We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but Tasty”
Review of On The Rise

On The Rise
Ranked #15 of 100 Restaurants in Osage Beach
Cuisines: American, French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pricey but Tasty”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My friends and I enjoy eating breakfast at this restaurant on our trips to the area. The food is always very good, no matter what we order. A favorite dish is the Vanilla Bean French Toast. The omelet I had was also yummy. The staff is never overly friendly, and act a bit uppity. It is a splurge for me, since it costs WAY more than a traditional breakfast out. I do feel the quality of food matches the price, though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martz5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    69
    29
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet Breakfast for Special Day”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This bakery serves breakfast and lunch. It is open on a seasonal basis. Although located in a resort community, it does not have a lake view. Food is good, portions small, service is pretty good. Expect to spend $15-20 for your breakfast. Although there were linen napkins, no linen on table which I found inconvenient as many of the dishes are served in very small serving pieces. I just don't like to put my utensils down on hard surface. Coffee drinkers should expect to hop up and down to refill their mugs - self service refills.

I consider On the Rise a special treat, despite a few things I don't like. It is usually quiet and has outside seating (in season) but do not expect a view. Not a place for kids.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindap347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Leonard Wood
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Top Breakfast Establishment on the Lake”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Consuelo and I, with our friends Shirley and Stevie love this place - best breakfast and well worth the drive up from Fort Leonard Wood. Coffee bar is a great niche and the food is awesome. Reminds us all of being back in
Europe with the particular specialties they serve. Friendly servers and always on their 'A' game. We all recommend On the Rise for the perfect late morning breakfast crowd.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KWayneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Possibly the Best Restaurant at the Lake of the Ozarks”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have been to On the Rise many times, and it has consistently delivered excellent, freshly prepared breakfast and lunch dishes (closed for dinner), with above average service, in a warm and comfortable environment. Their fresh orange juice is squeezed (in plain sight) when you order it. Their Monkey Juice smoothie is delicious. It is advertised for kids, but I must admit to having talked one of my granddaughters out of a good deal of her's before ordering my own, on one occasion. Their flatbread, egg, and sandwich offerings are all delicious and remind you of the restaurant's bakery foundation. Their lobster bisque (be sure to get the splash of cognac) and French onion soup are a perfect way to warm up on those blustery days around the lake. Their salads are fresh and well conceived and their in-house parmesan potato chips, provided gratis while you wait for your order, are addictive. They have an excellent selection of premium beers to pair with dishes like their Scottish Salmon cold plate. But the thing that On The Rise does best is to actually deliver the variety of menu items described. This may not seem like much, but it is not a common experience at the lake. Many restaurants have mastered the art of describing a variety of delicious sounding menu items, but they have not mastered the actual cooking and delivery of those very same items. On the Rise has consistently delivered, over the past eight years we've been going there. The owner/executive chef is Mike Castle, a CIA (culinary, not secret agent) graduate, and it shows in the many details of his establishment. This is truly a big city culinary gem in a seasonal, lake recreation area. The only negative comment I have regarding On the Rise is in their pricing. It feels high, especially compared with similar restaurants in other cities like, Austin, Texas. I appreciate the challenge of providing high quality products with professional wait staff in a seasonal market. Mr. Castle has done a great job of building and (the hardest part) maintaining a consistently high level of food and service quality throughout the seasonal and economic downturn. But, we still have to manage our On the Rise outings to meet our budget. Nevertheless, we are truly happy when we dine there, and look forward to it every time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I loved the atmosphere, and the food was delicious.I got the salmon platter for breakfast, it was great. Pricey, but worth it for the atmosphere and food!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stewartna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On The Rise also viewed

Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to On The Rise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing