We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very outdated. Older rooms are dirty and need major reno!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Osage Beach
Imperial, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very outdated. Older rooms are dirty and need major reno!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This resort is super outdated and the first room they put us in was disgusting! And it stunk! They moved us to a more "updated" room which was better... but overall, I don't think we will be back. The whole resort needs a complete overhaul. If this was my first time at the lake, I would have been very disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Austin M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We apologize that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. In 2012, Driftwood Hospitality Management was appointed as the new management team for the resort with plans for the resort that include projects to enhance and improve the guestrooms and other areas of the resort. Currently, we are in the process of renovating the resort’s main building (Building A). It’s our hope that you’ll give us another chance. Please feel free to reach out to me if you make a future reservation. We have several different room types and I’m sure we can find one that best meets your needs (with a beautiful view of the water too!).

At your service,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    247
    208
    108
    66
See reviews for
279
149
11
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

My stay was nice. I had a lakeview suite room. The hotel was undergoing remodeling in some areas, but I could not hear this from my room. The room I was in was dated, and could use some deep cleaning/tlc. The staff was friendly and the views were amazing. I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chestersmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Chestersmomma,

There’s no better way to stay at Tan-Tar-A than with a beautiful view of the Lake! Thank you for your kind review and we’re looking forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAINT LOUIS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This resort used to be really nice and somewhat upscale and extremely well maintained. It used to be the gem of the Ozarks. I like the place and have been there numerous times but it just keeps fading. The staff used to be vary friendly and fun. They are by no means bad but they are obviously just doing a job. The Bear Creek Buffet used to be something special. We ate there last weekend with some friends and it was like Holiday Inn Express breakfast buffet, it was good but certainly nothing special. Parking was a challenge. Prices were high. Service was ok but uninspired. It didn't used to be so commercial. Anyway the hills trees, lake etc are beautiful. We will probably try someplace else next time we visit the Ozarks.

Room Tip: Most of the Estate rooms have very nice woodsy and/or lake views and the Estates rooms have much mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRONTPAGESAINTLOUIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear FRONTPAGESAINTLOUIS,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty to Tan-Tar-A Resort over the years and understand how important great service consistency is to you. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations this time. When visitors share their concerns with us, we take them very seriously. I will forward your comments to all department managers. If you visit the Lake of the Ozarks area in the future, it’s our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. We are in the process of renovations and we would love to hear what you think of our changes.

Warm regards,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were sad to have left after our recent spring break dates spent here! We were in the Governor's Suite and it was FABULOUS. The most comfortable bed I've ever slept in at a resort/hotel, beautiful view, lots of room (2 floors), clean and peaceful. A bit dated, but that's not a surprise! It's a classic place on the Lake and it was still very clean! Staff was great, especially Ryan at the front desk - he was EXCEPTIONAL in addressing our needs. The ONLY thing I would suggest is some vegetarian options on your resort menus. We had to leave most times to eat - we would have preferred to stay on the resort. However, we did visit the lounges afterwards when we returned in the evenings. We bowled, shopped, visited the lounge, sat out and fed the ducks, read on your little beach - it was very nice. THANKS!

Room Tip: We REALLY enjoyed the Governor's suite. It was close enough to walk to the main building for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Kimberly N,

We’re thrilled to discover that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Our staff is committed to going above and beyond to keep our guests happy and it’s exciting to hear what an impression Ryan made. I have forwarded your concern regarding more vegetarian options to our Director of Food & Beverage. Thank you for your warm review of our resort! We would love to have you back soon!

Sincerely,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was my third visit to this location and I've written reviews about my previous stays. I wasn't going to write a review this time, but I was so pleased and surprised by the changes and upgrades, I feel compelled to share.

The room upgrades look wonderful! See the pictures.

Because I'm there on business and without children, I don't get to take advantage of any of the fun stuff, but I appreciate have a very comfortable sleep and the friendly service.

There was one minus in the overall stay: I needed some copies made at the front desk, but was never told up front that there was a cost, or what that cost would be. The result was $30 in copies. Since this was a business expense, it's not $$ out of my pocket, but a sign should be posted for or notice given to guests before these orders are fulfilled.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor, facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guyfromfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guyfromfaraway,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at Tan-Tar-A. As a third time guest, we are thrilled that you were able to see some of the great improvements we are making around the property. Please accept our sincere apologies for not disclosing the fee for copies. I have shared your concerns with the Front Office Manager. Thank you for your warm review of our resort and we would love to have you back soon!

Sincerely,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
322 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at Tan-Tar-A over Labor Day weekend as it has been a long time family favorite. The hotel was very outdated (I think we were in one of the oldest buildings) and parking was very inconvenient as there were hardly any spaces close to the rooms and we had to use a parking garage and elevator. Although it was a holiday weekend, for the quality of the room, it should have been cheaper. There were many swimming pools which was nice, but they were filled with so many children and it was almost impossible to find a few chairs next to each other! There should be a separate place for adults to go relax. From my last experience here, I would say this is a great resort to stay if you have young kids. Be sure to leave your pets at home though, as they are not pet friendly.

Room Tip: Floors on the bottom level have sliding doors which lead to the walkway to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Lindsey M,

While we are thrilled to hear Tan-Tar-A has been a long time family favorite, we apologize that your accommodations were not to your liking. It’s our hope that you’ll give us another chance. We have begun floor-to-ceiling guestroom renovations in Building A (the main building), and have plans to improve other areas of the resort as well. Thank you for your review, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort. We love to hear what you think about our changes.

At your service,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Osage Beach hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have visited your resort several times and always had a pleasant experience. We checked in a few hours ago and were told we got the last 2 rooms on the main property. Although we weren't pleased with the location, we thought we would give it a try. I am presenting at a conference and have lots of materials and equipment. My building has no elevator, my room is 15 steps down from the main level and is almost a 10 minute walk (half of the walk outside). When we arrived at the front desk to ask if we could be switched since we are presenting, two friends were checking in who arrived after us. One received a room closer. The clerk did not even check the computer but told us we could be put on the waiting list. While we were being told that we could be added to the waiting list to be moved, the other colleague who was originally placed at The Estates was asking to be changed and was given a room in Building D, 30 seconds after we asked for a room change. When we questioned this, we were chastised by both male desk clerks. Instead of apologizing or being empathetic, we were told that we should've made a reservation the night the conference registration opened and there is no guarantee. I am currently nauseous not only because of the way I was treated by your staff but also from the horrible stench in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Wendy A,

We apologize that your first room did not meet your expectations. We were happy to move you to a room that was more suited to your needs, and did so as soon as we received your communication. Our clerk did place you on a waiting list for a room closer to your activities when you checked in, but unfortunately, at that time we had no rooms available.

We did try to contact you via your cell phone, and by leaving messages in your guest room, to let you know we could move your room.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your inconvenience, and I am sorry if our staff was anything less than courteous and efficient.

At your service,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osage Beach
10.0 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
#5 of 15 in Osage Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Inn At Grand Glaize
Inn At Grand Glaize
#11 of 15 in Osage Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
5.6 mi away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 13 in Lake Ozark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 494 Tan Tar a Drive, Osage Beach, MO 65065
Region: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Osage Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tan-Tar-A Resort, we provide guests endless excitement with an abundance of year round recreational activities in a casual and relaxed resort setting with an experienced team of friendly staff. Conveniently located on the shores of the Lake of the Ozarks in Central Missouri,Tan-Tar-A Resort offers a great value for families, couples, and conference attendees with:- Exciting water adventures including wave runners, and ski, pontoon & paddle boat rentals- Wet, wild indoor family fun at Timber Falls Indoor Waterpark- 27 holes of championship golf with tree-lined fairways, rolling hills and breathtaking vistas of the Lake of the Ozarks- The "Bears Den" Arcade, guided horseback trail rides, miniature golf, a bowling alley and two outdoor tennis courts provide guests of all ages a variety of fun experiences- Seasonal supervised fun for kids ages 4-12 at "Kids Kabin" and "Camp Tan-Tar-A". While the adults are golfing or enjoying a romantic day at the spa, the kids can have the times of their lives with a variety of affordable fun activities2- Windjammer Spa and Salon is the place to spend a day nourishing your body and soul in an intimate, relaxed setting- 9 restaurants & lounges available to suit every palate and pocketbook, from hardy casual Ozark favorites to lakeside dining- Over 90,000 square feet of customizable indoor meeting space with 30 meeting rooms,as well as multiple scenic outdoor venues- Experienced, down-to-earth conference planning team offering solutions to unique group events- Personalized, custom wedding services, down to the last detail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina And Indoor Waterpark
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Osage Beach
Osage Beach Tan Tar a Resort
Tan Tara Resort
Tan Tar Hotel Osage Beach
Tan Tar Resort Osage Beach
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Osage Beach, MO - Lake Of The Ozarks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing