We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Osage Beach
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My mother and I went to the lake for the weekend to shop at the outlet malls. We have stayed at Tan-Tar-A almost annually for the past 7 years. Tan-Tar-A has always taken care of us whether we stay for the weekend or the week. The price was more than right - we stayed Saturday night for $134 (including tax) AND it included two breakfast tickets to the delicious breakfast buffet. We arrived a little early on Saturday and the room they put us in was on the first floor and looked at a wall. We called the front desk and they were able to move us to the 6th floor with a better view. After shopping all day we were tired so we ordered pizza at the Sabbaro's located in another building for dinner. We opted to walk to pick it up and ate in our room. It was the perfect weekend. We are actually planning to go back next month.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citygirlforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    253
    212
    110
    66
See reviews for
285
152
11
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mid-Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed for an annual conference. The staff is very helpful. The place is very affordable and they cater to large events. The biggest negative is that it is so far to walk from meeting rooms, resort rooms, dining, and shopping. So many stairs and hills to climb that the place is best for the physically fit. Parking was good. Bed was very comfortable. Rooms are large and ours had a lake view, sofa and refrigerator. Mirror in the room was mounted 6 feet in the air and was even too tall for my over 6 foot tall husband to see. That was kind of weird. Food in the restaurant and the catered meals was excellent. Food at the onsite Burger King is not up to par with the franchise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake. The rooms with the numbers in the 80's, (580, 682, etc.) have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lm_jt_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights during thanksgiving weekend. The resort is in a very nice location. We had a lake view room with a nice balcony. Rooms are huge. There are plenty of restaurants inside the resort. They have breakfast buffet,real good food. Its also a very kids friendly place.
Pros: Huge room, affordable, extremely friendly stuff, easy check out option, great location.
Cons: Its a really old resort. They need some serious renovation. The room had some old wooden furnitures and box TV. The decor is also extremely old fashioned. If they renovate this place a bit, it will be a real great resort. Also, it needs to be cleanlier.
Tips: If you are looking for some family fun with kids, highly recommended. If you are looking for romantic gateways, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nilotpalr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

So forget this place is in the Lake Ozark region and the bias that may go with that statement. This is an older resort and it was built for a different time. That being said I stayed in one of the estate rooms which are basically houses broken out into apartments.

The view was pretty but the room which I was told was an upgrade was like walking into one of my college apartments from the 90's. The furniture was completely random. The mattress was OLD and the heater was an in wall unit that smelled like burning dust when it was turned on. The floors and counters were clean and the apartment itself did not smell.

The staff at the resort are very nice. Helpful and friendly to the last person. The issues at this property are all about deffered upkeep.

If you are looking for a place to go drink beer and fish with your buddies this place would be it. If you are going for a 'resort' experience for the wife and kids and you think this would fit the bill this might be a let down.

If you are here for business as I was... Suck it up, This is the best choice of other scarier options in Osage Beach. The parking is free it is dirt cheap in the off season and the bar had cheap booze.

Bottom line it is what it is but it could be a lot better.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellyfuller, Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
We want to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay at Tan-Tar-A. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us. Please know that we take every guest comment very seriously. We truly value you as a guest and appreciate the time that you took to bring these issues to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were at Tan-Tar-A for a wedding. It was amazing. Our room was fantastic and the food was to die for. I don't know where all the negative review come from. It was fantastic, and the service was fantastic. We want to come back and so do all our friends. I have stayed here off and on in the last few years. Its always been great.

Room Tip: We were located in a suite by the lake. Very romantic and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellyfuller, Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments. We hope you will visit us during your future stays at Lake of the Ozarks and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stays at Tan-Tar-A and plan to return often. It is quite packed during summer months, but slows down and becomes much more intimate in the winter months. Had a great time during both times as they are both completely different experiences.

Room Tip: Lakeside costs a little bit more, but its pretty worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My Girlfriend and I had stayed there for Memorial Weekend. I had been refered to Tan Tara by a co-worker who owns a house down in the ozarks, said "its where its all at!"
Unfortunately, I think "its where its all at" was about 15 years ago, and is really focused on family fun now. There was just a lot of kids and families there, and a lot of stuff was centered aroudn them. The pool was nice (had a nice pool-side bar) and a good Marina for Boat/Jet Ski Rentals, but that is all we really felt like doing at Tan Tar-A. We usually spent our time in the town of course, but in our down time at the hotel - it was just an outdated room, not the best bed/sheets at all.

**We stayed in the Restort Complex - I have heard the Estates Complex is a little more secluded.

I still had a great time in the Ozarks, and the golf at Tan Tara was good, but that is about the extent of it. I think I would rather try another resort than go back.

But it really depends - if you are with kids, this seems like it would be a great place for them.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuskerFan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osage Beach
10.0 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
#5 of 15 in Osage Beach
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Inn At Grand Glaize
Inn At Grand Glaize
#11 of 15 in Osage Beach
287 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 13 in Lake Ozark
1,042 reviews
5.6 mi away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 13 in Lake Ozark
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 494 Tan Tar a Drive, Osage Beach, MO 65065
Region: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Osage Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tan-Tar-A Resort, we provide guests endless excitement with an abundance of year round recreational activities in a casual and relaxed resort setting with an experienced team of friendly staff. Conveniently located on the shores of the Lake of the Ozarks in Central Missouri,Tan-Tar-A Resort offers a great value for families, couples, and conference attendees with:- Exciting water adventures including wave runners, and ski, pontoon & paddle boat rentals- Wet, wild indoor family fun at Timber Falls Indoor Waterpark- 27 holes of championship golf with tree-lined fairways, rolling hills and breathtaking vistas of the Lake of the Ozarks- The "Bears Den" Arcade, guided horseback trail rides, miniature golf, a bowling alley and two outdoor tennis courts provide guests of all ages a variety of fun experiences- Seasonal supervised fun for kids ages 4-12 at "Kids Kabin" and "Camp Tan-Tar-A". While the adults are golfing or enjoying a romantic day at the spa, the kids can have the times of their lives with a variety of affordable fun activities2- Windjammer Spa and Salon is the place to spend a day nourishing your body and soul in an intimate, relaxed setting- 9 restaurants & lounges available to suit every palate and pocketbook, from hardy casual Ozark favorites to lakeside dining- Over 90,000 square feet of customizable indoor meeting space with 30 meeting rooms,as well as multiple scenic outdoor venues- Experienced, down-to-earth conference planning team offering solutions to unique group events- Personalized, custom wedding services, down to the last detail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina And Indoor Waterpark
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Osage Beach
Osage Beach Tan Tar a Resort
Tan Tara Resort
Tan Tar Hotel Osage Beach
Tan Tar Resort Osage Beach
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Osage Beach, MO - Lake Of The Ozarks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing