We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It Could Have Been Great If Only.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Osage Beach
Midland Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It Could Have Been Great If Only.......”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After reading all the reviews, we knew what to expect. And, they were right, for the most part. Building A is truly the best as far as the remodel (I deducted this from all the other guests who were not staying in Building A and were totally disappointed). We were in building A and had a spacious room with a balcony overlooking the lake. What could have made this vacation a great one -
1) Food - it was very close to inedible. We ate at the lodge twice, once off the menu and once from the "country" buffet. Not only did we have a server our first night who spent the majority of her time complaining to her co-workers, the menu items we ordered were quite simply, horrid. We thought we would give it another chance and had the "country" buffet one night which was worse than the menu and totally inedible. Horrible, horrible food. We also had room service for breakfast several days and it didn't fare much better. We found as the week went on and the resort got busier, the breakfast got worse. And, to top it off, we got sandwiches at the snack bar one morning to take on a boat ride for a picnic on the lake. They were as bad as the food in the restaurant.
2) Housekeeping - non-existent. We went 2 days without our room being cleaned. We understood the 1st day as we didn't leave until after lunch. On the 2nd day, however, we left the room at 10:00 and they were next door cleaning. We came back about 6pm and it hadn't been cleaned again. When I called about this - they were quite rude, as if it was our fault.
Now the good -
My 6 year old granddaughter had a grand time. We did every activity available and it kept us busy. The only complaint was how cold all the pools were.
There were moments of commendable service - the guest services department were outstanding (they should be running the hotel). The hostess in the restaurant was extremely friendly and did everything she could to provide the best service. She didn't cook the food so we couldn't blame her!
There is a LOT of walking up hills. However, they will get you in a golf cart if you just ask. We tipped all of our drivers and they were very appreciative.
This could be a premiere resort if managed properly. Too bad that they are settling for so-so service.

Room Tip: Building A
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txtvsales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear txtvsales,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Lake of the Ozarks. On behalf of our team, I would like to apologize that your stay was not fully satisfactory. All of our guest’s satisfaction is very important to us, and please be assured that your concerns are being addressed with management to follow up on the conditions you reported.
We are delighted to hear that you and your family kept busy with all of the activities that Tan-Tar-A has to offer, and you enjoyed interacting with our hostess and Guest Services department.
When your travels bring you back to the Lake of the Ozarks, I hope you will consider returning to Tan-Tar-A to allow us the opportunity of regaining your complete confidence in our operation. If you would like me to personally make arrangements for your next stay, please call me at 573-348-3131.

Sincerely,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    247
    208
    108
    66
See reviews for
279
149
11
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A group of 8 of us stayed at Tan Tar A resort for a long weekend. Great place to stay - staff very friendly, rooms are very clean, lots of stuff to do. But I don't rate it five stars because they nickel ($0.05) and dime ($0.10) you on some things. I won't comment on the location since if you are reading this review you probably know about the Lake of the Ozarks. Just a very beautiful area.

The resort is right on the water so you have easy access to the lake. The restaurant had a great buffet breakfast that we purchased each morning as a part of our room. Wait staff very nice. By staying 3 nights we also received a $40 voucher that we used for one dinner at the resort. They also have a Sbarro and Burger King onsite.

The rooms were nice and clean. We paid more for a "guaranteed resort" room since I was told that if you don't you may get a remote property that you may have to drive to get to the activities. Our room had a beautiful view of a subbasement, but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway.

So everything you'd expect from a nice resort except...(1) checkout was a mess. Most other places have an automatic checkout where you either get a receipt of items under your door on the last day or review through your television. Here you had to wait in a long line and get your receipt from the front desk. Not convenient. (2) They nickel and dime you. There was putt putt right outside of our building but they wanted $7.50 a person! I didn't do it but some of our group did, and the course wasn't very good. They also had an indoor water park but you had to pay for that as well, maybe $15-20 or so. We didn't do that. At least the outside pools were free.

Room Tip: I would still go for the "guaranteed resort" option. Our room had a crappy view but it cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Barry S,

Thank you for your recent stay with us here at Tan-Tar-A and leaving us with your feedback. We are very delighted to read that you had a great stay and you found our service, rooms, cuisine and location to be satisfactory.
Please accept my apologies for your wait at check out. We do offer express check out by phone. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you again in the nearest future.
I would like to note to the TripAdvisor audience that the use of the swimming pools, fitness center and tennis courts are included with your room. Tan-Tar-A offers a wide array of recreational activities to keep you busy all day long! Additional fees apply. For a list our recreational price sheet, please visit our website.

Kind regards,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked at the resort and then wanted a last minute change due to mobility issues with one of our relatives, and Diane fixed all our problems. If you enjoy lakeviews you should stay here. If you are older, talk to Diane about rooms and accessability. She is great. Be prepared to do some walking. Linda S.

Room Tip: If you are handicapped, talk to Diane about which rooms are best. There is alot of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 826linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear 826linda,

It was a pleasure to assist you and your family! Please keep my contact information and feel free to reach out to me directly should I ever be able to be of assistance to you. Thank you for your kind review, and I hope that you will visit Tan-Tar-A again soon!

Warm regards,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our first impression of Tan Tar A was not so good since we were placed in a lock-off about a mile from the main building, swimming pool and entertainment. The room was clean and okay but we had to get in the car or wait 20 minutes for the the shuttle to pick us up if we wanted to go somewhere. We also had people in the next unit that was very noisy.

We asked for a change of rooms (which they couldn't give us when we checked in) and they were very helpful. We got a lake view room in the main building which meant that everything was within walking distance. This made a big difference since everyone in the group could come and go as they pleased.

The room as clean and spacious with good linens and pillows. It also has a small balcony with chairs if you wanted to sit outside and just watch the lake. The main restaurant Bear Lodge has a homey and welcome feel. We ate there several times and were never disappointed. The staff is helpful and there are several tables with a great view of the lake.

We also rented a boat and had a fun time exploring various coves and checking out the fancy homes.

Overall we had a good time and can recommend it for either a romantic or family getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room in the main building or as close as possible when you make your reservation oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Ina S,

Thank you for your recent stay and leaving us with your most valuable feedback. I am so glad to hear that you had a memorable stay with us.
Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly, and I will personally take care of your next stay to ensure you have reserved a room on our Resort Complex.
We appreciate your recommendation on TripAdvisor, and hope to welcome you again in the near future.
I would like to note to the TripAdvisor audience that we offer a "Run of House" room rate that means your room location, Resort Complex versus Estates Complex, will be determined upon check-in. If you would like to choose your room location, we offer a “Guaranteed Location” rate.
On the Resort Complex, all of the room and suites are located conveniently within walking distance to the restaurants and most recreational activities. The Estates Complex is a 5-7 minute drive from the Resort Complex by shuttle or car.

Kind regards,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night trip to Tan Tar A. The rooms were just average no more than that. We had reservations for the main lodge but ended up in BLdg D. Steps everywhere. To get anywhere from our room was over 30 steps down to the main floor, no elevator. Parking was a nightmare ! We had 1 meal at the Bear Lodge and once again over 70 steps just to get to the restaurant. One evening about 5 we asked one of the bartenders where we could sit outside and have a drink and he said no where we are trying to make t his more family oriented. I said "well don't we look like a family ?" We played golf at the Oaks and it was wonderful so we made reservations at Hidden Lakes for the next morning. When we arrived we were told that we could get on the course but not off the first tee. We were taken to hole 6 and we played in to the first tee. We were told to go ahead and play but they had put a foursome in front of us on #2. When we finished the first hole the foursome ahead of us had turned into a sixsome with grandma and grandpa and the grandkids and were not even off the tee, the foursome behind us was shooting on to the green as we were walking to our carts,,,,,,,my husband and I both parred # 1. I looked at my husband and said I am done we had reservations and this is what we get ? We told the course manager we were leaving and why and he said well wait we can get you on another hole and we both said no thanks. We will not stay at Tan Tar A again nor recommend it to anyone. Way to many steps !

Room Tip: Stay in the main lodge if you are brave enough to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jckpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear jckpt,

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to learn that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations.
I have passed on your feedback to the appropriate members of our team.
Please consider giving our hotel another chance and allow us to show you the great experience we’re known for. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, or would like me to personally make arrangements for your next stay, please call me at 573-348-3131.

Sincerely,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a wonderful time at TanTarA. Our room (in the main building) was clean/spacious with a nice balcony.Everyone was very friendly, however,it's a very busy place, so don't expect any "quiet" time!

Room Tip: We had a room in the main resort complex (where you check in at). It had recently been remodeled an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Cynthy,

We are delighted that you and your family had a wonderful stay! Thank you for choosing Tan-Tar-A and taking the time to write a review about our resort. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, KS
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I've been coming here for years since interning here 8 years ago. We enjoy staying in the estates away from the buzz of the resort. The updated lobby and rooms look great; the update was much needed. The waits for the shuttle were longer than normal. Though nice, the new driver made us nauseous with her driving. Loved the Arrowhead deck pool as always. Thankful they have the pool attendants dressing more modestly. Rented jet skis and the staff is always helpful. Had a great staff altogether. Will be back next year. We prefer this part of the lake. We stayed near business district 54 one year and didn't like it as much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnkybrwstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear pnkybrwstr,

It’s so wonderful to hear from a former intern! Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Relaxing by the pool or renting a jet ski is a perfect way to spend a hot summer day!
We were also happy to hear that you were satisfied with the friendly service from our associates, and you enjoyed the look of our newly renovated lobby and guest rooms in Building A.
We apologize for the issues you encountered with the shuttle. You can always give us a call while you’re here to report such instances, and we’ll be happy to take care of it.
Thank you for your loyalty over the years, and we’re looking forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osage Beach
10.0 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
#5 of 15 in Osage Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Inn At Grand Glaize
Inn At Grand Glaize
#11 of 15 in Osage Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 13 in Lake Ozark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
5.6 mi away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 13 in Lake Ozark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 494 Tan Tar a Drive, Osage Beach, MO 65065
Region: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Osage Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tan-Tar-A Resort, we provide guests endless excitement with an abundance of year round recreational activities in a casual and relaxed resort setting with an experienced team of friendly staff. Conveniently located on the shores of the Lake of the Ozarks in Central Missouri,Tan-Tar-A Resort offers a great value for families, couples, and conference attendees with:- Exciting water adventures including wave runners, and ski, pontoon & paddle boat rentals- Wet, wild indoor family fun at Timber Falls Indoor Waterpark- 27 holes of championship golf with tree-lined fairways, rolling hills and breathtaking vistas of the Lake of the Ozarks- The "Bears Den" Arcade, guided horseback trail rides, miniature golf, a bowling alley and two outdoor tennis courts provide guests of all ages a variety of fun experiences- Seasonal supervised fun for kids ages 4-12 at "Kids Kabin" and "Camp Tan-Tar-A". While the adults are golfing or enjoying a romantic day at the spa, the kids can have the times of their lives with a variety of affordable fun activities2- Windjammer Spa and Salon is the place to spend a day nourishing your body and soul in an intimate, relaxed setting- 9 restaurants & lounges available to suit every palate and pocketbook, from hardy casual Ozark favorites to lakeside dining- Over 90,000 square feet of customizable indoor meeting space with 30 meeting rooms,as well as multiple scenic outdoor venues- Experienced, down-to-earth conference planning team offering solutions to unique group events- Personalized, custom wedding services, down to the last detail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina And Indoor Waterpark
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Osage Beach
Osage Beach Tan Tar a Resort
Tan Tara Resort
Tan Tar Hotel Osage Beach
Tan Tar Resort Osage Beach
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Osage Beach, MO - Lake Of The Ozarks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing