We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh, I'd be mad if I paid full price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Osage Beach
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Meh, I'd be mad if I paid full price”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My wife and I took an anniversary trip to the resort after getting a good deal on the room from Priceline. Overall, the room was clean and we checked in and out without a hitch, but nothing was exceptional, which made the inadequacies of the facility stand out all that much more starkly. Specifically:

- We were placed in the Estates. It was a long (5-10 minute) drive from the main resort complex which was really inconvenient given the lack of parking near the main complex. Also, it was far from the lake and didn't have a view to speak of.

- If you take a room in the Estates, be aware of the structure of the accommodations. These are apparently designed to be longer-term rental houses (according to the lady at check-in), that the resort parcels out as individual rooms and suites nightly. Our room was basically a large guest bedroom with it's own outer access. The problem with this is that the interior of the house is not designed to accommodate being separated out, so attention hasn't been given to soundproofing. In fact, the door that separated our room from the rest of the house was a cheap hollow core interior door with 1/2" gap to the floor. It would be great for a family to rent the whole building and then leave that door open, but is does little to separate you from your neighbors. I learned (at 4:45 AM) that ours had hired a fishing guide and were excited to get an early start on the lake -- not because they were loud at all, but because NOTHING stopped noise from coming through.

- For me, the point of going to a resort is to take advantage of activities and services on-site. Unfortunately, it seems like the resort has expanded room capacity well beyond the capacity of many of the activities. All the pools were standing room only, and we couldn't get near the fishing dock. Miniature golf and bowling were equally packed and overrun with children. That disappointment was compounded by the long drive from the estates and then an extended search for parking that ended with a long walk because there was nothing close. We ended up going into town for all of our activities, which left me wishing we had just rented a simple hotel room in town.

- If you are relegated to the estates, don't plan on easy access to basic amenities like ice. There are ice buckets in the room, but when we called the front desk to ask about access to ice, they were unsure. They suggested that we might have to drive in to the main resort with our bucket, or offered to connect us to a housekeeping outpost in the Estates to ask if they had a satellite ice machine.

- I guess it's to be expected with a resort that you'll pay through the nose for services, but an example to give you some perspective on what to expect here: if you order pizza from the Sbarro's on the resort, you'll be assessed an 18% service fee and a $2 delivery fee, in addition to an expected tip.

Room Tip: make sure you ask about the location of the room when making reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemingway155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    247
    208
    108
    66
See reviews for
279
149
11
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
walnut creek, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I have traveled quite a few places. And this place is not exactly on the way to anything other than the Lake of the Ozarks. You come all this way to visit a place, the last thing you want to hear when you pull up to the check in area in your car is "Sir, I need you... to pull your vehicle over to that rock and park it parallel to the curb" in a tone of voice that basically says Im a child and cant follow directions. Id rather hear "Hello! and Welcome to Tan Tar A resort. is this your first time here? well, let me help you get settled and checked in.. if you could please pull forward, that would be great.". Basically, nothing worse then a first impression. And it slides down hill from there.
Check in, a line of about 15 long. Why? because Check IN and Check OUT is one line... that blows. Come on, you have been in business how long?! Clearly not for service.
At check in.. our room was not ready and it was 130 on a Friday. Technically, it is 4pm checkin.. so ok.. what rooms do you have ready.. "Um, not sure... you will have to stay with your original rooms". So they send us off.
We come back at 350pm and our rooms are not ready. (stand in line again for 15 minutes waiting). Then they say they can switch us from estates to the E building. Ok great. Oh by the way, we wont tell you that your estate place had a great view, your building E room will have a great view of a 15 foot brick wall.
Finally got into our room, unimpressed. Brick wall really was there out our window. TV was old, internet was expensive, bathroom dated. I mean, we were only there 1 night, so it should be fine, which it was.. but if I were there for vacation and spending $150 a night for this pile of beetle dung... Id be pissed.(was already.. can you tell?!)
The other couple in our group checked into their room and someone was in there!
Check out was a breeze at 9am. No lines. Whew.
Breakfast at the Bear Lodge was great. Nice view, buffet was good.

Im big stickler for service. And service should be number. The rest of the negatives would go away if service was A+++ from the time I pull up to the time I leave. Never been to Lake of the Ozarks before, but Id like to go back. Would I stay here again, probably not unless they do some updating and improve service.
Pretty sure Dirty Dancing was filmed here as well.

Room Tip: Estate with close parking, view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We went to Tan Tar A a few weeks ago for a summer weekend at the lake, having been there several times over the yrs., both when we have had kids along & as a couple. We have also stayed at lot of other places at the lake (Lodge of the Four Seasons, resorts now redone or closed, and at several nice condos). We found the resort to be well kept for it's age and it really offers a lot more to do than most other places around the lake. A lot depends upon the type of accommodation you get. We prefer to stay in one of the main resort "hotel-type" bldgs., although we once enjoyed a lakeside cottage in the fall but it was probably 15 yrs. ago! There is an area called The Estates, but those are larger accommodations located away from the central area and vary in style and size. A resort bus makes runs to that section. Our room this time, as in past yrs., was very clean and well decorated. A/C was good, and we had absolutely no complaints. We did not pay a premium price having chosen a deal offered on their website and we feel the price was very fair.

Besides the golf course & indoor waterpark (which I feel is overpriced for what it is), there is a so-so mini golf area (fee), a not that great bar/lounge off the lobby (they need to take a page out of Lodge of the Four Season's book on that one!), a bowling alley that kids, esp, love, horse back riding for a fee, Sbarro Pizza, Burger King, a little store w/ice cream, coffee, drinks, sundries, etc., and 2 restaurants. There are nice boats for rent, you can pay to have a driver if you want to ski, or you can rent skis or a tube, and there is a large boat that they use to offer scenic excursions on the lake. Also a poolside bar and snack/sandwich house by the lake. Another pool is located part way down the hlll from the main bldgs. before the main, lake one and is quiet.

One thing I wish Tan Tar A would do is tone down the VERY LOUD rock music at the main lakeside pool. It was jarring this yr, and was not really top 40 pop stuff. It had more of a thrashing sound with just a few more popular current songs thrown in once in a great while. Even though we like a lot of newer, popular music geared to teens and young adults, and we are fine w/the sound of little kids having fun on the small water slide and in the pool, the type of music playing was so loud and crashing much of the time that we could not enjoy lying out on a pool side lounger. Each day we ended up on the little beach behind and to the side of the pool, which is a nice place to read or watch boats go by anyway. In past yrs. we did not experience music quite as loud and irritating as this time.

We don't go in for spa services much. I don't think the hall of shops gets all that much business or interest now days. It's kind of a shame, but perhaps in the winter they are busier (?). Too bad but I guess the things carried are not that much in demand? I don't know - maybe they bring in more $ than I think - ?

Black Bear restaurant is nice enough and Wind Rose is REALLY nice. (Some reviewer said it has the same food as Black Bear. Not when we ate there several yrs. ago and not according to their menu a few wks. ago. The Wind Rose is pricey, though!

Some reviewers have complained about the condition of the resort. True, it's older, but they have tried to keep it as updated as they can w/out totally redoing the whole place, I think. At least w/regards to room decor, etc. One common complaint I have seen in the past is it has "spiders". It's tough to control bugs and spiders in such a woodsy environment and we've never had an issue w/them in our room. EVERY resort at the lake gets it's share. How can a resort of this size manage to tear down every spider web on a daily basis? They go up so fast there can be a new one a day later! Spiders have their usefullness, anyway.

Other reviewers freak out over too many HILLS to walk up/down and warn against that. Hey, this is a VERY hilly area! It's what makes it so scenic. On the other hand, I will criticize the fact that there isn't a more obvious effort to offer "rides" down to the pool/dock area, etc. for those who need it or even want it on a hot day. We used to stay at a resort at the lake that has now changed names & has been redone. It used to have young guys in golf carts who would give anyone a lift down to their pool or up to their rooms/condos if they saw you walking and you simply raised your hand for a ride. Sometimes they were on their way to do maintenance and sometimes they just appeared to make the run up and down for this service. I REALLY wish Tan Tar A would provide this. If they do, it's not obvious. One can rent a golf cart by the day, but I imagine that is not cheap! Otherwise, most of us who can still manage can probably use the workout anyway - lol!

We were again treated VERY nicely by those at the check in desk and maintenance staff, in every respect. They say hello in the halls and seem very friendly like they genuinely hope we will enjoy our stay. The young men at the dock did a good job, too. I think at the busiest times (like 4th of July) one is more likely to fine harried staff and maybe not get such nice individual treatment as at times when a place is simply busy but not overwhelmed. We all can only judge based on our own experience, and our's have been good at this resort. Of all the staff, the couple of men (not kids) that were working the bar/snack bar at the main pool on Sat. could have been better and more courteous but they weren't awful.

Lake of the Ozarks is really NOT a place where one can find 5 star hotels (although they do have 5 star golf courses and made a nice attempt at some 5 star, rather exclusive neighborhoods/commiunities like Porto Cima - which is still not quite what it was supposed to be), and most resorts/hotels there will not match up to/those rated 4 star in, say, a major city or int'l. tourist destination. Taking that into account, Tan Tar A is one of the better resorts at the lake and I would rank it a 4 star as compared against the other hotels and resorts in the area. There are just couple of 3 1/2 star resorts at the lake that, due to their ammenities and activities could get a 4 star rating like this one, but there isn't really anything of a 5 star level in the area IMO. At any rate, we'll go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlbcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhj_emc, Event Meeting Coordinator at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
We thank you for taking the time to comment and tell us about your stay at Tan-Tar-A. We are glad you enjoyed your stay but we are sorry that the music was too loud at the pool and have passed on that comment to the proper departments. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canton, mo
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Don't book through Expedia, they lie..... staff very helpfull but lots of steps, hills, and lots of walking. stayed in better rooms for less. out of date, and air cond. leaked carpet wet, and just not what I expected from a resort like tan tar a. Wished I had stayed home...

Room Tip: stay in main hotel only
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tami m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhj_emc, Event Meeting Coordinator at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
We do encourage our guests to book through our hotel directly. However, we are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We hope that you will come visit us again and give us a chance to regain your confidence in what we have to offer here at Tan-Tar-A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Osage Beach hotels

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Pros: The breakfast buffet was delicious. The grounds overall are nice. The lake is beautiful and the views from the balcony were amazing. The golf course was nice.

Cons: Tan-Tar-A resort was a large resort in need of some updating. The carpets were stained, the beds were small and there were spiderwebs everywhere. The bathrooms were small but okay. The bowling alley is old and does not have automatic scoring and the pools are small for such a large resort and were overcrowded the entire weekend. The parking garage was always crowded and too small for such a large resort. Staff was not as friendly as they should have been.

Overall, our stay was decent....this is said to be the best resort in Osage Beach and based on what I saw, that seemed to be the case (although that is not saying much for this resort).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickrecchia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhj_emc, Event Meeting Coordinator at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet at Black Bear Lodge and the views from your room. However, we are truly sorry that we did not meet the expectations of the resort as a whole. We hope that you give us the opportunity to serve you again and to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a Missouri Bar conference (7/23) and I can say overall the stay was great however that evening the lady (older) in charge of the music in the bar near the front desk was less than accommodating, our group filled the bar and requested many songs and offered substantial tips for the requests however we were met with attitude and resistance someone may need to tell her the music is for the guest not her and her personal preference. Although we stayed elsewhere the night before b/c you were sold-out we did hang with the group in the bar and whoever was playing the music that night (7/22) rocked!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goose1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhj_emc, Event Meeting Coordinator at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
We are very glad to hear that the overall stay for your wife and yourself was great. However, we do apologize for the problems you had Mr. D’s with the music. Your comments and problems have been passed on to the appropriate departments. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Good: Staff was very nice and always helpful.
Bad: The "Estate" rooms were outdated.
The room was either too cold or way too hot. We were told to close curtains and wait till it was dark and room may cool off by that time. Yeah, just ridiculous. The parking is terrible and getting around the resort you need a map and it is still a maze. We had no problem with billing, but others in our party did. The rooms were clean, but so old it seemed dingy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turner44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhj_emc, Event Meeting Coordinator at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
We are happy to hear that you found the staff friendly and helpful. We are very sorry for the disappointments you encountered during your stay. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to let us serve you again in the future and regain your confidence in Tan-Tar-A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osage Beach
10.0 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
#5 of 15 in Osage Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Inn At Grand Glaize
Inn At Grand Glaize
#11 of 15 in Osage Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
5.6 mi away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 13 in Lake Ozark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 494 Tan Tar a Drive, Osage Beach, MO 65065
Region: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Osage Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tan-Tar-A Resort, we provide guests endless excitement with an abundance of year round recreational activities in a casual and relaxed resort setting with an experienced team of friendly staff. Conveniently located on the shores of the Lake of the Ozarks in Central Missouri,Tan-Tar-A Resort offers a great value for families, couples, and conference attendees with:- Exciting water adventures including wave runners, and ski, pontoon & paddle boat rentals- Wet, wild indoor family fun at Timber Falls Indoor Waterpark- 27 holes of championship golf with tree-lined fairways, rolling hills and breathtaking vistas of the Lake of the Ozarks- The "Bears Den" Arcade, guided horseback trail rides, miniature golf, a bowling alley and two outdoor tennis courts provide guests of all ages a variety of fun experiences- Seasonal supervised fun for kids ages 4-12 at "Kids Kabin" and "Camp Tan-Tar-A". While the adults are golfing or enjoying a romantic day at the spa, the kids can have the times of their lives with a variety of affordable fun activities2- Windjammer Spa and Salon is the place to spend a day nourishing your body and soul in an intimate, relaxed setting- 9 restaurants & lounges available to suit every palate and pocketbook, from hardy casual Ozark favorites to lakeside dining- Over 90,000 square feet of customizable indoor meeting space with 30 meeting rooms,as well as multiple scenic outdoor venues- Experienced, down-to-earth conference planning team offering solutions to unique group events- Personalized, custom wedding services, down to the last detail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina And Indoor Waterpark
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Osage Beach
Osage Beach Tan Tar a Resort
Tan Tara Resort
Tan Tar Hotel Osage Beach
Tan Tar Resort Osage Beach
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Osage Beach, MO - Lake Of The Ozarks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing