We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Channers on Norfolk
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
“50th Birthday Escape”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Choosing to stay at Channers was a random decision but a great one! The accommodation was 1st class, the gardens beautiful. My husband and I escaped for my 50th birthday and Kerri-Ann and Steve even managed flowers for my birthday ! No mean feat when there is no florist on Norfolk. Loved the island, the scenery, the history, the food and the people. We really relaxed and enjoyed the pace. Could not recommend Channers highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channers-on-Norfolk, Manager at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
It really was so lovely to have you come and enjoy your birthday with us. It was great to have your flowers arranged for delivery on your birthday (we have our secrets as to how) and I even got to enjoy them for a while after you left! It's a great job. You both really took to the island so well and I could see you relaxing with every passing day. Happy Birthday again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moe, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Our travel agent chose Channers for us and it was a wonderful choice. The units are very clean, comfortable and well equipped- all in a beautiful private garden setting in a great location (easy walking distance to shops and eating places). Kerri-Ann and Steve were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Norfolk Island is awesome. The scenery is spectacular, the history very interesting and the people so friendly- the Norfolk Wave to every other driver is a must. It was great exploring the island in the rental car and also some great tours available if you want. If you are into poetry would recommend Wonderland By Night. A fantastic holiday and Channers was excellent, would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channers-on-Norfolk, Manager at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Fabulous. Thank you to your travel agent for choosing Channers on Norfolk for your week here on 'our' beautiful little island. You both certainly immersed yourselves into the history and culture and we are so pleased you had such a comfortable stay. We really are very lucky to be placed so close to everything but still surrounded by peaceful and beautiful gardens. Thanks for taking the time to write your review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a great time at Channers. The Managers were very helpful, accommodation clean and comfortable and we just loved the Island and the people. We would recommend a stay there for anybody who needs a complete break. The food on the island is delicious. The only thing we were disappointed in is the availability of the fishing tours. Allan would have loved to go out more than once however for whatever reason this did not happen.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channers-on-Norfolk, Manager at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Happy Birthday (again). What a lovely way to spend your big event and we were so pleased you really had a chance to relax and soak up the island. It's usually mother nature that dictates the fishing charters and it sometimes works out that way. It's a great experience! Thank you for taking the time out of your busy days to write this review. We'd love to see you back here again whenever you need to relax all over again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperance, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We chose Channers on Norfolk at random because we liked the look of it from their ads on the internet. It was an excellent choice! We were delivered by bus from the airport right to the front door, where we were met and shown to our self contained unit. It was bright, well appointed and well laid out and surrounded by lovely gardens, which gave it privacy. Kerri-Anne and Steve were the perfect hosts, helping us out with information on various things to see and do on the island and nothing was too much trouble for them! Thoroughly enjoyed our time at Channers!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channers-on-Norfolk, Manager at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Wow. That's terrific. We are so happy you had such a wonderful experience and that you were very happy with your random choice for your accommodation. It's always lovely to hear of our guest's experiences and we'd just love the rest of the world to come and enjoy what we have to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The 3-bedroom house at Channers was perfect for our recent holiday with friends. With the well equipped kitchen, very large deck with barbecue for entertaining and beautiful views, we were more than happy to eat in rather than dine out. All three bedrooms were spacious with beautiful views and each having its own modern ensuite.
Kerri-Ann and Steve were perfect hosts, even delivering fresh eggs from the backyard hens daily. We also enjoyed picking the cherry guavas from the orchard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channers-on-Norfolk, Manager at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
What a wonderful house. We agree that it is a terrific place to stay here on beautiful Norfolk Island and we are so pleased to be able to share that with groups of friends. Thank you for your lovely comments and the girls are still laying well. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

From the first phone call I could not have had friendly service ,Kerri-Anne did all my bookings for me .
The unit was spacious and spotless ,I could not have wished for a nicer place to stay ..
It is only a short walk from the shops and good Restraurants

I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting a self contained unit to stay in while on holiday on Norfolk Island .
Many thanks for making my holiday so enjoyable .

John Hunt

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channers-on-Norfolk, Manager at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to let the world know of your fabulous holiday John. It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us and I am so pleased you had such a wonderful time. We'd like to see you back again someday :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had a very enjoyable week at Channers, the apartment was fully self contained with all the
equipment needed to self cater if required. We were in a two bedroom unit which was very
spacious with en suite to both bedrooms, and the kitchen, dining and living areas were very well
equipped ,clean and comfortable. A deck at both front and back gave the options of sun or shade and different garden views.
All this was booked for us by Kerri-ann which was inclusive of air fares and a car. Kerri-Ann and Steve are great hosts always ready to help with advice, ideas, and suggestions about things to see and do. Many thanks to you both. Don't miss Cyclorama, its only a five minute walk away.

Room Tip: Just go for it, they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channers-on-Norfolk, Manager at Channers on Norfolk, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Haha. No there aren't any bikes at the Cyclorama. Very nice to have met you and thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
0.4 mi away
Governor's Lodge Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hill
Heritage Hill
#5 of 5 in Norfolk Island
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Pacific Resort Hotel
South Pacific Resort Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnt Pine
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradise Hotel & Resort
Paradise Hotel & Resort
#1 of 5 in Norfolk Island
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castaway Norfolk Island
Castaway Norfolk Island
#1 of 2 in Burnt Pine
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cumberland Resort & Spa
Cumberland Resort & Spa
#1 of 12 in Burnt Pine
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channers on Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channers on Norfolk

Property: Channers on Norfolk
Address: Taylors Rd Norfolk Island | Nsw, Kingston, Norfolk Island 2899, Australia (Formerly Channer's Corner)
Region: Australia > Norfolk Island > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Channers on Norfolk 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our apartments are attractive, comfortable and fully self contained - your home away from home. Centrally situated at the Kingston end of Taylors Rd, it's just a leisurely stroll to Norfolk's shopping, cafes, restaurants, the Cyclorama and so much more. These private apartments are set amongst two acres of Norfolk Island's best sub-tropical gardens abounding with native trees, ferns, palms, fruit trees and beautiful flowering hibiscus. You can enjoy the abundant bird life and beautiful sea views of Phillip Island from the property. Some of the apartments are adjoining making them ideal for two or more couples travelling together who still want to enjoy their privacy. It's only a two minute drive to enjoy Norfolk Island's beautiful swimming/snorkeling beaches, golf course and World Heritage Listed convict areas. A variety of the best and affordable restaurants, tourist attractions, clubs and tennis courts are close to Channers on Norfolk. The Best Location / Beautiful Gardens / Comfortable / Fully Self-Contained Accommodation / Phillip Island and Sea Views / Excellent Hosts. What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Channers on Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channers On Norfolk Norfolk Island/Kingston, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing