We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a WONDERFUL stay and a very WARM welcome.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Baker's Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Newborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This place is set in a beautiful location in the little village of Newborough. Just about half an hour from the M6 it's perfect for visiting Alton Towers as it's only 20mins away! The rooms were very clean and warm and beautiful decor. Another great thing was having the coffee shop downstairs as guests are welcome to sit in the coffee shop lounge area to watch TV and enjoy beautiful homemade cakes and beverages at your pleasure. Nice pub across the road (Marstons) for great pub grub. It is in a beautiful setting and also a little park 2mins walk away for kids to play and have fun. The owners are lovely and make you feel at home - nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was lovely and just enough with hot, cooked breakfast (bacon, hashbrowns, beans, egg, mushrooms etc.) and cereal too! Also it has free Wi-Fi which was perfect access even in the Twin Room. We stayed as a family of 5 (3 children, one 14, one 12 and one 8). The 8 year old stayed in the main family room and the 2 older ones enjoyed being seperate in the twin room down the corridor. Parking can be in a safe place on Yoxall Road adajacent to the church entrance opposite the B&B. Would highly recommend this B&B and cafe!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dan769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

Perfect place to stay. The owners gave us a warm welcome, and couldn't do enough for us.They even went to the local pub which was being refurbed to see if they were still serving food. The room was bright, clean and the beds were so comfy. Breakfast was very tasty. Will definetely stop again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This B&B now boasts a coffee shop and tea garden serving excellent coffee and other drinks plus a range of delicious home-made cakes. It's really nicely presented with a choice of tables and chairs or comfy sofas, and even has free WiFi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This place was a little stop gap on our travels to lancashire. The family were left in the lerch by the previous owner and had just started moving in and could not cancel bookings which had already been made. They did really well under the circs to make us welcome. The room was clean and cosy and the lovely pressie of the egg with sweeties inside went down great with our little girl, nice touch!....The family had children who were polite and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them...even to the point of looking up on the internet where we could eat out and ringing a local pub for us. The cottage was beautiful, lots of charm and character. We parked in the pub carpark opposite as the landlord said it was fine. We had a lovely full english breakfast in the Kitchen and could watch it being prepared by the owner fresh...All in all a wonderful B&B and very lovely family. All we can say is do not hesitate to book it :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherriberri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed for one night in the twin room, and I can't recommend it highly enough! Don't look at reviews beyond 3 months ago as the owners have changed, and the place has been refurbished to a high level. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable, and the adjoining bathroom is huge with a lovely old roll top bath. There is a nice big TV, and coffee making facilities, as well as big soft duvets!

The owners were friendly, and keen to help in anyway. We had a fantastic full English breakfast included in our bargain £55 price, and Bev was even kind enough to drop me back to my car which was parked elsewhere.

The place is soon to have a new cafe and cake shop which will make it even better! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, a large family room and the twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed at the old bakers cottage over a Friday and Saturday night in the family room, from the moment we arrived the new owners Bev and Gavin couldn't do enough. From helping us with our luggage, entertaining our children, and providing local knowledge with travel directions, it was all very much appreciated. The room was lovely with all the requirements, and great attention to detail, with a fab breakfast. We will use the B&B again, many thanks

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank PRS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Superb room, really comfortable and warm. All the extra touches that take it from being nice to luxury.
Hosts are 2 I'd the nicest people you could hope to meet.

Excellent breakfast sets you up nicely for the day.
Location perfect for both Alton Towers and The NEC/Birmingham Airport.
Village and surrounding area also very pleasant. Will be returning to explore properly.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Baker's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Baker's Cottage

Address: Old Bakers Cottage Duffield Lane, Newborough, Burton upon Trent DE13 8SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Newborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newborough
Price Range: £65 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Baker's Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and friendly B&B in the quiet village of Newborough close to Burton upon Trent. We have two rooms, a family en suite and a twin with a large private bathroom. At the Old Bakers Cottage we also have a fabulous coffee shop and tea garden and serve homemade cakes. We often have business guests, families going to Alton Towers or Drayton Manor, visitors for St Georges FA ground and day guests for Hoar Cross stay at our accommodation. We pride ourselves on our customer service and like to ensure all our guests have a most enjoyable stay whether it be for business, pleasure or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Baker's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing