We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Treasure”
Review of Flaxmill Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flaxmill Bay Motel
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed for a mid winter getaway and had such a lovely time. Unit was perfect for our young family of four. Spotless, lovely new kitchen and bathroom and pleasant décor. No oven but who needs one when there is a microwave, hot plates and willing husband to master the BBQ. Location is magic with stunning water views, a 1 minute walk down to the beach and lots of places to explore but have to say the hi-lite was the Ferry trip to Whitianga - or so the kids thought! We are already looking at dates for summer, dying to check out all the local beaches / cafes / wineries / restaurants / shops.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlaxmillBayMotel, Owner at Flaxmill Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hi Lynda T, Thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our "little treasure" soon. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

beautiful view, clean and well-equipped- enjoyed it. Fresh milk in the fridge, good linen and towels, gas bbq outside with sea view.stayed for 2 nights. No oven- don't take food that needs baking, but stove plates, microwave oven and electric frying pan. walking to sea in 2 minutes and 3 minutes to ferry

Room Tip: go immediately
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kotzefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlaxmillBayMotel, Owner at Flaxmill Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Hi Kotze Family, Thank you for your review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back again soon. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed for a mid winter get away and were very happy with the unit we stayed in. Although an older style accommodation it was absolutely spotless, comfortable plus the bathroom and kitchen was brand new. A great location for some lovely beaches either by foot or by car (Hahei is our favourite). The Whitianga ferry is a short walk away giving you access to shops, restaurants and a fantastic spa which is perfect for winter breaks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlaxmillBayMotel, Owner at Flaxmill Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Hi Shelley A, Thanks for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back in summer when the water is warm and you can collect fresh mussels just off the beach at low tide. Thanks Again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights one goregous autumn weekend, found the units pleasant with all you need for a family of four with small children but the location is the winner, perfectly locted with breathtaking views of the water to enjoy a wine and a bbq after a day exploring the beach, local wineries and cafes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255106Shelley19_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlaxmillBayMotel, Owner at Flaxmill Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thanks for your feedback Shelley, we are lucky to be in such a great spot with loads to do in the local area, all year around. We hope to see you and your family back again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Kirsty the owner whilst not on site was extremely helpful, darryl the manager is just moments down the road and also helpful and friendly.. Units are older but very tidy and clean. Linen was lovely and clean also. Close to ferry, 2 mins walk, beach the same. Perfect for families. Quiet area. Haven't used bbqs so can't comment. Have stayed in a lot of different motels and hotels throughout NZ and as a motel I would come back. Thank you to the owners.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calvertfamilynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlaxmillBayMotel, Owner at Flaxmill Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Hello Calvert Family, Thank you very much for your review. You will be pleased to hear we have just completed renovations to our bathrooms and kitchens and are now very fresh and modern inside. We would love to see you back again sometime soon. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Don't come here expecting any sort of personal attention from the owners - they live about 150kms away! There is a number you are asked to ring for "service" when you arrive - unfortunately it was diverted to a mobile which was not operational at the time!! One of the other residents suggested we look behind the door of Unit 4 to see if the key was in the lock - which, fortunately, it was, so we moved in. The construction of the motel is very old - concrete blocks - but the decor was reasonable and clean. The washing machine, fridge/freezer, toaster and electric jug were ok, but the two-element electric hob was dated and caused some safety concerns when the cables came near the elements. A large wide-screen TV was ok, but the remote was not operating, and the picture was set incorrectly for the screen. Our bed was comfortable. The motel is positioned well for the local beach, cafe, shop and ferry. Our stay for seven days was via a Yazoom voucher, so we felt that the less than $400 for the week that we paid represented good value. Had we paid the full price listed on the brochure, we would have been very cheesed off. We suggest you approach staying in this place with caution - if your expectations are only average or below average, and you value proximity to the beach, then you should be happy.

Room Tip: Unit 4 has views of Flaxmill Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlaxmillBayMotel, Owner at Flaxmill Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Hi Roger, Thank you very much for your feedback. We want you to know that we take all feedback seriously and aim to learn and improve. Yes you are right, the owners do not live locally and we don't have an onsite manager as our motel is small and very seasonal. We do however have local housekeepers that can respond promptly to calls for assistance. I am sorry your call was not picked up and this is very unusual for us as we strive to have 100% availability via phone due to not being onsite. Please accept my apologies. Yes, we are a 1950's building and promote ourselves as a traditional kiwi bach style accommodation provider. But you will be pleased to hear we have just completed renovations to our bathrooms and kitchens including new freeview boxes with stronger remotes and fresh new linen in the bedroom. So we may still have some block walls, but we are now very fresh and modern on the inside. We hope you will visit again and take advantage of our great location. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed in Unit 4 for two nights. This unit is old and tired but the worst thing was the damp smell that was overpowering. We arrived at 5.30pm on a Friday night and when we opened the door we were hit by the terrible smell of dampness. As the general area was fully booked this weekend it would have been almost impossible to find alternative accommodation. We slept with the windows open both nights and on both days the smell was just as bad.
We would advise you to find accommodation elsewhere in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlaxmillBayMotel, Owner at Flaxmill Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We want to let you know that we take all feedback very seriously and after your stay investigated the reason for the damp smell. We discovered a leak that would have occurred during the extreme weather we had prior to your stay. We fixed the leak, steam cleaned the carpets and furniture and also cleaned and deodorized all walls and surfaces. We have also in June this year renovated the units kitchens and bathrooms so they are nice and fresh and modern now. We hope you will consider returning to our motel for another stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Flaxmill Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flaxmill Bay Motel

Address: 1120 Purangi Road | Flaxmill Bay, Ferry Landing, Whitianga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga > Ferry Landing
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ferry Landing
Price Range: £74 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flaxmill Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy a quintessential kiwi holiday experience at the family friendly, only 4 unit, Flaxmill Bay Motel. Freshly renovated bathrooms and kitchens have modernized this little slice of paradise. Only 50m to the secluded and safe Front Beach where you can laze under the pohutukawa's, swim in the bay or collect fresh mussels with ease at low tide. Enjoy the sunset and sea view from the bbq area and close the gate for fully fenced child friendly play. Wandering distance to great coffee and the ferry to Whitianga. A 5 min trip on the continuous ferry will have you in enjoying Whitianga and all its amenities. Then return to the peace and quiet of Flaxmill Bay Motel. All units have a separate queen bedroom, single bed(s) in the lounge, well appointed kitchenettes, washing machines and gorgeous new bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flaxmill Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing