We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely holiday and a terrific way to spend New Year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Channers on Norfolk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Channers on Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely holiday and a terrific way to spend New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our holiday at Channers was very much looked forward to. A quiet place to relax and unwind from a very busy working schedule. Kerri-Ann and Steve were very welcoming. They know a lot about the island and were very helpful in providing information about shopping, tours, dinners, walks etc. They are very accessible. We really enjoyed getting to know them and they always made time to chat with us. The car we had the use of was a gem. You really need one on Norfolk. The units were very spacious and clean and well equipped. The gardens were lovely and it is very close to town. Norfolk is like stepping back in time, people talk to you and wave and are helpful. Kerri-Ann and Steve helped make our holiday fantastic and we look forward to coming again and passing on our recommendations to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hln030957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channers-on-Norfolk, Manager at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you! It is a pleasure to have our guests come and chat and we enjoy their company immensely. It is amazing what we discover about people's backgrounds, current roles and future connections with 'our' island that open up all sorts of doors. Thank you for your wonderful words and we look forward to seeing you and many other guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

After working for 14 months straight without a break, our stay at Channers was exactly what we needed. Our hosts, Kerri-Ann and Steve, made our stay a very relaxing and memorable one.They were always ready to lend a hand, provide us with information and map out some great walks.
The views from our apartment were spectacular and a joy to wake up to every morning. The apartments are well furbished, clean and have modern fittings.
If and when we visit Norfolk Island again, we will definitely be staying at Channers.
Highly recommend this to all...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channers-on-Norfolk, Manager at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
It is terrific to know that our little part of the world helps everyone in one way or another. It is the perfect place to relax, unwind and get away from the 'real world' to let your body and mind recover from the hectic pace of normal life. At the same time, we get to enjoy the wonderful company of our guests and the amazing knowledge they bring to us as a reward. We are truly grateful for such open, friendly and warm conversation and every week is a wonderful surprise. Thank you for taking the time to let others know about 'our' little island and we look forward to seeing you again one day possibly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We were pleased by our choice of accommodation at Channers on Norfolk. It was close to the shops, had a well equiped kitchen and very spacious. The package deal we got was really good, with the inclusion of a hire car and transfer from the airport to the apartment. The property was well maintained and had lovely gardens. There were also DVD's to watch, games to play, reading material, a mobile phone with sim & credit and we were told just to ask if there was anything else that we needed. It is certainly a place that I will be recommending to people if they decide to go to Norfolk Island.

Room Tip: Apartment 2 was good, nice garden views, large cool rooms, morning sun on the patio and tucked out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channers-on-Norfolk, Manager at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
What a lovely review of Channers on Norfolk. We always appreciate it when our guests take the time out to tell others of their experiences and thoughts. It's always a pleasure every week to welcome new guests and, by the end of their stay, to know they have thoroughly enjoyed themselves both at the property and on the Island. We just try and help it along when needed and the rest just happens naturally. It's a wonderful place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Although my wife has already lodged her review of Channers I felt that as the only male amongst a travel group of four friends I would at long last have the opportunity to voice an opinion …..any opinion !!

Unfortunately, and as per the norm I found there was nothing I could disagree with. Not only with my wife’s review, but all others. Channers was really quite special.

Hosts, Kerri Ann and Steve have created a small parcel of paradise on Norfolk. Set amongst relaxing tropical gardens, the rooms are well appointed, very comfortable and with a decent size fridge for ‘entertainment’. Restaurants and the township are well within walking distance, but with a decent car built into the package, distance is no problem, particularly if you are explorers like us.

If you are into golf, the local course is both challenging and picturesque. Clubs etc., can be hired from the resident pro although I would suggest taking a few extra balls from home if you have a tendency to slice. Check with Kerri Ann to enter any of the local comps. She organised everything.

Overall Norfolk Island would rate amongst our most enjoyable holidays, easily outranking many of the more “touristy” destinations we have visited. We are already planning our return to Channers on Norfolk next year.

Room Tip: If there were 3 couples we wouldn't go past "the House". 5 Star accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jnmacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channers-on-Norfolk, Manager at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you! We love to hear everyone's opinion - particularly yours as the only male in your group! The appreciation for room in the fridge for 'entertainment' is priceless and I am sure many others can relate to the importance of such a feature. We are always thrilled to see our guests take on the golf course in beautiful Kingston and I'm sure you did a great job even with a slight slice. The island is full of wonderful experiences and we are always proud to offer Channers as a home base so we can help you find them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful week in Norfolk Island staying at Channers. Our Apartment was comfortable and spacious and well equipped with a mobile phone and bottle of wine included. The property is situated conveniently close to town,restaurants and shops. Kerry Anne and Steve were the perfect hosts and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable and stress free.
We enjoyed driving all over the island in the free car provided and will definitely be staying there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channers-on-Norfolk, Manager at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
How lovely. It is always a pleasure to have guests arrive and feel right at home both at Channers and on Norfolk Island. We are so pleased you took to it all so quickly and whole-heartedly and we know it was a wonderful week for you. Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings with others who are considering coming to Norfolk Island, and to Channers on Norfolk. We look forward to your many visits in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

What a lovely weeks holiday a friend and I had in November 2013. From the moment we were met at Norfolk Is. airport to when we were dropped back at the airport our time on this beautiful Island was most enjoyable. Our hosts Kerry-Ann and Steve made us feel at home straight away at Channers, and were very helpful and friendly...nothing was a bother for them. Our Apartment was large and comfortable and had everything you would wish for. With our hire car waiting ready to go we went straight to check out our new surroundings and get our supermarket supply needs. What a great location Channers on Norfolk has. Everything is so close! And being an Artist I just loved drawing in my sketchbook the stunning gardens and surroundings we were living amongst. The included Tours and the ones we organised ourselves were very enjoyable and the History element of them was extremely interesting.
Yes, after a wonderful week we both promised ourselves to be back very soon! Cheryl H.

Room Tip: We liked Unit 1 as we were able to occupy the Bathroom without disturbing the other person sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channers-on-Norfolk, Manager at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your fabulous thoughts on your wonderful week here on beautiful Norfolk Island and particularly your stay with us at Channers! It is always delightful to watch our guests over the course of their stay progressively fall in love with the Island, their surrounds, our gardens and, generally, all things Norfolk. We know you certainly were in this category and we look forward to welcoming you back to 'our' Island in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed here for a week in November – a fabulous time. Kerri-Anne and Steve welcomed us at the front door of our lovely, large and comfortable one bedroomed apartment. And our hire car was waiting in the drive-way, ready to go! The apartment was comfortable, everything you could need was there, including mobile phone, torch, Wi-Fi – a true home away from home. The view from the covered barbeque area was fabulous. We did everything we wanted, including a one-hour hilarious Norfolk language lesson, a progressive dinner, Island Fish Fry with entertainment from Trent Christian, a descendent of the mutineer Fletcher. The history of the island is wonderful and we loved it. We could really have stayed ten days, and would certainly recommend Channers to anyone going to Norfolk.

Room Tip: If you want a large, one bedroomed apartment, no stairs to climb, and surrounded by the sweet smells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channers-on-Norfolk, Manager at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Fabulous. Thank you for your lovely description and for taking the time to write a review. You were such a pleasure and we could see you enjoying the Island more and more every day you were here. It's truly a paradise and you certainly saw and experienced a lot of what is on offer and had a great time doing so. We look forward to possibly seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
0.8 mi away
Governor's Lodge Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hill
Heritage Hill
#4 of 5 in Norfolk Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Hotel & Resort
Paradise Hotel & Resort
#1 of 5 in Norfolk Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castaway Norfolk Island
Castaway Norfolk Island
#1 of 2 in Burnt Pine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cascade Garden Apartments
Cascade Garden Apartments
#3 of 47 in Norfolk Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.7 mi away
Anson Bay Lodge
Anson Bay Lodge
#7 of 9 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channers on Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channers on Norfolk

Property: Channers on Norfolk
Address: Taylors Rd Norfolk Island | Nsw, Kingston, Norfolk Island 2899, Australia (Formerly Channer's Corner)
Region: Australia > Norfolk Island > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Channers on Norfolk 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our apartments are attractive, comfortable and fully self contained - your home away from home. Centrally situated at the Kingston end of Taylors Rd, it's just a leisurely stroll to Norfolk's shopping, cafes, restaurants, the Cyclorama and so much more. These private apartments are set amongst two acres of Norfolk Island's best sub-tropical gardens abounding with native trees, ferns, palms, fruit trees and beautiful flowering hibiscus. You can enjoy the abundant bird life and beautiful sea views of Phillip Island from the property. Some of the apartments are adjoining making them ideal for two or more couples travelling together who still want to enjoy their privacy. It's only a two minute drive to enjoy Norfolk Island's beautiful swimming/snorkeling beaches, golf course and World Heritage Listed convict areas. A variety of the best and affordable restaurants, tourist attractions, clubs and tennis courts are close to Channers on Norfolk. The Best Location / Beautiful Gardens / Comfortable / Fully Self-Contained Accommodation / Phillip Island and Sea Views / Excellent Hosts. What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Channers on Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channers On Norfolk Norfolk Island/Kingston, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing