We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food with terrible Atmosphere”

J. Bruner's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
J. Bruner's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 100 Restaurants in Osage Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lake Road 54-40 (Winn Road)
Description: You are invited to experience casual, fine dining at J. Bruner's! Savor steaks and seafood prepared using our exclusive recipes refined over the past thirty years. The warm and inviting dining rooms are the perfect setting for weekly casual dining or that special occasion. Enjoy our Red Room Lounge for a cocktail after work, cocktails before dinner, and/or a tasty ice cream drink afterwards. The best table service completes your dining experience, making J. Bruner's the Lake's Classic Steakhouse. Reservations recommended--book online.
springfield, mo.
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Food with terrible Atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The food is good but way over priced. Everything is served individually. The restaurant is actually an old house next to a gas station on the old highway. With no windows! The TVs are programmed to show a fake fish tank. Not sure how this place passed the Handicapped Laws. The atmosphere and the prices don't match! The original chef J Brunner has been dead for years and someone else is just trying to cash in on a old reputation!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chefeMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    34
    22
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not Again”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We arrived on a what seemed a slow evening. Service was prompt and courteous. They seated our large party of 11 quickly in a room by ourselves. The decor is late 70's/early 80's. Very dim lighting and dark wood paneling. There are a couple of flat screen TVs that are projecting fish (like aquariums).

Being a steak place they recommended their prime rib soup as a starter (no one went for that though). However when they were taking orders we were informed they did not have any prime rib that night! That started the evening out badly for five in our party right away. Most ordered the rib eyes which are a much smaller cut than one would get at Texas Roadhouse for almost twice the price. My cut was rather fatty but a couple of the others said theirs were fine. The person that ordered the fish said it tasted like a frozen fish. The best dinners of the evening were the Mahi Mahi plates. The menu looks like you get a couple of sides with the entrees, but the bill came and those sides are charged ala-carte, and the salads and baked potatoes are not worth the cost!

We won't be back next trip and will be looking for a different steak house.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank royalmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone Jack
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Very over priced. They must think they are a Ruth's Chris. No Atmosphere here. Better places at the lake for less money and better food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Blue3563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We chose to eat here as this is advertised as having the best steaks at the Lake. The food I would rate as good, however, the atmosphere I would rate as poor. The décor was dated and there was a musty smell throughout the dining room. The service was good with the waiter being pleasant and helpful. All in all, this experience I would rate as average as the food is overpriced and I've had just as good a steak for far less money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lack of atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Food is great! But the service is standard and not much on atmosphere. Prices are very high because sides are all ala cart even salad.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TinaLeeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J. Bruner's Restaurant also viewed

Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Laurie, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to J. Bruner's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing