We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary Place; Run, Don't Walk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Osage Beach
Reviewed 5 April 2008

We stayed at this resort recently over Spring Break and had a terrible experience. We were quite depressed to have had driven ten hours to get there, only to check out early. The room was old and dirty... numerous stains on carpeting and drapes, blood stain on the bedroom blanket, no sheets for pull out sofa, plumbing problems, etc. The new "KIDS" room was not even open (only on Saturdays apparently) and the "private" water park is actually open to the public (and hence too crowded and smelly). The indoor pool was OK until someone pooped in it. The only nice thing that I have to say is that the waiters at the Bear Lounge were friendly (carpeting in main lounge was FILTHY though) and the workout room was OK. Such a shame; this place has a lot of potential (with the bowling alley and mini golf), but needs A LOT of work!!! Do not stay here until completely renovated!!! Complete rip-off!!

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank camper89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2008

After booking the room prepaid with Travelocity, before I could even get my room at the hotel desk, I was charged an additional 10.00 per day for "amenities" such as a "2 for 1 drink coupon", shuttle service to the lodge from the estates rooms, swimming pools (in January?), nothing that I had asked for or used. They were basically charging me 10.00 per day for basically everything the hotel offered as a free service anyway before I checked in. To their credit, Travelocity talked twice with the resort and asked for a refund for these pre-check-in charges, but Tantara did not comply. Travelocity did give me a credit for future travel. I am not sure how a hotel could charge extra for things they offer as a service for free anyway.

The rooms themselves are very 70's and rundown. Instead of regularly spraying for insects, (you see plenty), they have a cute little brochure in each room that tells you what kind of insects you may see in your room with pics of them. How quaint to know what insects you are sleeping with. I have been going to Tan Tar A for an annual converence for over 10 years. I have come to know many such insects intimately (in my bed, in the bathroom)

The lodge smells of cigarettes, both in some of the non-smoking rooms I have stayed in and in the main public areas. My most recent stay included a strong odor of mold in the closet.

You can come to know your next door neighbors very well through the thin walls. I know, for example, that the couple next door showered in the evening and someone used their blow dryer each morning. That's how thin the walls are.

In addition to the $10 a day added fee, they have a great little sign in each room informing the guests that they have wi-fi available in the room. One only needs to call the desk for the password. Once you call the desk, they tell you it will cost you 9.99 each day for using it.

The beds themselves have thin pads under the sheets which are lumpy and move during the night. The mattresses are old. The heating/ac unit is noisy, so every time it went on during the night, it woke me up. Never again will I stay at this hotel.

I will pay much less and stay down the street at a smaller motel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mtnwomanSt_Louis_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2007

I respectfully disagree with the negative reviewers.

I took my family of five to Tan-tar-a last weekend (Nov 9-11). We had a wonderful time.

We arrived late Friday night. Check-in was a breeze. There were no lines, I walked right up and got my room keys. I was surprised by the reviews that complained of a smokey smell. I am sensitive to smoke. Unlike the other reviews, I never noticed an overwhelming odor of smoke in the lobby.

We stayed in the "A" building in the 400's. We had a nice, clean room. Our beds were very comfortable. We had a great view of the Lake of the Ozarks.

We took the kids to the waterpark on Saturday. Go early. Once you pay, you can leave and come back as much as you want in the same day. The kids loved the waterpark. There was something for kids of all ages. The park was clean. They were constantly testing the water quality while we were there. I do not know if the employees were certified lifeguards, but they were keeping a watchful eye on the kids. I stayed with my kids in the water, but I would have felt safe sitting at a table and watching them from afar. The employees were always walking around making sure everyone was safe.

Speaking of the staff... They were fantastic! Every single person with whom we had contact was friendly and helpful.

We ate at the Big Bear Lodge twice. Saturday night, I had a steak which was excellent. Sunday, we had the buffet breakfast. I thought it was overpriced, but the food was fresh and there was plenty of it.

When we walked into BBL Saturday, I was a little bit worried. There were folks in there in jackets and ties. I was wearing jeans and a tee shirt. Did not matter. The waitress treated us with just as much respect and attention as everyone else. Her name was Barb. She took the time to talk to us about the resort. She answered a lot of silly questions the kids had.

We were not let down on Sunday. Our server's name was Kris. She also talked to us and went above and beyond what I expected when ordering the buffet. Kris was asking my youngest daughter how she liked her food. My daughter said she wanted to try some bisquits and gravy. Before I realized what happened, Kris had gone up to the buffet and brought back some B&G for my daughter.

When we were ready to leave, I checked out on the TV, left the keys in the room, and picked up my receipt at the gate house on our way out.

Overall, we had a terrific experience at Tan-Tar-A. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honest_Montgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2007

The main lobby has a smoking area that is open to the lobby, which is open to the meeting rooms, shops. On one night the smoking was so bad that I could smell it on the second floor by the gift shop. The Black Bear also has smoking at the bar and that is open to the restaurant. This is not a family friendly place or a place to hold a meeting. The meeting rooms were dirty and had that bar smell that comes from the years of smoke in the carpet, curtains and wallls. This place is gross. I would never want my kids exposed to the poor indoor air quaility of this resort dump. If its raining outside, the smokers fill the lobby bar and it reminds me of a college hangout. Not a place for families.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank stlouismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2007

This place was so bad we turned around and walked out. We even upgraded to a "lakeview" room and it was awful. There was a strong sewer smell as we walked into the main lobby. But still we were hopeful that our room would be fine. As we walked into our room, that same sewer smell was so strong we couldn't even stand in the room. The carpet was so nasty we were afraid to walk on it. The furniture looked straight out of the 1970's. Our "lake view" was blocked by so many trees you couldn't see the water. There was a family of 4 which arrived soon after we did and they didn't look too happy about their room either. Plus, we could hear them talking through the thin walls, and that was just talking, not even loudly. Luckily, we were not charged for anything but it was a waste of our time to drive 3 hours to start a mini-vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank theheims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2007

We had stayed at Tan-Tar-A previously in the main building and had a positive experience. This time, although we booked our room several months in advance, we were shoved, almost as an afterthought, into a room at the "estates". Number one, we had a child traveling with us, so we wanted to be close to the water park, and the estates are very far away. We had to walk down 2 flights of stairs in absolute darkness. When we got to the room, it was absolutely vile. The carpet was dirty and stained; there were cereal and toothpicks littered on the floor; beer in the refrigerator; cobwebs with spiders in every corner; dust an inch thick on the beside lamp; mouse poop on the bathroom floor; and I watched a large, black bug crawl up the wall and into a hole next to the air conditioner. The television was miniscule and looked like it was from 1972. We called the front desk to express our disgust and they sent someone out to show us a "new" room. It was 2 doors down, and as he went to show it to us, the lights wouldn't even turn on in the room! At that point, though it was 1:00 a.m. we got our money back and went somewhere else. For Tan-Tar-A to charge the same price for those seedy "motel" type rooms as the nice resort rooms is what I consider "fraud". We will never again stay at Tan-Tar-A, and it's a shame that our trip was nearly ruined because of them.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
7  Thank MiCaRa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2007

Tan-Tar-A rocks! 4 restaurants, inclid. burger kind and sbarro pizza, bear's den arcade-awesome!, 2 HUGE outdoor pools with a waterslide overlooking the lake. Awesome pool side snack bar, marina, indoor waterpark, bowling alley on site, eat breakfast at the Black Bear Lodge Buffet!!!--Expensive but it is SO worth it! AWESOME variety. We have been going to Tan-tar-a for the last 3 summers and love it!
BEWARE: REQUEST BUILDING "E"!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT IS THE NEW BUILDING WITH A WALKWAY AND YOU WILL BE GLAD YOU DID, SINCE THE ACTUAL PROPERTY IS OLDER! Building E is awesome and we stay in that complx every time. It is def. worth it--right in the middle of everything!
This is our hotel on Lake of the Ozarks!

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank travelfreek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osage Beach
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
10.0 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
4.9 mi away
Osage Village Inn
Osage Village Inn
#9 of 14 in Osage Beach
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Inn At Grand Glaize
Inn At Grand Glaize
#12 of 14 in Osage Beach
301 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 12 in Lake Ozark
1,098 reviews
5.6 mi away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 12 in Lake Ozark
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 494 Tan Tar a Drive, Osage Beach, MO 65065
Region: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Osage Beach
Price Range: £88 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tan-Tar-A Resort, we provide guests endless excitement with an abundance of year round recreational activities in a casual and relaxed resort setting with an experienced team of friendly staff. Conveniently located on the shores of the Lake of the Ozarks in Central Missouri,Tan-Tar-A Resort offers a great value for families, couples, and conference attendees with:- Exciting water adventures including wave runners, and ski, pontoon & paddle boat rentals- Wet, wild indoor family fun at Timber Falls Indoor Waterpark- 27 holes of championship golf with tree-lined fairways, rolling hills and breathtaking vistas of the Lake of the Ozarks- The "Bears Den" Arcade, guided horseback trail rides, miniature golf, a bowling alley and two outdoor tennis courts provide guests of all ages a variety of fun experiences- Seasonal supervised fun for kids ages 4-12 at "Kids Kabin" and "Camp Tan-Tar-A". While the adults are golfing or enjoying a romantic day at the spa, the kids can have the times of their lives with a variety of affordable fun activities2- Windjammer Spa and Salon is the place to spend a day nourishing your body and soul in an intimate, relaxed setting- 9 restaurants & lounges available to suit every palate and pocketbook, from hardy casual Ozark favorites to lakeside dining- Over 90,000 square feet of customizable indoor meeting space with 30 meeting rooms,as well as multiple scenic outdoor venues- Experienced, down-to-earth conference planning team offering solutions to unique group events- Personalized, custom wedding services, down to the last detail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Osage Beach
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina And Indoor Waterpark
Osage Beach Tan Tar a Resort
Tan Tara Resort
Tan Tar Hotel Osage Beach
Tan Tar Resort Osage Beach
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Osage Beach, MO - Lake Of The Ozarks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing