We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cumberland Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2008

This resort turned out to be a wonderful surprise.
We were picked up by the manager who gave us a bit of a tour around the "city"!
Our cottage was roomy, clean and very private which is important to us.
The huge kingsize bed was very comfortable and the kitchen was modern and very big, so was the bathroom.
The managers were available whenever we needed them, very helpful friendly people with the personal touch.
The resort is within minutes walking distance to the shops and restaurants.
We absolutely recommend this place if you want a quiet private place to stay.
The Island is a beautiful piece of Paradise with friendly locals,
great places for picnics, an unbelievable swimming bay and a lot of history.
You will need at least a week to get a good impression.
A couple of happy Kiwis

Stayed: March 2008
3  Thank freedomfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 266 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2008

We had a great time at Cumberland Resort and Spa and would recommend this as one of Norfolk Island’s hidden gems! And what a great island, like a picture perfect postcard around every bend. Bring lots of digital camera memory - you will need it! We went on a round the world trip and stayed in some wonderful places especially in Scandinavia. I will get onto posting a review for this too one of these days. Also, get travel insurance before leaving home as the airport can get fogged in which is what happened to us, but we enjoyed the unexpected extended holiday!
But Norfolk Island was one of the trip’s highlights and what a surprise as we didn’t really know what to expect. Beautiful beaches nearby, fantastic history from the Mutiny of the Bounty (the descendants live here and speak their own language) and great shopping. Cumberland Resort is right in the heart of town and close to all the attractions which was very convenient, although they give you a free car to venture around the island. You will need a car to get to some places like Captain Cook lookout and the National Park. The Cumberland staff were incredibly friendly and helpful from the moment they welcomed us at the airport to waving us goodbye. This friendliness is true for all the islanders. You need to wave at everyone when you drive, as everyone waves to you. We enjoyed soaking in the heated pool at Cumberland after a few hours swimming in the reef at Emily Bay. What a great holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sunnyside2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2008

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cumberland Resort and Spa. One of the managers picked us up from the airport in the courtesy van and gave us a short tour of Burnt Pine on the way, and made us feel very welcome.
We were in the heated swim spa pool every evening and had it to ourselves! We were told there were no other heated pools on the island. The cottage was modern with all the latest facilities, and King bed, and a lovely spacious veranda. The gardens are well kept and full of paw-paw trees and avocados, which are provided free to all the guests in their help-yourself “bird cage”.
Also, there is an Italian restaurant right there, which serves the yummiest food, and has a nice lounge area for cocktails. This meant we did not need to drive to any restaurants as there are five restaurants within a 2 minute walk from the resort, as well as all the shops and cafes. So it was a great location from which to explore the island. Also, the beach is just a couple of minutes drive and Cumberland provided us with a free automatic air conditioned car for the week. Virtually everything at the resort was free except the laundry, which requires a token to operate.
The managers, staff and owners are extremely friendly and helpful, providing picnic sets, free movies, beach towels, internet, etc. They are on site all day to help guests with anything they need, and also they booked all our tours. Don’t miss the clifftop Fish Dinner and the Progressive dinner. There are so many tours and activities that it can become a little overwhelming trying to get your head around it all. We are only disappointed that we did not stay for longer than a week. Don’t try to do everything. And definitely swim at Emily Bay. And stay at Cumberland. We thoroughly recommend it. We did lots of research before we came and are so pleased we made the right choice.
Norfolk Island is one of the best islands we have been to, and we have traveled all over the world. It was like nothing we expected. We were pleasantly surprised. It is like the world’s best kept secret, and luckily for us, is just a 1.5 hour flight from our home in Auckland.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank labrador08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foreclos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnt Pine
0.5 mi away
Paradise Hotel & Resort
Paradise Hotel & Resort
#1 of 5 in Norfolk Island
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castaway Norfolk Island
Castaway Norfolk Island
#1 of 2 in Burnt Pine
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Governor's Lodge Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
South Pacific Resort Hotel
South Pacific Resort Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnt Pine
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea View Hotel & Cottages
Sea View Hotel & Cottages
#5 of 5 in Norfolk Island
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tin Sheds - Norfolk Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Resort & Spa

Address: Taylors Road, Burnt Pine, Norfolk Island 2899, Australia
Region: Australia > Norfolk Island > Burnt Pine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Burnt Pine
Price Range: £109 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cumberland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 STAR AFFORDABLE LUXURY, SPA INDULGENCE RESORT. WHY NOT PAMPER YOURSELF?Free Rental Car (excl. insurance), Personal Return Airport Transfers, Town Tour, Breakfast Starters (incl. eggs, bread loaf, juice, milk, condiments). Relax and put balance back into your life at this intimate boutique resort set in tropical gardens. Centrally located, there are 1-, 2-, 3-, 4- & even 5-bedroom options - every exec bedroom has en-suite bathroom with spa bath or massage spa shower, or both. Enjoy a week of indulging.Soak in the hydrotherapy heated swim spa, de-tox in the infra red Sauna or take in a few hours of massage and body treatments at the day spa. Stroll a few minutes to trendy cafes, restaurants and shops. With your free rental car you can explore the island at will. Then, come home to Cumberland and just chill out on your private spacious, sunny verandah. Utilize the onsite friendly managers with their local knowledge, book a tour or spa treatment.Property Features: Heated Swim Spa, sauna, day spa, tour desk, wireless internet, DVD movie library, snorkel gear/beach towels, guest laundry, central location, en-suite massage showers & spa baths, satellite TV, Free Wi-Fi throughout the resort, tennis (nearby).Room Features: Fully equipped kitchens, king beds, LCD/LED TV, DVD/CD/iPod docks, modern en-suite spa bathrooms, private BBQ's, picnic sets, snorkel gear, wireless internet and all the modern features you have come to expect.Heated Swim Spa Sauna.Onsite Day Spa Massage,Tour Desk Fulltime Reception, Free Wi-Fi, DVD movies (450+) Library, Games Snorkel Gear Guest Laundry Central Location, Foxtel satellite TV (57+ channels), Tennis (nearby).En-suite Massage Showers,Spa Baths Beach towels & Chairs Room Features: Fully equipped stainless steel kitchens, king beds, LCD/LED TV, DVD/CD/iPod docks, modern en-suite spa bathrooms, private BBQ's, Waterfalls, Picnic Sets.Also, indulge with the White House, where leisure meets luxury.Located in the prestigious Buck's Point area, this Presidential, five-bedroom hillside ocean view spa villa is for your Exclusive Indulgence - no other guests or neighbours. Enjoy absolute luxury and total privacy with breathtaking 180 degree panoramic ocean views from all rooms & massive wrap-around verandahs. Includes your own Turkish Sauna, separate Finnish sauna, outdoor jacuzzi/spa, indoor spa bath, skydeck, 8-seater mini-van, and private 8-acre bush walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cumberland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Hotel Burnt Pine
Cumberland Resort & Spa Norfolk Island, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing