We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family reunion”
Review of Flaxmill Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flaxmill Bay Motel
Reviewed 26 March 2014

3 great nights of family catch up. 4 families each with our own space. Fantastic for the littlies, and the BBQ area well used. Good beach for walking, but found Cooks Beach better for swimming. Units basic but very clean, and the washing machine a godsend with three of the little ones having a tummy bug.
Whitebait from the nearby café yummy.

Room Tip: Unit 4 had the best view over Flaxmill Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlaxmillBayMotel, Manager at Flaxmill Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks for your Feedback. The Motel is ideal for groups as you can holiday with a number of people, but with the added bonus of being able to enjoy some down time in your own unit. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

We found Flaxmill bay motel peaceful,clean and yet conveniently situated to great beaches and walks with the advantage of a short ferry ride to Whitianga.I will definitely return,next time longer than three days.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlaxmillBayMotel, Manager at Flaxmill Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks for your lovely comments. Not only is the Motel great in Summer, we are also a great Winter destination - quiet, peaceful, relaxing!! We hope to see you for a longer holiday soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights in Flaxmill and had a fantastic time. The location of the motel is perfect...5 min walk to the foot ferry to Whitianga, 2 min walk to a beautiful and nearly deserted beach, 2 min walk to a delicious cafe open for breakfast and lunch, and a short drive to Cooks Beach,Hahei,Cathedral Cove, Hot Water. Beach, etc. The room was great- not too fancy, but a great size, immaculately clean, with a huge modern kitchen and bathroom and comfortable beds. We also liked the communal BBQ area with the great view,and the grassy lawn on the side where kids could run around and play. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer. We will definitely be back though! Oh, and would be nice if the owners could put a fan in each flat....would be a nice option on those warmer nights (although falling asleep with windows open,sea breeze and the sound of waves crashing wasn't so bad either!)

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 are farther away from the road and have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlaxmillBayMotel, Manager at Flaxmill Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your amazing feedback and rating! We are a small family run Motel, you feedback is greatly appreciated. Happy to report we have now put stand alone fans in each unit. Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed three nights. Great clean, basic accommodation with separate bedroom, lounge, kitchen, laundry and bathroom. It was very handy having a washing machine. Handy spot for all the tourist places to visit on the Coromandel and very short walk to beach and ferry to Whitianga. We had a wonderful view of the sea from our unit 4. Even supplied spade for Hot Water Beach. Would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Unit 4 is the only unit with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlaxmillBayMotel, Manager at Flaxmill Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks for your feedback and rating! We love hearing about fun times at our Motel. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay so much, and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed 3 nites in Flaxmill. It is nice n cosy. Got all the facility we need for a holiday.
Handy to lots of tourist spot. Shakespeare Cliff is 40 minutes walk. 2 minutes to Flaxmill beach.
There is another short walk to the Whitianga rock, quite pleasant , too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlaxmillBayMotel, Manager at Flaxmill Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed our stay with us. There are so many things to do and see in the area, both in Summer and Winter. Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Loved this accomodation - we will be back. It was close to the beautiful beaches, the unit had everything you needed and short walk to the ferry landing. Friendly communication with manager. Highly recommend! :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlaxmillBayMotel, Manager at Flaxmill Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We are in such a great spot - so close to the beach while still being handy to the bars and restaurants in Whitianga. With such a great Ferry Service its easy to have a night out without having to worry who's driving! Your feedback is greatly appreciated, hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Very nice place to stay and so close to Whitianga and other attractions. Very clean. Great views and only 2 mins walk to the beach. The Eggcentric Cafe down the road was great.
Will be back for another stay in the future we hope.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank angandmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlaxmillBayMotel, Manager at Flaxmill Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks for your feedback. We are glad the weather was kind to you!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Flaxmill Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flaxmill Bay Motel

Address: 1120 Purangi Road | Flaxmill Bay, Ferry Landing, Whitianga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga > Ferry Landing
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ferry Landing
Price Range: £75 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flaxmill Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy a quintessential kiwi holiday experience at the family friendly, only 4 unit, Flaxmill Bay Motel. Freshly renovated bathrooms and kitchens have modernized this little slice of paradise. Only 50m to the secluded and safe Front Beach where you can laze under the pohutukawa's, swim in the bay or collect fresh mussels with ease at low tide. Enjoy the sunset and sea view from the bbq area and close the gate for fully fenced child friendly play. Wandering distance to great coffee and the ferry to Whitianga. A 5 min trip on the continuous ferry will have you in enjoying Whitianga and all its amenities. Then return to the peace and quiet of Flaxmill Bay Motel. All units have a separate queen bedroom, single bed(s) in the lounge, well appointed kitchenettes, washing machines and gorgeous new bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Flaxmill Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing