We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In need of an update” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“In need of an update”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

These rooms aren't bad, and the beds are comfortable. There are most of the standard features, but they don't have microwaves, and they charge extra to bring you one. The hotel is showing signs of wear and tear. We had a broken hinge on the cabinet door where the mini-fridge is, and there are burn marks on the carpet, and worn fabric on the chairs. I understand the hotel is scheduled for a renovation next year, and it's not a moment too soon. The "Rodeo" tower is newer, and the rooms are more spacious than the "Sunset" tower (making for more sitting options and a larger bathroom.)

This is NOT a kid friendly hotel (no pool or game room, and no family dining options), and I'm often surprised when I see people bring kids there. The hotel has two very nice restaurants, but lacks a mid-priced "diner" or "bar and grill" outside the casino, and there are really no late-night food/drink options outside the casinos. Charlie Gitto's is a very good restaurant, though. I hope they don't lose that, like they did Kelly English's restaurant.

It is a convenient place to stay if you want to visit the casino, though, and it serves that purpose quite well. At least they stopped charging for internet (I hate that chintzy tactic) when Hollywood took over from Harrah's.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "Rodeo" tower side tend to be larger. This hotel does not have a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WSIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    132
    111
    75
    55
See reviews for
58
245
44
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here twice.
The first time was "OK", Although they completely messed up our reservations.
The second time was very poor.
They messed up the reservations again, and the reservations lady had the audacity to argue with me about the days I said we'd be staying.
I always make myself extremely clear, when I'm looking to spend money.
I absolutely HATE passive agressive behavior towards me.
I will not spend money at the hotel or casino ever. Period.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were driving through St Louis and decided at the last minute to stay at the Hollywood Hotel/Casino in St Louis. The room was very nice and beds very comfortable. The front desk was a little unorganized and short staffed which made check in/check out take longer than needed. To get to your room you must use your key card in the elevator. I am sure it is a security measure but when they don't work makes things much more difficult.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed a few hours in the casino before returning to our room and ordering room service. Our meals were good but nothing special. I asked for dinner rolls with our meals but they were not able to provide any kind of bread. Waitresses were absent on the casino floor which meant having to leave the slot machines to seek out beverages.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaclr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at Hollywood casino/hotel June 16th - June 20th. We made a reservation and had to move it back a day and that was seamless!! The check-in was very fast and efficient. Our room was a long way from the elevator so ask for a room close to the elevators unless you want a workout. The safe was a little bigger than what we have had in Vegas in our room. The room was average but was fine for our needs. The bed was very comfortable and had plenty of pillows. The one thing this hotel lacks is a pool. There is however a lake/park (creve core?) with a huge beach about a mile away. Turn right out of the Hollywood, go down about 2 lights to creve core road. the lake sits about 1/4 mile on the right side. They rent bikes paddle boards etc. Unfortunately we didn't find this until our last day.

We ate at the buffet and it was outstanding. Comparable or better than what we have experienced in Las Vegas. Plenty of choices of meats, deserts, and great service. when we visited it was $17.99 per person (dinner) and I felt you really get your money's worth. Maid service was excellent. They never beat on doors and want to clean your room if you have your do not disturb sign up. When you leave your room then they come clean it and they always greet you in the hallways, very polite. There is a pretzel shop and steak restaurant which we did not use.

The casino remodel is now finished. There are 2 entrances so once you figure out which entrance to use to get to the table games it seems much easier to navigate. There are table games with lower limits ($5) which suits my wife, while I play higher limits. There is good variety of table games. There was only 1 regular crap table open and 1 crapless table. the regular table was almost always full. Slot / video poker machines actually paid off jackpots. We played the 98%+ payouts and they did payout. The poker room has daily tournaments and if you sign up early you get extra chips. We have played at other Hollywood casinos and did not have the same ability to win as we did here. Overall we were very happy with our time here in both the hotel & casino. We will stay again if offered.

Room Tip: get a room near the elevators as it is a long trek to the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mc1060289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This has been a great spot for a change of scenery. Booked a room online for two days just to get away for a bit. Foyer, bathroom walls and flooring are marble. Granite tops on desk, night stands, entertainment center and bathroom vanity. CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN. And great service to top it off! What more can I say? I am pleased.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to Harrah's which is now Hollywood for the past 10 years.The hotel rooms used to be nice but our last 2 visits not.Carpet in rooms severely stained and worn out.Bathroom sink cracked.TV old and poor picture.Cigarette burn holes in curtains and bedspread.Remodel soon or loose more customers.Only breakfast at Aroma cafe all I can say is terrible hash browns taste like cardboard and eggs were terrible also.I can see why Caesars (Harrah's) sold this property off . Not Good.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1relax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryland Heights
19.2 mi away
River City Casino & Hotel
River City Casino & Hotel
#15 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Louis Westport Plaza
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. L...
#1 of 17 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Riverport St. Louis
Holiday Inn Express Riverport St...
#14 of 17 in Maryland Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites St. Louis-Riverport
Homewood Suites St. Louis-Riverp...
#11 of 17 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Louis - Westport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. L...
#3 of 17 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel

Property: Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel
Address: 777 Casino Center Drive, Maryland Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63043
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Maryland Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While you are here, we invite you to discover exciting gaming with non-stop entertainment and gourmet dining. Test your luck on our extensive selection of over 2,100 slot machines plus over 57 table games. We also have a number of dining options from fast, delicious burgers at Celebrity Grill to a more upscale experience at Final Cut Steakhouse. There is something to settle everyone at our seven dining venues. The excitement doesn't stop there! Don't forget about Boogie Nights. Dance the night away with the Ultimate 70s & 80s dance club open every Friday and Saturday from 9pm - 3am. Experience fun and excitement all under one roof. If there is anything we can to enhance your stay, please do not hesitate to call us at 1.855.STL.GAME. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrahs Hotel Maryland Heights
Harrah's Maryland Heights
Harrah's Saint Louis
Harrahs St Louis Casino Hotel
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis/Maryland Heights, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing