refrigerator (you need to buy your own beverages) but the room was clean with coffee, tea and biscuits. Not my favourite place in Cape Town, but if you're on a budget, it's not too bad either for a short term stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor will have people tramping through the hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonWorldCupFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I stayed for 2 nights. The room was extremely clean, and well equiped with some useful catering stuff.

The staff is very friendly and very helpful.

Breakfast presents a variety of food, you can ask the chef for his delicious scrambled egg. View on the canal very relaxing when eating.

A bad point for the heat. My room was freezing cold and the AC didn't seem to help.

Would advice to have WiFi instead of ADSL.

Overall was very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hisham Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Overall i felt isolation and loneliness, with not many people or any facility that you can expect in a 4 star hotel. They made me go through several doors which are secured with card access..finally taking me to a room through an eerie corridor. Inside the room, the balcony was good one..with a view to the waterfront and the mall.The staff (just one lady) was courteous and helpful..Food is not available in the hotel..but you have a good mall..close to the hotel!

Room Tip: Nothing much..its a quiet hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsfun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Generously sized, well fitted, and clean rooms. Great breakfast spread (sensational bacon) and very friendly staff. Perfect location across from the shopping centre so plenty of luch and evening eating choices available as well as cinema for entertainment. Acess to well equipped gym and pool provided FOC. Located within secure gated compound

Glad I stayed here and thanks to those who made it enjoyable

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PerryOffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Century City
0.2 mi away
Colosseum Luxury Hotel
Colosseum Luxury Hotel
#1 of 4 in Century City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Town Marriott Hotel Crystal Towers
1.5 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Century City Hotel
Century City Hotel
#3 of 4 in Century City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
5.1 mi away
Aquarius Luxury Suites
Aquarius Luxury Suites
#1 of 6 in Bloubergstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Club Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Club Hotel & Apartments

Property: Island Club Hotel & Apartments
Address: Century Boulevard, Century City 7446, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Island Club)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Century City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Century City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Club Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Club Hotel & Apartments is an oasis for relaxation, outdoor activities, and shopping convenience. We have 23 spacious, semi self-catering rooms for you to choose from - 11 Deluxe Rooms, 9 Superior Deluxe Rooms and 3 Suites and One- and Three-bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Island Club Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing