We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Kept Secret on the KK!”
Review of The Vine - CLOSED

The Vine
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wichita, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Well Kept Secret on the KK!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at Tan Tar A during a recent visit to Osage Beach. Each day as we drove into "town" we passed The Vine on KK and decided to dine there our last night. There was a large group dining in the restaurant while we were there but staff (especially Lindsey, our server) made sure that we were treated very well and received excellent service and food. We shared the shrimp scampi which was a light and delightful combination of bowtie pasta, light buttery garlic sauce and shrimp. The taste was delicious and the portion was perfect for sharing. Our only regret was that there were only a total of 5 shrimp in the dish. A few more would have made the dish extraordinary. During our visit, the GM and chef came to our table to make sure we were enjoying the pasta, salad and wine. That was a much appreciated personal touch. The gallery of art provides a nice complement to the restaurant and it was a good experience to explore the art offerings after our meal. We'll recommend this restaurant and return on our next visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnTerry13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, Manager at The Vine, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello JohnTerry13! Thank you so much for visiting us during your visit in Osage Beach.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit, food and service! It means so much to our small business that you came and will be back!

I'm sorry there were only 5 shrimp. I'll look into that (maybe some fell off as it was taken out??) but I'm not sure what happened.

Thank you for writing about your response and cheers to you all! Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    5
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A casual gallery atmosphere with an extensive menu that begs you to come back to try more tempting chef inspired dishes”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The girls had a cozy baby shower for our friend at The Vine. The staff was very accommodating & friendly. The menu had wine pairing suggestions with choices that beg you to come back to try more. We all started with home-made hummus & warm pita chip puffs in garlic, red pepper & tomato-basil. All so fresh with pops of flavor from the fresh herbs & veggies.
Several of us had the starter salad with field greens, red onion & a fresh balsamic vinaigrette with your choice of bleu, feta or goat cheese to top it off.
The menu choices were a welcomed surprise of scrumptious choices that makes you want to order one of each, much different than your typical menu you experience at most of the bar-food inspired restaurants.
We had the crab cakes with a spicy aioli like sauce, scrumptious scampi served over pasta, shrimp stuffed portobellas, tender mussels in a garlic-butter wine sauce & a fresh caprese salad with fragrant basil & parmesan topping it off served cold or warm with melted cheese.
The art work displayed throughout the gallery consisted of local Missouri artists with a variety of inspirations & themes.
A variety of wine selections for every palate to choose from & suggestions for pairing with the amazing, extensive menu will have us coming back for more.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, Manager at The Vine, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Bonshe! I so love being a part of baby showers, rehearsal dinners, bachelorette parties, etc! It is a real highlight and honor to be apart of someones special occasion.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit and I'm so glad you will be back. This small business appreciates it!

Cheers to you! Thanks, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Excellent Service, we will be back.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We were with a group of people. We did not have a reservation but was still seated anyway.
Our server (blonde girl I believe) Lindsay greeted us. We not only were impressed with how our food was prepped but how fast and efficient our server was.
The food was great. She sold us the special ribeye. Perfection. The chef stopped by our table and asked how everything was. It was perfect!!
Great service, excellent quaint atmosphere. And above all we left happy and full.

We will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, Manager at The Vine, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello JeremyM! Thank you so much for bringing your group to dine at The Vine! I'm glad you enjoyed your service, food and atmosphere.

That is the goal to have each person leave happy and full! I'm glad we made that happen.

Thank you for coming and we hope to serve you again soon in the future. Cheers, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best at the lake”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

When we entered, I was entranced by the art gallery and the urban style to the restaurant. Service seemed overwhelmed, but quickly attended to us with such graciousness and personalization to our wishes that I was totally satisfied. The menu selections were varied and plentiful, something to please anyone. More so, the food was delicious--we had 4 different dishes and each of them was unique, plentiful, tasty, and far superior to the typical lake fare that we experience. I would highly recommend this restaurant for an unusually superior evening. Rebecca cautioned us that THIS Was not a "fast food" restaurant so if you go on a busy weekend night, make it an evening to relax and enjoy the experience, not rush off to a deadline.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie1ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, Manager at The Vine, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Julie1ed! Thank you for coming in and for writing this review! I had a nice time chatting with you that night.

Yes, I try to tell everyone that we are NOT fast food. People come here for the relaxed dining experience. We are an art gallery that added on some food and it has kind of grown into a way that pleasantly surprised us. Because of this, we work with a pretty small kitchen that sometimes struggles to keep up with its demands.

We do our best to give everyone a cozy and enjoyable experience. Thank you for supporting our small business. It means so much to us. Cheers, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Food, Poor Service”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our group of 8 visited the Vine recently. The menu includes pizza, some entrees, and various pasta dishes. There is even a "small portions" section for those with lighter appetites. The restaurant includes a bar and an art gallery with art work from various artists. The atmosphere is casual.

The food was very good when it finally arrived. It took almost 2 hours to order, receive our food and then eat it. Two of our party had their wine order missed and one person's food order was served to another table and we had to ask what its status was before he was finally served. The server did apologize and waived the price of his meal, but it was still disconcerting to have to wait as long as we did to be served.

I had a pasta with a marinara sauce that was excellent and some others had pasta with a champagne sauce that they raved about. Again, the food was very good and would have received an excellent rating if the service had been better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimB941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, Manager at The Vine, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hello JimB941! Thank you so much for bringing your group of 8 to dine at The Vine.

I am very glad you enjoyed your Marinara as well as the D'Vine Champagne Cream. I'm sorry the food took so long. We do our best to serve everyone quickly with our small kitchen. Bigger groups do take a bit longer but I am sorry for your wait.

Our small business thanks your group of 8 for visiting and dining with us. We hope to serve you again in the future. Cheers, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vine also viewed

Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing