We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome dinner!”

J. Bruner's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
J. Bruner's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 100 Restaurants in Osage Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lake Road 54-40 (Winn Road)
Description: You are invited to experience casual, fine dining at J. Bruner's! Savor steaks and seafood prepared using our exclusive recipes refined over the past thirty years. The warm and inviting dining rooms are the perfect setting for weekly casual dining or that special occasion. Enjoy our Red Room Lounge for a cocktail after work, cocktails before dinner, and/or a tasty ice cream drink afterwards. The best table service completes your dining experience, making J. Bruner's the Lake's Classic Steakhouse. Reservations recommended--book online.
Abilene, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome dinner!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We ate here for our anniversary and the food was amazing. Yes its pricey but you have great food, fantastic service and the atmosphere is perfect for a romantic sitting. My steak was great! We will go back :)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MelodieS483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    33
    22
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Charles, MO
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a view of the lake!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and I love this restaurant. The view is beautiful from the top of the bluff looking down the lake channel. The food is good, but it becomes even better with the atmosphere. This is a good place for a sunset dinner with wine and your sweetie.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank teethers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very High Standards!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

J. Bruner's is an excellent place and a "must" when going to the Lake of the Ozarks area. My husband and I had a great experience there. The waitress was very sweet and professional. She made recommendations for us to try the onion rings and the prime rib. The onion rings were a work of art! The onion never came out of the breading when you took a bite- meaning they were done right! They needed no salt as they were perfectly seasoned. The prime rib was the best I have ever had. Even the REAL bacon bits for the baked potato were perfection! The bread was great (homemade I suspect) and everything had such a personal touch. A chef prepares the food and it was obvious that he really knows what he is doing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballwin, MO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This is how it's done!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We pulled up to the door at 9:45pm not sure if kitchen was still open. Manager saw us and welcomed us in. The service was excellent and we were treated like royalty. Our waitress provided great service and clued us in on appetizers (Onion rings to die for!) and house-made salad dressing. Steaks were tender and juicy-real quality! No rush, comfortable atmosphere allowed us to sit back and enjoy a leisurely paced late night dinner. When the check came the amount was most reasonable. They know what they are doing at J. Bruner's!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average food for an above average price.”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I just ate at J. Burners. I was expecting it to be really high class, and it met that expectation atmosphere and service wise, however there was almost zero presentation to the food. I ordered shrimp, and although it tasted just good, it was not mind blowing, and looked like it came straight from SAMs club.
The restaurant has great potential, but it was definition not worth paying such a high price. -don't think an a la carte menu fits in the Midwest. Unsatisfied.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rue1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J. Bruner's Restaurant also viewed

Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to J. Bruner's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing