We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tintoela - A place we will never forget”
Review of Tintoela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tintoela
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tintoela - A place we will never forget”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My entire family was lucky enough to go to Norfolk for a family holiday, all 12 of us. We stayed in the homestead and one of the cottages. Tintoela was the best location for us. We had 6 children between us all and the grounds surrounding Tintoela were perfect for the children to run around and explore. Ages of the children ranged from 5-13years. The homestead was appointed with the best of everything down to even the knives in the kitchen, a great BBQ and fantastic verandah to eat out on most nights as the weather was perfect. There was nothing that was not thought of, a home away from home. We can't speak highly enough of Geoff, as he cared for our every need ( a lot of that being fresh homegrown fruit every day for our ever hungry bunch of kids) He was always happy, genuinely so, to make our stay a memorable one, which was achieved. We often find ourselves thinking of being back at Tintoela and lovely memories that we have of being there, it has touched our lives in many ways and will forever. Thank you again Geoff, you are a gem, and thank you Tintoela.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffTintoela, Manager at Tintoela, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your very positive feedback....I too fondly remember the squeals of delight from your children as every day they explored the property, climbing trees,fortifying the cubby house and playing cricket in the valley. Hopefully the regular supplies of fruit helped fuel their energy levels. It was a great pleasure to have played host to such a close knit family that squeezed so many different activities into one wonderful week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
32
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I was fortunate enough to win a trip to Norfolk Island and Tintoela was where we stayed. I took my best friend and we stayed in the two bedroom cottage. There was ample space for both of us not to kill each other and both bedrooms had bathrooms off them. There were also two other houses on the property, one larger house which housed 10 people comfortably and another 1 bedroom cottage, all spaced well apart from each other for privacy. Geoff who manages the property was very welcoming and was only too happy to answer any questions about the lsland. Recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing break or a group wishing to have a nice place to celebrate ones event in privacy.

Room Tip: Larger groups should book the main house. Two couples the 2 bedroom cottage Couples the 1 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffTintoela, Manager at Tintoela, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Congratulations again on your win and it was our pleasure to welcome you to Tintoela.The space and privacy at Tintoela always impresses and we are pleased that it again provided you with a great environment to enjoy your stay with us after your days spent exploring the wonders that Norfolk has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Wonderful place for a 40th, stunning location and really private, could not have wished for a better place to have 13 friends celebrated my partners 40th. We had the main house which is really well set up and beautifully appointed and the two bedroom cottage, more than enough room for everyone. The grounds are extensive and lush and every room pretty much has a view. Geoff who manages the property could not have been more helpful or relaxed, he really added to the experience.
I cannot recommend Norfolk enough as a holiday destination, this visit was my fourth and certainly won’t be my last, very warm and genuine people and breathe taking scenery, all at your doorstep.
We will be back to stay at Tintoela – great for friends, families and couples - the sweetheart of Norfolk!
Thank you Geoff!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffTintoela, Manager at Tintoela, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Your group was an absolute pleasure to host at Tintoela for the 40th birthday celebrations. We are pleased that the relaxing atmosphere and privacy that the property delivers contributed to the experience. Thank you for your great recommendation and I look forward to welcoming you and more of your friends back to Tintoela sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We enjoyed 2 weeks at Tintoela for the second time . First time was 10 years ago and the second in Sept 2013. We were looking for a place to relax , enjoy the local "island time" and generally get away from all means of communication like the internet and mobile phones. a perfect executive place to re charge the body and soul. Get to know when the locally grown fresh food is available for that quiet night at home and eat out at a different restaurant at lunch or dinner when it takes your fancy. Do not forget to ask Geoff which fruit trees are in season on the property and go and pick your own.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Syd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffTintoela, Manager at Tintoela, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Great to hear that your 2 weeks with us allowed you to relax and recharge your souls. We are always happy to share our fresh seasonal fruit with all of our guests.....another part of the Tintoela experience that we are pleased that you enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in Tintoela's Kushu Cottage for our honeymoon.The cottage and its location were perfect. We had privacy and a terrific view from living room and bedroom. The rooms are beautifully lined in Norfolk pine and the furnishings were tasteful and comfortable. The manager, Geoff, was friendly, attentive and courteous. A down to earth, decent guy who was happy to assist in anything that we needed. Private, quiet and containing a simply beautiful view. All in all a magnificent place to stay on an island that is more wonderful than imagination can tell. We would happily endorse Tintoela and recommend it to anyone that wishes their holiday to be perfect.

Room Tip: Three cottages available, one for a couple (honeymooners like us will love it), one for two couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Glenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffTintoela, Manager at Tintoela, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.It is always a real pleasure to welcome guests to Tintoela and especially our honeymooners , who all find the peaceful setting and private location so relaxing. The views are a real bonus and we hope will inspire you to return one day for that special anniversary !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We recently went to Norfolk Island for our Wedding and stayed at Tintoela. There was a group of us that had gone over for a week and we hired out all three houses at Tintoela, which was perfect for us and the rest of our group. We had privacy, if we wanted it but also the homestead was big enough if we wanted to have everyone together for larger meals. I recommend using Geoff and his expertise to help plan your wedding as his local knowledge makes your experience less stressful and he takes care of all the little things that make your day/week perfect. I would recommend Tintoela to anyone going to Norfolk Island and even if you are just hiring one of the cottages you will have privacy from the others the design and layout has been done really well over the whole complex. Thanks again to Tintoela and Geoff for a remarkable time on Norfolk Island.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple that book the Kushu Cottage, a small group Hilli cottage and a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cessnock, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I visited Tintoela Homestead on a recent holiday to Norfolk Island. Tintoela Homestead is the perfect getaway for a group of Couples or Families. The Homestead is very roomy and the views looking out to the ocean are magnificent. The spacious Kitchen and dining room allow for self catering whilst on your getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NARELLE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnt Pine
1.1 mi away
Paradise Hotel & Resort
Paradise Hotel & Resort
#1 of 5 in Norfolk Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Governor's Lodge Resort Hotel
1.0 mi away
South Pacific Resort Hotel
South Pacific Resort Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnt Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Castaway Norfolk Island
Castaway Norfolk Island
#1 of 2 in Burnt Pine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cascade Garden Apartments
Cascade Garden Apartments
#3 of 46 in Norfolk Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.2 mi away
Endeavour Lodge
Endeavour Lodge
#1 of 9 in Kingston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintoela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintoela

Property: Tintoela
Address: Harpers Road | PO Box 510, Burnt Pine, Norfolk Island 2899, Australia
Region: Australia > Norfolk Island > Burnt Pine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Burnt Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tintoela 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tintoela's beautiful island-style homestead and two cottages are Norfolk Island's premium luxury retreat. Situated on its own ridge in one of Norfolk's most scenic and serene valleys, each accommodation at Tintoela offers awe-inspiring views that lead the eye through lush subtropical flora out to an ocean of incredible depth and beauty. The accommodations have all been hand crafted by owner and master-builder Hunky Evans, with the utmost attention paid to creating a space of wonder, luxury and relaxation. The accommodations:Kushu Cottage, a spacious one bedroom, is a private paradise for up to 2 guests. Hilli Cottage, a light filled beach-house-cool delight, has two spacious bedrooms sleeping 4 comfortably but can accommodate up to 6. Hunky's Homestead, a six bedroom traditional island home with the sophistication and attention to detail of a world class luxury retreat, can comfortably accommodate up to 10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tintoela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintoela Norfolk Island, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing