We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hot visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Baker's Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Newborough B&B and Inns
Didcot
1 review
“A hot visit”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is in a great position for visiting St George's, 2 miles straight up the road.
Welcome is warm and friendly, happy to use the coffee room area for relaxing, and get a bit of cake .
Beware the curry night over the road, "The Scorcher" is a bit too hot, even for curry experts.
I will be returning when I need to go to St George's again.
Thanks Bev and Gavin for a home from home visit.

Room Tip: the twin room was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
17
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stopped here overnight after a day unwinding in Hoar cross hall on a Girly weekend with my friends, very close and a short drive from there which was very useful indeed re location .
The b&b itself was very clean , comfortable and quaint and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts to accommodate.
would def recommend , and will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had a lovely time at the old bakers b&b. The room we stayed in was very nice. There was a tv in our room if we didnt want to sit down stairs. The coffee shop is wonderful and has lots of home made cakes. Bev and gav are great hosts made us feel right at home and the breakfast was great too. we will be returning!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Thank you The Old Baker's Cottage for our lovely overnight stay in September.
After a lovely day at Hoar Cross Spa we only had to travel 5 minutes to our accomadtion.
We had a warm welcome and everything we needed for our stay.
Lovely to use the coffee shop after breakfast before our journey home.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here recently and we were both wanted to stay longer. We received a warm welcome and we loved our cosy room. The B&B is about 10/15 minutes away from a town but the location is lovely and quiet. We highly recommend staying at the old bakers cottage. We'll definitely try to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slb2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have just recently stayed at the B & B. We received a very warm welcome by Bev. We were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived. The room was large, lovely and comfortable. We have never stayed at a B & B before, so was not sure what to expect. We were more than pleasantly surprised and would definitely bookmark The Old Baker's Cottage again should we venture that way again next year. Thank you Bev for the warm welcome and the delicious breakfast, it really did set us up for the day at Alton Towers.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room and was more than large enough for 3 adults, with space to spare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Bernadette and family, thank you very much for your lovely review, we are glad you had a lovely stay here with us and we hope to see you again if Alton Towers calls again next year. We are pleased to hear that your first ever B&B experience was a great one. Thanks again it was lovely to meet you all. Kind regards Bev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Wonderful hosts, ambiance and service. Bev and her family are lovely. Really enjoyed a relaxing weekend away complimented by a lovely relaxing coffee shop which makes the most amazing frappes and fresh home made cakes...what a treat thankyou for your hospitality nothing was too much trouble

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kalmak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newborough
1.8 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
309 reviews
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
449 reviews
7.3 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
419 reviews
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Baker's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Baker's Cottage

Property: The Old Baker's Cottage
Address: Old Bakers Cottage Duffield Lane, Newborough, Burton upon Trent DE13 8SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Newborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Baker's Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and friendly B&B in the quiet village of Newborough close to Burton upon Trent. We have two rooms, a family en suite and a twin with a large private bathroom. At the Old Bakers Cottage we also have a fabulous coffee shop and tea garden and serve homemade cakes. We often have business guests, families going to Alton Towers or Drayton Manor, visitors for St Georges FA ground and day guests for Hoar Cross stay at our accommodation. We pride ourselves on our customer service and like to ensure all our guests have a most enjoyable stay whether it be for business, pleasure or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Baker's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing