We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Kapilana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kapilana Resort
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is our first time staying at this resort. I thought it was very nice. Yes some of the buildings are old but very nice and well taken care of. We stayed in the beach house and it was great. The lake was literally 10 feet out our front door. I could wake up walk out the front door go about twenty feet and be fishing. My wife and two teenage children were in the room and it was very comfortable, quiet, and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ironndn396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

we just got back and we are ready to go back !!!!, we booked our trip based on the information we found on the internet, I was looking for a place that would accommodate 6 people with a great view, clean and close to things to do and restaurants, from our first deposit to the day we left was nothing but a great experience, this trip was a special trip for my family and I. when we checked in Karen and her husband was so friendly and helpful and was there for all our needs. the condo we stayed in was 15O it was so clean and a great view of the lake, mornings were great on the balcony with a cup of coffee and the nights were beautiful as the sun sets.we shopped during the day and swam in the very clean pool, This was a great experience and we are planning for our trip next year, the place is well kept and i give them a very excellent review because its so hard to find a place to stay will all you need and no worries!! Thanks Neil and Karen for giving us a great experiencing and a down home feeling. we have found a great place to stay and made new friends!!!

Room Tip: 15 O Great view and lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We recently stayed in the Beach House at the Kapilana Resort for a couple of days. This was our first time in the Lake of the Ozarks area. The location is ideal, close to shopping, dining, the state park, etc. We enjoyed the pool and being close to the water, although the view of the lake down low is limited. It was nice to have a kitchenette for leftovers and to cook if we wanted to. It was a peaceful stay, with only a little bit of pool and dog noise to contend with. Just as a warning for those who may have difficulty with mobility, there are 20 steps up and down from the parking area to the Beach House. You will want to bring your own paper towels, napkins, etc. There is no housekeeping service during your stay, so you will have to bring your towels to the office to exchange them and remove all your trash when you leave.

Unfortunately, the condition of the Beach House itself left something to be desired. The best word to describe it was "dingy". It had a musty smell as soon as we entered, which did not completely go away after running the air conditioning for a while. The carpeting was very dirty and needs to be replaced with tile. The bathroom was clean and in good repair, but in the kitchenette area , the refrigerator was dirty and there were ants. It looked like the room had not been deep cleaned or dusted in a while (cobwebs, etc.). The towels were gray and very rough. Outside, the patio furniture was also dirty, and had a lot of spiders on it.

It seems as though most of the great reviews on here were written by people who stayed in the condos, so that must be a different experience. Unless you're interested in "roughing it" a little bit, I would recommend staying in one of the condos rather than the Beach House.

Room Tip: Stay in a condo up higher with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelingCircus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil R, Owner at Kapilana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for your review. We always welcome input from our guests and utilize it to plan our annual room updates.

We are quite surprised, however, by the negative comments regarding the condition of our beach house units. These units are the last that remain from original resort (built in the 1940’s) and we have taken great pains to maintain the historic feel of these units while bringing them up to modern standards. We have spent thousands of dollars on our units in the past three years replacing carpeting, appliances, televisions, bedding and décor and continue to invest in them every year. The majority of our guests find them quaint and colorful and also find the lake-level access convenient for fishing and relaxing. The units sit directly on the water and while the view is naturally not as wide-sweeping as the units on higher levels, having the water lap at the base of your patio and watching the ducks swim past as you enjoy your morning coffee makes the trade-off worthwhile for most of our guests.

We are very disturbed regarding some of your specific comments and would like to address them in detail, particularly since none of these issues were brought to our attention during your stay. First, you mention that the carpet is “very dirty” and requires replacing, however all of the flooring in our units was replaced less than three years ago and we have our carpets deep cleaned at least four times a season (more often if required). They were, in fact, shampooed in all of our units the week prior to your visit. You also pointed out that the refrigerator was dirty. Our compact refrigerators are new this season and are emptied and cleaned between each guest. We personally inspect each unit before guests arrive to ensure anything that may have been overlooked by our cleaners is taken care of. Occasionally there may be some residual frost in the freezer area (we sometimes do not have the chance to defrost completely between guests), but aside from that we saw no other issues. Nevertheless, we will ensure that our cleaners are asked to double-check their efforts in this regard. With respect to the issue you reported regarding ants, all of our units are treated every six weeks for insects and were actually serviced two days prior to your arrival. Had we been made aware of the ant problem during your stay we would have had the rooms re-treated immediately. Additionally, you mentioned a musty odor. As you know, the lake area had suffered an unprecedented amount of heavy rain recently and the lower-level rooms sometimes experience a minor degree of dampness while the surrounding grounds dry. We in fact spent a great deal of time and effort de-humidifying the units after these recent rains, including re-washing and deodorizing all of the linens and carpeting to ensure there was no residual dampness or odor. We have had no complaints regarding odors in other units and have also checked with subsequent guests who did not notice an issue in this unit, so we have to believe our efforts were successful. With respect to the towels, they are bleached and sanitized after every guest, and replaced regularly. While the towels are perhaps not the most plush, they are certainly not gray.

Our smaller resort units, including the beach house, are intended to provide our guests with a traditional lakefront accommodation experience at a very reasonable price. They naturally are not as large or as new as the lakefront suites, which offer 1200-1400 square feet of fully residential living, but they are cozy, clean, and very well-maintained, and also considerably less expensive. Many guest do have a preference for the more modern condos but just as many love our beach houses! They are in fact our most popular units and typically sell out for the entire season. We have earned our reputation by ensuring our guests’ stays are enjoyable no matter which type of accommodation they choose, we try hard to be perfect but things do slip through the cracks from time to time. On the rare occasion when an issue arises and it is brought to our attention, we address it immediately. Had you made us aware of any observations during your stay we would have been happy to rectify them on the spot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My best friend and I stayed in one of the beach houses last week for a girls' getaway, and it was exactly what we had in mind. The beach house was not fancy but was very clean, cozy, and quaint and was the perfect place to relax and unwind. We loved laying out at the pool or floating in the private swimming area in the lake, and the views of the lake were great. The owners are so incredibly friendly and accommodating. I will definitely come back to this resort!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and 3 kids plus one friend just spent five nights in a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo. This was our second trip to this resort. We actually enjoyed this condo better then the last one we stayed it. The beds were very comfortable and the condo was clean and well stocked. This location has docks available to rent for your boat, a pool, and a swim dock. We had a great view of the lake.

Room Tip: I would just ask the Karen and Neil if they could tell you which units have new mattresses. This tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed over the weekend with my husband and two kids. We stayed in building 4. 2 bedroom condo overlooking the lake. We were out with friends most of the weekend so we didn't use all of the amenities but this would be an ideal place for a family trip to the lake. The owners Karen and Neil were very friendly and worked hard to make our stay pleasant. The condo had everything you would need for a great vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Took two kids for a three day vacation on the lake. We stayed in building f with a lake view. We appreciated the quiet out of the way place and the beautiful view of the lake. There is a boat dock which would be great if you had one. The condo had two bedrooms, two bathrooms and one shower. The decorations were outdated and would look better with none. There is a washer and dryer and even had soap and dryer sheets. There was a cooler too. So much was there to use. The kitchen was great with full fridge and microwave. We did not use oven or fireplace. Pull out couch and plenty of pillows were appreciated by two kids. Would go back. Was comfortable, quiet and had everything we needed. We could see pool and swimming area but did not have time to enjoy them. We went hiking, caving and boating. Beautiful location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank illinois101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osage Beach
0.2 mi away
Inn At Grand Glaize
Inn At Grand Glaize
#11 of 14 in Osage Beach
305 reviews
2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
12.2 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 12 in Lake Ozark
1,135 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
4 mi away
The Lodge at Port Arrowhead
The Lodge at Port Arrowhead
#3 of 12 in Lake Ozark
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapilana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapilana Resort

Address: 793 Winn Rd, Suite 6A, Osage Beach, MO 65065-3566
Region: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Osage Beach
Price Range: £45 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapilana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find a great Lake of the Ozarks vacation rental at Kapilana Resort Osage Beach. You can choose from traditional Lakefront apartment style Cabins to fully equipped, modern residential style Lakefront Suites. You'll have all you need for a self sufficient summer vacation relaxing by the pool, on the lake or golf course or book a great value off season break. Bring your family to our quiet no wake location for a safe, fun vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kapilana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapilana Hotel Osage Beach
Kapilana Resort Osage Beach, MO - Lake Of The Ozarks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing