We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome home cooking!”
Review of Red Barn and Grill

Red Barn and Grill
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome home cooking!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Ate lunch there yesterday while passing through on business. What a treat! Chicken-fried-chicken, mashed potatoes, green beans, salad/soup & an incredible homemade yeast roll - all for only $8.75!
The food was terrific - tasty and hot. The server was genuinely pleasant and friendly. The best part for me was buying one of their chocolate/peanut butter cream pies to take home to my family. We enjoyed that last night after dinner - fantastic!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    35
    11
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Large portions of average food”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Went here for breakfast with a large group. Most got the buffet, which offers pancakes, waffles, eggs, b & g, etc. They also offer some fruit and pastries. The eggs seemed to be made from a powdered egg mix, my kids wouldn't eat their waffles, other issues with the food as well. The waitress was nice but maybe because of our large group there were a few issues. People that ordered off the menu got their food about the time the rest if us were finishing our plates from the buffet. If you like large portions this is the place for you, just not the greatest tasting food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Agarner3706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monett, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

You must go there hungry, the portions are huge and everything is made fresh. The staff is very friendly and always willing to go the extra to make sure you don't go without an empty glass or short on condiments. The Friday night catfish special is the best I've had.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned goodness”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Red Barn also features the Hen House bakery, but the portions are definitely rooster-sized, as evidenced by the table full of farm boys next to us who were relishing their large platters of food.
This is the kind of place that almost begs you to order a chicken fried steak because you just know it has to be really good. So I did. And it was. The generous piece of meat (well breaded, not greasy) covered half of my large platter. When I dug into it, it wasn't tough and you didn't have to fight it like you do some chicken fried steaks. It was accompanied by mashed potatoes and butter beans.
My husband chose pork chops, two slabs of thick and tender pork. He had a baked potato and green beans.
Along with our drinks, the waitress brought two large, yeasty, fresh-baked dinner rolls. The meals also come with salad bar (not the largest or most lavish I've ever had, but with all the other food, definitely not a problem).
What lends this place another star is the soup and cornbread bar. There were four kinds of hot soup — chili, beef stew, chicken and dumplings or noodles, and brown beans. The cornbread was very good, with a slight flavor of honey.
The dessert counter was bountiful, but we could barely look at it after that meal, much less order any. We'll definitely come back when we're near Mount Vernon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stockton Location”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Had bad service. The manager was bad mouthing us to other employees and we waited for our food for 45 plus min. We got our food in to go boxes because we decided to leave. Worst place we ever went. Glad the food was good but will not return do to the customer service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Barn and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Red Barn and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing