We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast at the Lake”
Review of Kay's Home Cooking

Kay's Home Cooking
Ranked #21 of 100 Restaurants in Osage Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best breakfast at the Lake”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were told this was the best breakfast around. They were right! We were pleased in every way and ended our trip to the Lake for business and pleasure in a great way! The staff were great and the prices very accommodating! The food was delicious with outstanding extras. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly! Thank you!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DR_AL_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hannibal, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

It was good food don't get me wrong but I have heard soooo much about how awesome this place is when I got there and ordered I thought... I can get this at any mom and pop place. Nothing special. I did like the 'buffet - made to order' thing. That was different!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 84tammid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“GREAT BREAKFAST”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The only place I have been where the breakfast buffet is cooked to order. Get the all you can eat breakfast buffet and order items off the menu as you want them. French toast, eggs, potatoes, all made to order.

Only regret was that bacon was not part of the buffet and that they don't have waffles on the menu. But the chocolate chip pancakes were awesome.

Wear your elastic pants as they do not offer low fat or low calorie options but if you are going to splurge - totally worth it. YUM!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food worth waiting in line”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Food is always good and service is awesome as well worth the long wait in line. I eat here on every trip to the Ozarks.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
186 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Home Cooking”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Three of us had the all-you-can eat breakfast special. Very good home cooking. Everything was hot and delicious. One of our group had the chicken fried steak and thought it was "one of the best" (but not the absolute best) he'd had.

Service was excellent. About a 30 minute wait on July 4th weekend.

Would recommend to people visiting the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wiffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kay's Home Cooking also viewed

Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to Kay's Home Cooking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing