We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - worth the wait?”
Review of The George Inn Newnham - CLOSED

The George Inn Newnham
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the heart of the Kent countryside, The George Inn is an emblem of Kentish charm and culture. Steeped in history, this rustic venue began its journey in the 1500s as a farm building and transformed into a beloved pub by 1718. The inviting warmth of exposed wood beams, dangling hops, and a captivating inglenook fireplace welcomes you. But The George is not just about tradition; it's about evolution. Drawing inspiration from our success at The Three Mariners at Oare, we've refreshed our approach while maintaining the essence of yesteryears. Beyond the allure of our 80-seat establishment, including a dedicated 50-seat restaurant, is our unwavering commitment to local heritage. Whether it's innovative takes on classic British dishes made from daily-sourced Kentish produce or the finest local brews, we celebrate Kent in every aspect. Keep in touch with our vibrant event lineup, spanning art, poetry, music, and more via Facebook at "The George Inn Newnham".
Reviewed 28 December 2023 via mobile

Food took a very long time to come out (an hour after our bread / mezze plates were cleared) but was tasty when it arrived.

One plain hamburger came out with cheese on so it had to go back. Burger and chips portions were large in a good way. Risotto portions were a bit meagre.

Beware the “optional” 12.5% service charge automatically added to the bill. On the plus side, the bill was itemised properly and there were no accidental additions as so often happens.

Overall a lovely pub but service needs to improve to encourage locals to return.

Date of visit: December 2023
1  Thank swimmingfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2023

Taking in The George whilst on a post-Christmas family walk. Perfect! Banana milkshakes with Rainbow Sprinkles for the children & coffees & smoothies for the big 'uns. Plus 'Burnt (that's the recipe) French Cheescake, muffins & cookies etc..
What more could you ask!

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jeremypH689IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2023

We had our annual Christmas lunch here yesterday, and wouldn't hesitate to go back. The pub is lovely, with a great atmosphere, even on a wet Sunday afternoon.

11 of us had pre-ordered three courses, and the food was amazing, very tasty and piping hot. We ordered a mixture of everything on the Christmas lunch menu, and there were mmmm's all round ! My salmon was lovely. Everyone we came across was very friendly and welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble. Very reasonably priced, they should probably charge more.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShelB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2023

Had a lovely Christmas gathering here and delicious food and wine toasy wood burner and great selection of puddings. Good sized portions and great service. Just what you want from a nice pub in the country!

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2023

Fabulous lunch, delicious food and very good service. It really doesn't disappoint, a warm welcome and the pub is so cosy and warm and very ‘Kentish’ . We had the sunday lunch menu delicious roast beef and pork belly, quality ingredients cooked to perfection. The dessert was equally good, a warm homemade treacle tart with vanilla ice cream in a brandy basket. Faultless :D

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kentcritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The George Inn Newnham also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.