We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Baker's Cottage
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boars Head Hotel(Draycott in the Clay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Hotel(Uttoxeter)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound(Barton-under-Needwood)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
60
13
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
13
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee shopb bacross the roadthe pubfamily hometea roomsconeshoar cross hallstayed for one nightcomfortable bedgrand pianohome made cakesbevquintessentialtvbedroomcorridor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay at the old bakers cottage. The owner was very friendly. She advised there was a great pub nearby and booked the table for us as very popular. Great location within easy driving distance to the Peak District. Wish we'd stayed more than one night

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alimck44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Alison and family
Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope you had a safe trip home to the NE and hope to see you all again in the future, kind regards Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Situated in a very quaint village which felt traditionally English with it's church and pub just across the road, this B&B offers a warm, friendly welcome which starts before you've even arrived. A friendly text to check on our travel progress was reassuring and made sure someone was there to welcome us when we arrived. The rooms were comfortable and the food was lovely. The caring help and useful onward travel advice were nice touches. We'll done !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Martin
Thank you for your kind review, we were pleased to hear ours is the most comfiest bed you have slept in away from home, we hope you all enjoyed your day at Alton Towers too, hope to see you again in the future, kind regards Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just the perfect place to stay for visiting the Staffordshire area .The owner was very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.Everything was there for our needs . The hearty breakfast set us up for our days of exploring . Thankyou

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Susan
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us. Kind regards Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We really enjoyed our nights stay. The owner was friendly and helpful. Loved all the little personal touchs around the place making it feel very homely.Would definately recommend staying there and hope to have the opportunity to do so again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Jane
Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also that you had a wonderful evening out at the Racecourse, we hope to see you again if UB40 every play there again, kind regards, Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We really enjoyed our two night stay. The B&B is situated on the main road in a very small village opposite a pub. There was very little noise from traffic though. Even before we arrived the owner was recommending good places to eat out for dinner each night. She was very helpful and friendly and made us feel welcome. The room was clean and private with an en suite bathroom and we could come and go as we pleased. We ate breakfast in the coffee shop below which was a nice space. The B&B was half an hour's drive from Alton Towers - not too close, not too far. If I am in the area again I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev H, Owner at The Old Baker's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us, we are also glad you managed to get round all the rides at Alton Towers, we hope to see you again soon, kind regards Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews