We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly, quiet & good food”
Review of Rowrah Hall B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rowrah Hall B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Rowrah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly, quiet & good food”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Ideally situated for our planned walking in the Ennerdale area. We stayed in The Old Dairy apartment for two nights. Tried the nearby Hound Inn (recommended by Maggie), a good "local" for food and beer. Ate at "home" in our little kitchen/lounge the second night. Great breakfasts, lots of choices, homemade bread, jams, etc. Very peaceful (and no noise from upstairs where a family with younsters were staying). Friendly welcome and useful info from Maggie and Stefan. We had chosen to visit based on reviews here and it certainly didn't disappoint. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnfred4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
44
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Rowrah Hall is nice and easy to find. It's situated right next to a rather unsightly bit of land with abandoned lorries on it but do not let that put you off!!!

The welcome we received from Maggie was unbelievable - such a friendly lady - she gave us all the info we needed about our room and our stay and pointed out a folder in our room for more info. The room itself was beautiful. We stayed in the double room in the main hall. I would guess from reading other reviews that this is the smallest room but that does not matter at all, it's cute. It has some lovely features in it and is decorated to a high standard and furnished well. The shower cubicle is large enough to clean a small family at once! The bed was so comfy and the room was lovely and warm. There is a flat screen TV and hair dryer in the room and free Wi-fi.

Maggie and her husband Stefan make all their own bread, biscuits, preserves and scones (which you get in your room!) and looking after their lovely chickens which provide the tasty eggs for breakfast. You get a choice of full English, veggie full English, poached salmon and scrambled eggs plus cereal, toast, coffee and tea and juice and if you just fancy eggs on toast, they'll do that for you too!

Stefan gave us so much of his time on the morning, helping us to make the best use of our short time in the Lake District. He was incredibly knowledgeable and we couldn't of asked for a better host.

There are two pubs within walking distance of the B&B - The Stork and The Hound - both are very traditional, locals pubs and you feel a bit uncomfortable when you first walk in to them but they really are OK - be prepared for what we have discovered is typical Cumbrian portions and make sure you are hungry!!!!

Negatives:- cleanliness of the room - It wasn't 100% clean in the room unfortunately and there was some fairly thick dust on the head board of the bed.

The packed lunch - you can ask for a packed lunch and for £5 you get a baguette, bag of crisps, piece of fruit, breakfast bar and can of drink - sounds good value so we asked for this for our journey home - unfortunately the baguettes were so dry and hard that we didn't eat either of them.

The room we were in was right above the breakfast room and we were woken in the mornings by loud chatter as the breakfast room is small and echoes.

On the whole, a lovely place and those negatives would not put us off staying again - we loved it! I just wanted to be honest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room other than the Double Room above the breakfast room if you want to sleep in late in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joolz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in the hayloft apartment and could of happily stayed forever!
We arrived to a lovely warm welcome from Maggie who took us to our Rom and showed us around.
We found some yummy homemade cookies had been left for us and a bottle of milk in the fridge which was a really nice thought.
The apartment had a kitchenette equipped with all plates, cutlery etc and a variety of hot drinks - tea coffee and hot chocolate.
We had a sofa, dining table and chairs and tv downstairs and then upstairs another tv in the bedroom along with a dressing table and hairdryer.
The bedroom and bathroom where a great size and there where some miniature toiletries in there such as shampoo and shower gel.
Breakfast offered a great variety and was delicious cooked to order! We where made to feel really welcome and at ease by Maggie and Stefan and they where happy to chat and make time for you.
The hall is in a great location too as its away from the hustle and bustle of tourists galore... yet within easy reach of areas. We visited honister mine and Keswick and they where both not too far away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiecam87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were looking for a place with easy access to the lakes but away from the hustle and bustle around Windermere and Keswick. Rowrah Hall was just perfect, situated 15 minutes drive from Ennerdale Water and 20 minutes from Wastwater and Loweswater.

We stayed in the Old Dairy, which is essentially a one-bedroomed apartment with kitchen-lounge area and separate en suite shower room. The apartment was much better equipped than we expected and although we stayed for just two days we could have comfortably spent a full week there on a self-catering basis.

As well as great accommodation, Maggie and Steffan were excellent hosts and incredibly friendly. Fresh baked biscuits in the room were a nice touch and the breakfasts were very high quality. Moreover, all of this came at excellent value. We would highly recommend Rowrah Hall to anyone looking for a quiet, comfortable getaway to a more tranquil part of the Lake District.

Room Tip: There are three standard B&B rooms, one appartment for two to share, and a larger family appartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Tavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed at Rowrah Hall 13 July 2013 in the four poster room .Very nice spacious and immaculate .Seating area flat screen TV dressing table and mirror with good hairdryer (I have a bob and it dried my hair no probs) Tea coffee hot chocolate and home made biscuit's in the room. The bed was comfy and smelt lovely we both had a good nights sleep. The shower room again was immaculate and had fluffy towels The hall is in a lovely location and very quiet.

Breakfast was well cooked hot and tasty fresh eggs home made bread (toast),jam honey and marmalade .

I would recommend to everyone .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoynAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, UK
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We booked a two-night stay (Thurs/Fri) in July for a modest cost of £70 per night, on a bed and breakfast basis. Our 'room' was the Old Dairy, a newly-modernised two-room apartment. One room is a kitchen/diner/living room - complete with fully fitted kitchen with all amenities (oven, hob, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine etc), a little table and chairs for dining, and a comfy recliner couch, facing the flat-screen TV.

Three little steps take you up to the bedroom area, with separate clothes-hanging nook. The bedroom is en-suite, with a modern and clean shower-room and loo. It has another flat-screen TV, again with a zillion freeview channels. There's a comfortable double bed in the room, and a small stool in front of the recessed mirror area, which makes an effective dressing table.

You can tell that this apartment has been recently redecorated; everything is spotlessly clean and fresh. Beyond this, the owners have really gone out of their way to make this, not only a pleasant environment to live in, but also a very functional one. The kitchen cupboards contain a plethora of utensils and necessities; you could stay here for a week or a fortnight and be fully self-sufficient, without ever having to worry about not being able to cook or clean without first going out for provisions. Excluding food, of course - that's not provided, obviously. Although the owners do kindly provide a range of hot drink options along with daily baked cookies and biscuits and a pint of fresh milk in your fridge to keep you going. Really nice touch.

Breakfast is served in the main building, and includes cereals, fruits etc, and a full cooked menu. Absolutely delicious, and, once-again, comprised of lots of home-made options - freshly baked bread, home-made granola, and a range of home-made preserves. You should try the seville marmalade - it's like zingy toffee! <wonders if they do mail order.....?>

The location of Rowrah Hall is also pretty handy. It's very near to Whitehaven, which is now a really nice sea-side town with a newly developed harbour area and lots of nice wee shops and cafes. If you don't fancy self-catering, you should note that Rowrah Hall doesn't have a restaurant, and evening meals aren't available. However, there are lots of options for dining very nearby. Whitehaven has a tonne of restaurants, and there are lots of country pubs in the surrounding area. The nearest one, which is a 5 minute walk from Rowrah Hall, is the Stork Hotel, which serves a range of good quality 'pub grub' options. Another recommendation - the steak pie is very rich on meat, apparently.

There were a couple of very minor demerits for Rowrah Hall. The first is that the hairdryer in the room is next to useless. Seriously. I have hair about an inch long all over and can usually blast it dry in about 30 seconds. I tried to dry my hair both mornings I was there, and gave up after about 20 minutes (by which time my hair had almost air-dried anyway).

The second slight issue we had was with noise from the room above the bedroom (the Hayloft?) Whenever someone walks across the room above, it can be heard very clearly in the bedroom below; I think that this is due to aged floorboards (we have a bit of it at home in a house of a similar vintage). It wasn't a massive issue for us, largely because I think our movements were fairly well synched with the residents above - when we were in bed, they were in bed etc. However, if you happened to be roomed alongside an insomniac pacer, I imagine that it might be more of a problem.

All in all though, Rowrah Hall was a little gem, and we will definitely keep it on our radar to visit again. It would be great if the owners would give a little bit of house history on their webpage, and in the information book in the apartment, as the house looks really interesting and I'm sure it has a lot of stories to tell.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B to friends, and have, in fact, already done so....with one minor caveat - bring your own hairdryer!

Room Tip: Ask for the Old Dairy if you want self-catering options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnpredictableLips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowrah
3.8 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
76 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 7 in Ennerdale Bridge
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Parkside Hotel
Parkside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cleator
103 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ghyll Farm B & B
Ghyll Farm B & B
#1 of 7 in Ennerdale Bridge
121 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 14 in Whitehaven
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowrah Hall B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowrah Hall B&B

Property: Rowrah Hall B&B
Address: Rowrah CA26 3XH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Rowrah
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rowrah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rowrah Hall B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing