We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lovely people!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Baker's Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Newborough B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely people!”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed for one night in the twin room, and I can't recommend it highly enough! Don't look at reviews beyond 3 months ago as the owners have changed, and the place has been refurbished to a high level. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable, and the adjoining bathroom is huge with a lovely old roll top bath. There is a nice big TV, and coffee making facilities, as well as big soft duvets!

The owners were friendly, and keen to help in anyway. We had a fantastic full English breakfast included in our bargain £55 price, and Bev was even kind enough to drop me back to my car which was parked elsewhere.

The place is soon to have a new cafe and cake shop which will make it even better! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, a large family room and the twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
17
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the old bakers cottage over a Friday and Saturday night in the family room, from the moment we arrived the new owners Bev and Gavin couldn't do enough. From helping us with our luggage, entertaining our children, and providing local knowledge with travel directions, it was all very much appreciated. The room was lovely with all the requirements, and great attention to detail, with a fab breakfast. We will use the B&B again, many thanks

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PRS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Superb room, really comfortable and warm. All the extra touches that take it from being nice to luxury.
Hosts are 2 I'd the nicest people you could hope to meet.

Excellent breakfast sets you up nicely for the day.
Location perfect for both Alton Towers and The NEC/Birmingham Airport.
Village and surrounding area also very pleasant. Will be returning to explore properly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skegness
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We had a lovely weekend in beautiful surroundings really friendly and welcoming fabulous breakfast too and very comfy bed! Many thanks the Brookes family

Room Tip: Rooms airy and bright large and comfortable very quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights In November. A warm welcome from the host matched the cosy surroundings in this quaint building situated in the village of Newborough. My bedroom boasted a grand piano - that was a first. Some road noise to the front of the property is apparent in the mornings, but it was really quiet at night when you do want to sleep. The pub across the road wasn't much to write home about during my visit unfortunately. A very hearty full-English breakfast from the host set me up for the day ahead so full marks for catering. This is a great value B&B in rural Staffordshire and should not be overlooked.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrior151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We were at your guest house recently. We were visiting Alton towers. We had a fantastic time. Your hospitality was outstanding, the rooms clean and comfy. lovely and warm. Beds were very comfortable. and the breakfast was perfect in everyway. Forget all hotels and if you want a great stay at a convenient place with the personal touch. This is the place. I have used other B&B's before but have never returned. I will be returning here for my future trips. Loved it.
Quiet, quaint and quintessentially perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyman1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

I have stayed here for the past few months due to working away from home. The cottage is about 15 mins from Burton on Trent in a pretty village so it was a nice escape for me. The rooms are lovely with designer decorative touches-beds comfy and warm during the cold months. For me the addition of a microwave in the room was brilliant so I didn't have to eat out every night! But there is a pub across the road if you do want to go out! Gill the owner is really welcoming and makes your breakfast to order at whatever time suits you. There is free wifi too. I think the fact that I continue to stay here for months says it all really-a little home from home :)

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlet-Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newborough
1.8 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
306 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
478 reviews
7.3 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
416 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Baker's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Baker's Cottage

Property: The Old Baker's Cottage
Address: Old Bakers Cottage Duffield Lane, Newborough, Burton upon Trent DE13 8SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Newborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Baker's Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and friendly B&B in the quiet village of Newborough close to Burton upon Trent. We have two rooms, a family en suite and a twin with a large private bathroom. At the Old Bakers Cottage we also have a fabulous coffee shop and tea garden and serve homemade cakes. We often have business guests, families going to Alton Towers or Drayton Manor, visitors for St Georges FA ground and day guests for Hoar Cross stay at our accommodation. We pride ourselves on our customer service and like to ensure all our guests have a most enjoyable stay whether it be for business, pleasure or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Baker's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing