We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel is just "ok". Extremely rude staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Riverport St. Louis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Riverport St. Louis
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hotel is just "ok". Extremely rude staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Recently stayed at the hotel July 11th, checking out of the 12th. The hotel itself was ok. There isn't a rating between poor and average but that's the proper rate for this property. The grounds were clean as well as the lobby. The rooms weren't bad however, despite having a non-smoking room, our's smelled like an ash tray (room 202). Our first experience with the rude staff was right after we checked in and proceeded to the elevators. It was a busy time and multiple people were waiting to get on. As the elevator door opened, a few people stepped on while our group of six discussed who would go up separate, we obviously knew we couldn't all fit. All of a sudden, we hear a loud voice barking at us that there is a maximum of 8 persons in the elevator at a time. What looked to be maintenance or some sort of hotel employee came running over and repeating at least 5 times about the occupancy maximum then jumped in front us and got on the elevator. Later on that evening, another party in our group called and requested a roll-away bed. When the hotel employee arrived to drop the bed off, he acted as if he was completely put out and irritated at our request. At that point, we realized we needed another to which he then slapped his hands to his side and in an extremely irritated tone, say "Well, you should have said that to begin with!" and stormed off. When he dropped off the second bed, which had blood on it (picture provided),he told us we needed to quiet down even though we were not being loud whatsoever.
It's extremely irritating to feel so unwelcome and treated so rude and disrespectfully despite actually paying for it. If it wasn't for the hotel being so close to the Verizon Amphitheater and providing the convenience of being able to walk back and forth, I would probably never return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ineedabreak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Riverport St. Louis, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Ineedabreak1,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We apologize for your dissatisfaction on some of our staff and services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    45
    27
    22
    9
See reviews for
32
36
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This Holiday Inn is in a really good location. It has a good breakfast selection and its employees keep the fresh food coming. Room was dated and had paint peeling on the ceiling. Signs say it is renovating...we'll see if they do it. Wife couldn't choose her type of room w her rewards points. So we got a handicap room. Don't use the handicap rooms!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mdk71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Riverport St. Louis, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mdk71,

Thank you for being one of our IHG Rewards Club Members and writing us feedback. I am delighted to know that our location worked for you and that you enjoyed our food selection. However, I am sorry for any inconvenience the room allocation and it's condition may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We often stay in a Holiday Inn Express because they are consistently clean, comfortable and hospitable . . . until this one. The carpet in our room was wet - not a little damp, but WET - so much so that the entire room was quite humid. A call to the front desk resulted in a "tough luck" kind of comment from the clerk, who sent a maintenance man. He confirmed the carpet was, indeed, very wet as a result of cleaning earlier in the day. No apologies or offers of another room from anyone. The excessive moisture made all the bedding damp and clammy - yuck. In addition, with long frayed edges on virtually every one, the bath linens are long past the replacement stage. These things + stained carpets in the public areas + broken ice and vending machines + a generally not-up-to-standard appearance = second thoughts about future stays at HI Express.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meghguyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Riverport St. Louis, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear TallahasseeLady ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelliston, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The staff and facility was classic Holiday Inn in the best sense. Everyone on the team was courteous and professional. The food was more than acceptable. Of course it was pre-prepped, and simple, but the staff went out of its way on presentation. Then there were the nice touches as several times there was a light supper. That was a pleasant surprise and enjoyable.

The front desk staff was knowledgeable and helpful at all times. The rooms were decently appointed and clean. Any glitches in guest services were promptly and fairly addressed. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to any business traveler. I am sure it would work equally well for families. The prices were also reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeTheHypnoCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

i was staying in this hotel for a three day period while receiving job orientation. The rooms were quite nice, very clean, nice breakfast buffet, friendly staff, nice happy hour hour devours were served, just nice all around

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madmax1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My family stayed here for three days. The breakfast are nice, better than average holiday inn express hotels. The staffs are friendly, and the room is quiet, so we all have good sleeps.

The only concern is that it is kind of dated, and the door lamp is not working.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Just G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
275 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week, since it was work, I didn't have a say in my hotel. The rooms were decent size but the furniture was old and out dated and the sheets had stains as did the walls. The bed wasn't bad as far as comfort goes but I'm sure it was old too. The staff was pretty friendly except for one of the van drivers, he acted like you were putting out by asking for a ride to the store. The breakfast was mediocre, I had frosted flakes everyday, hard to mess that up. I found out on the day that I checked out that you could request a fridge and microwave in your room, that would've been good to know when I checked in. They did have free Bud Light three days a week for an hour, that was good but didn't make up for anything. The pond out back is nice to walk around, and they have a Dave and Busters next door, other than that, there is nothing close. I will demand someplace different if I ever go back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank KH420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Riverport St. Louis, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Kyle H,

Thank you for staying and taking the time to review our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the breakfast served and failing to inform you about the fridge and microwave. I have shared your comments with our hotel management for review and make improvements where needed to avoid the same trouble from happening on your next stay.

Once again, thank you for staying and I hope you give us another chance to host you again on your next business trip.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryland Heights
5.4 mi away
Marriott St. Louis Airport
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza St Louis Airport
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites St. Louis-Riverport
Homewood Suites St. Louis-Riverp...
#11 of 17 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis Airport - Riverport
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis...
#10 of 17 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel
#13 of 17 in Maryland Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. L...
#1 of 17 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Riverport St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Riverport St. Louis

Property: Holiday Inn Express Riverport St. Louis
Address: 13735 Riverport Drive, Maryland Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Maryland Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Riverport St. Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Riverport is conveniently located near the intersection of I-70 & I270. We are next to Dave & Buster's, Harrah's Casino, Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre, and all of the businesses in the Maryland Heights/Earth City area. Free 24 hour shuttle to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Riverport St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Riverport St. Louis Hotel Maryland Heights
Holiday Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Riverport St. Louis Saint Louis/Maryland Heights, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing