We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Osage Beach
Marshall, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay while in the area attending a 4-H event. The indoor water park was quite nice. It was not crowded at all the day we visited. My boys loved it, especially the water slide that they were able to ride a two man inner tube down. They also enjoyed the basketball pool.
We also visited the arrowhead pool near the lake. The pool is very nice, although a tad small given the size of the resort. It is a beautiful location on the water. My boys enjoyed swimming there while watching the big boats on the lake. I will say that you need to monitor your kids closely. We encountered security removing drunken rowdy guests from the area. I was grateful they were there and took care of the issue. Just goes with the territory I suppose. We were able to hitch a ride to the pool via the golf cart shuttle, but had to walk back to our building. It is a bit of a climb, not for the elderly or unhealthy! I'm sure if we had found a shuttle they would have taken us back to our building, but we didn't encounter one. All in all a good stay. We stayed in building E, which was renovated and clean.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoysMommy1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear BoysMommy1432,

Thank you for sharing your five-star experience on TripAdvisor! I am so pleased to hear that you had an awesome experience with us, and enjoyed our waterpark and lakefront pool.
Please don’t hesitate to call our Guest Services department if you ever need a shuttle.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re at Lake of the Ozarks!

Kind regards,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    260
    215
    114
    68
See reviews for
296
155
11
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I’ve always enjoyed Tan-Tar-a. As a child we came here every year, sometimes in the Spring, mostly in the Summer and then sometimes in early Fall. Although I haven’t been there in 30 years, it’s pretty much the same, although it seems smaller.
Perhaps a little dated, it’s still a great facility for families, lovers, or groups of 20-30 something’s. The rooms are average, not as nice as a Hilton, Marriott, or Double-tree, but in line with a Residence Inn. Clean, nice TV, ….unfortunetly my room didn’t have a terrace, or balcony…..Information says “most have” these.
Check-in was easy, and throughout the stay the staff was friendly and helpful. By the elevator was a strong mildewey smell, almost sickening, but only in that area.
The outdoor pools were great. Not overcrowded at all. I didn’t check out the water-park. The 5K course was brutal.
I would have no issue recommending this facility.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaveCameraWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear HaveCameraWillTravel,

Thank you for your recommendation on TripAdvisor! I’m glad to hear you have such fond childhood memories of staying at Tan-Tar-A, and your recent visit was overall pleasant. We appreciate your business and hope you will return soon!

Warm regards,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The resort itself has a lot to offer. Our teenage son enjoyed the pool and they have a nice bowling alley. The food is good but expensive for what you get. Drinks are expensive. We stayed in the cabins on the point alongside the beach. They were clean and the location was great. However, never, ever stay on the first floor of one of them. There is little or no insualtion in the ceiling to deaden sound from the 2nd floor. 2 out of the four nights we were there found almost all night chair moving and thumps from people tromping through the room. Virtually impossible to sleep downstairs. One day the people upstairs decided to dump the water off the their patio table without looking and dumped it on our son who was sitting on our patio. Stay away from the downstairs suites is all I can say.

Room Tip: Wifi is available but not really useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chriscentralIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear chriscentralIllinois,

Thank you kindly for staying with us and for sharing your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our lakeview suites, however, we are disappointed that you did not get a good night’s sleep. And, we feel terrible about the unfortunate incident that happened to your son. Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort or inconvenience that was caused.
Unfortunately, the issue with our internet was out of our hands. Our internet provider was experiencing technical problems and that resulted in slow service. The problem has been corrected and the internet is back up at normal pace now. We regret if this caused any problems during your stay.
I hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are at the Lake of the Ozarks. If you would like reserve another stay in the future, please feel free to reach out to me directly at 573-348-3131and I will personally handle your reservation to ensure you are completely satisfied.

Sincerely,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
518 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Here is what I love about Trip Advisor. You get to know ahead of any booking decision all of the little secrets that hotels don't want you to know . . . . here they are.

I invite their Manager to respond directly explaining why they knowingly ignore this basic bandwidth communication expectations that now comes from 90% of all guests. I also checked with many others and they call concur that the internet at this hotel is the slowest ever.

1. Internet Connection speed is close to three minutes a page where it should be 20 seconds max. Answering emails that takes 2 minutes here takes 34 minutes! Ridiculous!!

2. Staff quietly share that management keep ignoring this internet horror story reality

This is a 30 + year old hotel that is showing its wear and tear. Even after a cosmetic renovation to the lobby and Building A the carpets are dirt worn and the fixtures such as window door handles are loose and need replacing.

Their a/c units ‘recycle’ this means that their instrumentation systems are failing as the constantly turn off and on

Compared to the massive meeting room space the resort pool is small and there is little or no parking access and the walk from certain building is at least 15 minutes away and uphill so if you have older people in your group they will not be happy

The Lake is their number one attraction, yet from the pool area you cannot swim because of too many dangerous underground cables!

If you like Burger King . . . . this restaurant operates a location in the resort

Now you know

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadian175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear canadian175,

Thank you for sharing your perspective on your stay at Tan-Tar-A. We regret that your visit did not meet your expectations.
Unfortunately, the issue with our internet was out of our hands. Our internet provider was experiencing technical problems and that resulted in slow service. The problem has been corrected and the internet is back up at normal pace now.
Regarding your concern about our a/c units, I would need to know what room you stayed in to further investigate this. If you would like to discuss you concerns further, please contact me at 573-348-3131.
If your travels bring you to Osage Beach again, I hope you will allow us the opportunity to regain your complete confidence in the resort.

I would like to share with the TripAdvisor audience that Tan-Tar-A guests have ample opportunities to swim on site. Arrowhead pool is located on the waterfront and features a large swimming pool with cascading waterfall, a fantastic 125’ water slide and splash pool, hot tub and a toddler pool with water features. Three additional outdoor pools are also available, one in the resort complex and two in the estates complex. The indoor pool and hot tub is in the resort complex.
Parking is complimentary and includes both covered and uncovered parking areas. Our Guest Services department can help you determine where to park after you check-in. Also complimentary, a guest tram and shuttle service is available throughout the resort.
For safety purposes, we do not allow swimming in the lake. Our resort is located on the main channel of Lake of the Ozarks and boat traffic can make swimming dangerous.


Sincerely,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Osage Beach hotels

Saint Peters, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

When we arrived, the first thing we noticed was how narrow the roads / parking spaces are. I drive a full sized truck, and trying to drive through the resort was a nightmare. The lobby however was very nice, and kept very clean. We had a cabin in the Estates, and the room was clean, with a very nice view...however, there was a distinct musty / moldy / mildew smell all throughout the room. The deck was in MUCH need of stain or paint as it was chipping exposing the old wood underneath. The food at the resort was very good, however dinner seemed very over priced for what we got. The pool was nice, however the line for the snack bar was crazy. I stood in line for 25 minutes to get two drinks. Seems WAY to excessive as there were about 8 people in line in front of me. The deck at the main pool was EXTREMELY hot. I don't fault the resort for this, as there is nothing that I know of that could be done, however it did leave burns and blisters on the bottoms of my wife's feet. The smaller pool was much better and quieter. The staff was friendly, but other than that...nothing to write home about. Doubt we'll be back...too expensive for a "so-so" visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DU1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear DU1975,

Thank you for being our guest on your recent visit to the Lake of the Ozarks. We truly appreciate your feedback and will discuss your comments in our next meeting to help our team ensure our guests a memorable experience every time.
Obviously we would have hoped you felt our facilities were nothing short of excellent, but again we appreciate your honesty and feedback to help us improve upon what we have to offer.
We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance if you find yourself returning to the Lake area. If you would like me to personally make arrangements for your next stay, please call me at 573-348-3131.

Sincerely,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed one week with our two children of 10 and 18. Both of them had a great time. My wife and I could not be more pleased with the room and service. Comfy beads and the room was awesome. I read some reviews that the older rooms had bugs... well you are at the lake so get over it, our room was great. Restaurants are awesome, fishing and perfect service. We will be going back soon. Treat yourself and go to Tan Tar A!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank George I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear George I,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Tan-Tar-A Resort on your recent visit to Lake of the Ozarks. We are grateful that you have taken the time to write such a lovely review about your stay.

It is without a doubt a great feeling to learn that you have enjoyed a weeklong experience with us and it was one of your best vacations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Warmest wishes,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have been coming to this resort for many years. First I would like to say that it is showing signs of age. But the owners are working on it all the time. The whole main building rooms and Lobby are completely redone. We got a room in the main building, top floor, marina side. Man, what a view of the lake!! It was just as nice as it ever was. Beautiful colors, fridge, free internet, and everything was clean. Small patio with two chairs. Nice lobby bar. Shopping on site. Several pools. The nicest being the large pool by the lake. Hot tub, kids slide, pool bar. Small sand beach by the lake. Whats really cool, is they have there own marina. We rented a ski boat for a few hr.s and cruised the lake. They also have pontoons, fishing boats, waverunners, and you never have to leave the resort. Theres a indoor waterpark for those with kids. Indoor pool and hot tub. Spa. Horseback riding. Golf. Tennis. Bowling. arcade. Burger King. Pizza. Fancy restaurant by the lake. You name it, they pretty much have it here without leaving. But be warned. This resort is built on the hills. There's lots of walking up and down hills. Theres not to many places on the lake that can offer all that you can do here. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Main building, high floor, lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mur018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Mur018,

Thank you so much for your amazing review on TripAdvisor!! We are so glad to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty over the years, and we sincerely look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osage Beach
2.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Osage Beach
10.0 mi away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
4.9 mi away
Osage Village Inn
Osage Village Inn
#10 of 15 in Osage Beach
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Inn At Grand Glaize
Inn At Grand Glaize
#13 of 15 in Osage Beach
297 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 12 in Lake Ozark
1,064 reviews
5.6 mi away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 12 in Lake Ozark
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 494 Tan Tar a Drive, Osage Beach, MO 65065
Region: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Osage Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tan-Tar-A Resort, we provide guests endless excitement with an abundance of year round recreational activities in a casual and relaxed resort setting with an experienced team of friendly staff. Conveniently located on the shores of the Lake of the Ozarks in Central Missouri,Tan-Tar-A Resort offers a great value for families, couples, and conference attendees with:- Exciting water adventures including wave runners, and ski, pontoon & paddle boat rentals- Wet, wild indoor family fun at Timber Falls Indoor Waterpark- 27 holes of championship golf with tree-lined fairways, rolling hills and breathtaking vistas of the Lake of the Ozarks- The "Bears Den" Arcade, guided horseback trail rides, miniature golf, a bowling alley and two outdoor tennis courts provide guests of all ages a variety of fun experiences- Seasonal supervised fun for kids ages 4-12 at "Kids Kabin" and "Camp Tan-Tar-A". While the adults are golfing or enjoying a romantic day at the spa, the kids can have the times of their lives with a variety of affordable fun activities2- Windjammer Spa and Salon is the place to spend a day nourishing your body and soul in an intimate, relaxed setting- 9 restaurants & lounges available to suit every palate and pocketbook, from hardy casual Ozark favorites to lakeside dining- Over 90,000 square feet of customizable indoor meeting space with 30 meeting rooms,as well as multiple scenic outdoor venues- Experienced, down-to-earth conference planning team offering solutions to unique group events- Personalized, custom wedding services, down to the last detail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina And Indoor Waterpark
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Osage Beach
Osage Beach Tan Tar a Resort
Tan Tara Resort
Tan Tar Hotel Osage Beach
Tan Tar Resort Osage Beach
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Osage Beach, MO - Lake Of The Ozarks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing